Tigger is being very stubborn with staying with the pink and red colours! And there doesn't seem to any really big drops outside from the food influenced pre-shots.
@Tracey&Jones As far as I know, he does not have any other health issues going on. The last two keytone tests came out negative (this week and last week). He had blookwork done a few months ago and everything was good. I'm just as baffled. I do not know what's going on with him. That's why I have not posted his numbers from today. I feel completely defeated. I feel as if I have done all I can to get him at least regulated and I just can't. I bought the automatic feeder and was feeding him every 4-5 hours making sure to leave 2 hours before his pre-shot and still, he's in the pinks/reds. And sometimes black. I don't know if I just have him on a bad schedule for feedings or what. I am now feeding him at 7:00am/7:00pm. Then I wait about 1/2 hour to give insulin b/c he sometimes throws up (like this morning) so I like to wait a bit to make sure it is ok to give him the insulin. He eats 1/2 can of FF Classic Pate in the AM and 1/2 can FF Classic Pate in PM. He has some as well at his timed automatic feeding. Typically feed: 7:00am, 12:00pm, 4:00pm, 7:00pm, etc. He also gets Dr. Elseys CleanProtein in between because he literally waits by his bowl soon after the wet food. The same with my other cats. I'm worn out. This FD has me really stressed out. I love my boy so much and I just want him to be healthy again. But I'm not giving up on him and I won't ever. Unless he shows me it's time to stop b/c he's had enough, I'll keep fighting until I get him regulated. I'm really thinking of upping to 2.50 this evening to see how he does.
Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately.
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours:
Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet.
If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
As your cat's blood glucose begins to fall mostly in the desired range [lowest point of the curve approaching 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) and pre-shot value around or below 300 mg/dl (16.6 mmol/L)], do lengthen the waiting time between dose increases.
If you decide to change another factor (e.g., diet or other medications), don't increase the insulin dose until the other change is complete (but do decrease the dose if your cat's glucose numbers consistently fall below 90 mg/dl (5.0 mmol/L) as a result of the change).
Don't be tempted to rush the process along by increasing the dose more quickly or in larger increments-- no matter how high your cat's blood glucose is! Rushing towards regulation will cost you time in the long run, because you may shoot past the right dose.
You have been on this dose for over a week and his nadirs are above the 150mg. If it was me I would go up .25u. I hope someone with more experience comes along soon to help confirm. Maybe do up a new post and use the ? and include dose advice needed in the title. You may also want to grab a +6 to +8 in the evening if you can. They can go lower at night and it sometimes helps to understand the full picture.
You'll get to the right dose. You can certainly increase tomorrow morning but I know you were concerned about him going lower when you're not home. Its entirely up to you as its been more than a week if following SLGS. If you leave it at Saturday then you can do your increases going forward on Saturdays. You're curve if doing it on the weekend won't show the "effects" of the new dose it will likely show the last dose. Just try and get some night time tests in whenever you can, Most cats tend to go lower at night.
Don't be frustrated...you're in the right place and you'll get Tigger's numbers down
Thank you so much @Beenie and @Tracey&Jones! When I got home I was able to get a reading at about 10.5 hours and it was high at 407. An hour and a half later at the PMPS it was down to 331. I then fed him and gave him his 2.25U. I will be able to get a plus 1, 2 and likely 3 tonight. Let’s see.
With Lantus it may take a cycle or two to build up the depot. So you may want to start Friday and see what happens by the end of the weekend. You have some pretty high numbers. You can always leave a little MC in the bowl while away Friday.
With Lantus it may take a cycle or two to build up the depot. So you may want to start Friday and see what happens by the end of the weekend. You have some pretty high numbers. You can always leave a little MC in the bowl while away Friday.
Yep...LC low carb..MC mid carb and HC high carb. Jones LC is around 5%, his MC is like 9% then HC is around 12 to 15%. Then I have the kitty crack...whiskas and some EN kibble...20% or more.