10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62 +2/64 +3/62 +4/68 +6/78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Good Morning All!

Stella gave me a wake-up call 50 minutes early again...exactly. I wonder what she hears that gets her up so early. Wishful thinking for an earlier breakfast. It didn't work...I fell back asleep and so did little Boo Boo.

Stella woke us again at the appropriate time, and we all got up. Stella is in great spirits and everything is in place. She has been doing this weird 'yowling' after breakfast...it doesn't alarm Boo...so I am thinking it is a "I just killed breakfast and I am Queen of the living room". It sounds like the same Yowl Boo makes when she does her evening ritual and kills her stuffed fish. I will mention it to the vet when we go soon, but Stella had a major work-up last time with xrays and everything...and nothing was wrong. Like I said...all the P's are in place...so I think she is fine.

I do feel like Stella is ready for another sugar dance down the scale again with an AMPS today of 105 and yesterday of 108...she is keeping me guessing...and on my toes...
 
Re: 10/2 Stella AMPS/105

Stella's doing VERY well!!! WTG Stella!!! I hope that someone with more experience can assist you with any decreases if any are forthcoming at this time. Beautiful AMPS this morning!!! I can definitely see a :mrgreen: today from her. I'd say that she's definitely keeping you on your toes, Mary. :lol: Don't they all, though? :-D
 
Re: 10/2 Stella AMPS/105 +4/73

Thanks Angela & Blackie & 8 Others. Yes, we have out green :mrgreen: +4/73. Stella probably had the same yesterday and I was at work. Lets she if she holds steady or dips...

Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/2 Stella AMPS/105 +4/73 +6/50

And its a DIP. I knew Stella wanted a reduction. Let's hope I don't botch this one up. :cool:
 
Re: 10/2 Stella AMPS/105 +4/73 +6/50

Nice cycle so far Mary - you're going to do just fine! Come on Miss Stella....just a bit more.... bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif
 
Re: 10/2 Stella AMPS/105 +4/73 +6/50

Hi Mary & Stella,
Stella is looking great. You might feed the +6 with a little LC, just to help her up onto her surfboard. Looks like you might have a dosecrease soon!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/2 Stella AMPS/105 +4/73 +6/50 +6.5/64 +7/60

Hey experts, it looks like Stella's +6.5 was a food spike because she dropped down which means the Lantus is running the show and she couldn't keep her BG higher like she normally does. I am thinking of lowering her dose .25 because I may be gone all day tomorrow and won't be around if she dips. What do you think? Is this a mistake? I looked at her SS @8/30 and if I kept her at 2.5U it may have stuck...but I didn't let the bounce clear and lowered again which made it wonky. This keeps happening because of my work schedule...I want to be around if Stella goes low...and 50 is close enough to 49 for me....
 
Re: 10/2 Stella Dose???AMPS/105 +4/73 +6/50 +6.5/64 +7/60 +

Still looking for the experts to weigh in, otherwise I will reduce to 2.5 in PM. :smile:
 
Re: 10/2 Stella Dose???AMPS/105 +4/73 +6/50 +6.5/64 +7/60 +

Stella has been surfing -- there's no dipping going on here. This is a flat, green cycle. Remember, there's 20% variance due to the meter.

If you want to give a reduced dose tomorrow because you won't be home (or reduce for tonight and tomorrow to drain the shed a bit), that's your call. If you follow this strategy,, I'd bring the dose back up tomorrow PM.

An alternative for tomorrow is to leave out higher carb food if Boo Boo won't polish it off.
 
Re: 10/2 Stella Dose???AMPS/105 +4/73 +6/50 +6.5/64 +7/60 +

If you are concerned about a decrease not holding, you could skinny the 2.75 dose rather or choose a fat 2.5u than take a full .25u decrease.

do you use a timed feeder for times you are gone?
 
Re: 10/2 Stella Dose???AMPS/105 +4/73 +6/50 +6.5/64 +7/60 +

Thanks for the input ladies! :-D At least you know I am putting some heavy thought into this.

I am going to hold for tonight. I seem to always jump the gun...so let's see what happens. I have given a full injection at @ 100 with no problem. I am breathing deeply....

Also, it turns out, I am on home reserve tomorrow. That could mean anything...I could stay...I could go...whatever the case...I hope it turns out to be the best scenario for Stella.
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64

HOLY SMOKES. I always shoot, and try to never miss a shot... but Stella has once again thrown me a curve. Her PMPS is 64... do I reduce now??? I really don't want to wait...and I don't want to skip...
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64

We are in the same boat huh? I can't get to your ss from my phone. Were you up for a reduction?

I would stall and retest in 1/2 hour. Don't feed. You want to see if she is on her way up or down.
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64

Yes we are in the same boat. Stella has been flat ALL day! Good for her... unnerving for me now that the PMPS is so low. I am reading the sticky. I had asked if I should reduce .25 Now I am wondering if I should reduce .5 and shoot.
105
+4/73
+5/64
+6/60
+10/75
PMPS/ 64
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64

I would stall at least for 20 - 30 min. so you can get another test. You've not shot a green number and I'd want to be sure this isn't a dropping number.
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64

Ok. I got to your ss. It doesn't look like Stella has earned a reduction yet. Below 40 earns an automatic reduction. If they get below 50 three times they get a reduction.

You have 3 choices:

1) stall. Don't feed and retest every 30 minutes or so and see if she is going up. This will move your shot time back.

2) Give a reduced amount. Like 1U or so.

3) Skip the shot.

60 is pretty low for you. I would suggest skipping since you are new. Hopefully someone will come along ang give their suggestions.
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64

+12.25 / 61

Stella is dropping. Just a fraction...but she is taking her green surf and riding along with it. My head hurts. This always seems to happen right when she is doing so well...I have to make a decision and it throws her off for two weeks. Grrr...

I may lower the dose to 2U. I don't want to skip. The last time I reduced 75% that threw her way off too....
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64 +12.25/61

She is staying pretty even. They are essentially the same number. I know the feeling. Are you going to be there? Plenty of strips, HC, karo, coffee and ice cream (those two are for you)?
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64 +12.25/61 12.5/42

Stella just dropped to 42... I am going to faint. I don't know why. I think it is my frustration. I just want this to be easier... but maybe it never will be. Every time I have to decide what to do it throws her off for a few weeks and it is so frustrating! She just earned her reduction, right?

PS When can I feed her? In a half hour? When the rise begins? I can't think straight... :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64 +12.25/61 12.5/42

I would not shoot that. She is dropping. You probably need to skip, call it a fur shot, and feed her.
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64 12.5/42

The rule of thumb is to "feed the 40s." Give Stella a teaspoon or so of food. I'd like to see her numbers coming up if you want to shoot. I do not want you to even think about shooting the 40s. I've been at this a while and I will not shoot this low. Also, you do not want to shoot a dropping number (especially one that's dropping into the 40s.)

However, it is fine to skip if this will totally botch your schedule. How much off schedule can you afford to be?

And yes, Stella has earned a reduction.
 
Re: 10/2 DOSE!!! Stella PMPS/64 12.5/42

I agree with Melissa, also. Skip the shot since she's dropping. I wouldn't shoot that, either. Good luck, and I hope that your head feels better, and you can get some coffee and ice cream in tonight (those sound good, too! :lol: )
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 12.5/42 12.75/55

She just started to rise on her own 12.75/55 I just gave her some food. I do want to shoot. I will test after food...although the spike will be there. I have shot at 88 and 99 with good results.
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 12.5/42 12.75/55

NO! You feed a small amount to make sure the numbers are coming up if numbers are in the 40s. If she's coming up on her own, stall a little longer WITHOUT FEEDING. You need to know that these numbers aren't turning around.
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 12.5/42 12.75/55

I haven't shot yet Sienne. She went up to 55 on her own. I am trying to figure out if I should give 1.5U or what...
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 12.5/42 12.75/55

Test again at +13.25. See where the numbers are. You may be able to shoot the full dose if numbers are coming up.
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 12.5/42 12.75/55 13.25/56

According to the sticky formula...I should shoot @ 2.06

Being that Stella's pancreas has kicked in I will shoot a lower dose. I am thinking 1.5. Her pancreas is going to need the boost of insulin to keep this up through the night...plus...I can stay up all night if I have to.
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62

Thank you everyone for your insight and advice. In the end...I have to decide what to do...and it can be wrong. I have made many mistakes, and I hope this isn't one of them. Stella seems to hold for long duration's. If she is ever going to go OTJ I have to start learning what I can and cannot do. This is about to be a HUGE lesson for me and Stella. Pray. I just injected 1.5U

xoxo, Mary

Again, thanks for being here. I am still dizzy...
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62

The thing to remember is that stalling acts like a dose reduction. Generally, you try to not stall and shoot a reduced dose. We'll see how this works out for Stella.
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62

Hang in there Mary! Just keep an eye on her. You may want to give her small amounts of food at a time so she doesn't fill up all at once in case you need to give her HC if she goes low. You will be fine. Scares the carp out of you though. Take a deep breath and relax. Have a wonderful night!
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62

Wow- you've had a busy day! Hope you get some sleep tonight- Come on Stella!!!
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62

Thank you for the support everyone. I will get a +1 and +2 for sure so you can follow along. Oh...dizzy, dizzy, I wish I had my Pralines and Cream...but I am trying to cut back on dairy. What bad timing. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62

Lot's of action here this evening!
BK and I had many a cycle like you and Stella had today; getting a crazy low PS and testing,stalling, testing,stalling. . .
There were times when I would stall and then finally decide to shoot a BCS.
(However, I must add that BK was on a much higher dose and had a shed the size of Lake Michigan. . .)
I still make sure there is always ice cream in the fridge (Breyers Cherry-vanilla)

Hopefully the BCS dose/stall won't upset the apple cart.

You are 1.5 hours off schedule. Is this going to pose a problem in the morning?
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62

I have to look up BCS. I don't know that one. :oops:

No, the late shoot should not pose a schedule problem...I usually do the first injection really, really early...actually this shot should be the perfect time if I have to run out the door...literally...hopefully they don't call me in and I can be the good caregiver Stella is asking for right now. ;-) I will just have to back it up 15 minutes a day until we get the wee morning hour back on schedule.

Stella is keeping her BG just at 62. I hope she just holds it there for the both of us!

Sienne...so since I shot late and reduced the dose...I guess Stella got her full dose? Wow...my head was spinning. Anyone who says cats aren't like real children never really loved a feline.

I will check in again in an hour. Thanks for checking in! :-D
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62 +2/64

Apparently...Stella is going to give us a short breather. Whew. I hope it lasts. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62 +2/64 +3/62

We seem to have an all-nighter club tonight. These felines did the big green drop on us...didn't they?!

Stella is a broken record at +3/62. I am not complaining...she can surf there all night...
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62 +2/64 +3/62

Wow Mary....what a day you've had and Stella has an AWESOME flat green cycle going!! Good for her and you!!!

One thing I'll throw out for you to rememberand that you are seeing tonight is the previous dose usually will carry over for 2-3 cycles so on the cycle you reduce or stall on, you will likely still see the same numbers you would have if you had shot the full dose on time. The effect is typically on the next cycle. The main reason I bring this up is if you want to shoot a reduced dose because you have to leave some time, it's probably not going to take effect that cycle. :-D

Great job tonight!!!!
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62 +2/64 +3/62 +4/68

I know you are trying to give me some info...but it is not sinking in. :lol: I have been stressed all day. Are you saying I will see the bounce tomorrow? Let's hope they don't call me into work and I get to stay home...
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62 +2/64 +3/62 +4/68

I'm so sorry I didn't write that very clearly. Gosh...I wish I could predict bouncing :lol: :lol:

No...what I mean is...lets say you know that tomorrow you have to leave at +1 and you are worried she might be low so you decide to give her a reduced dose in the morning cycle. Most likely, if she were going to have low numbers in that a.m. cycle, she probably still will because of the carryover from the previous cycle. So shooting a reduced dose the cycle you won't be around is probably not going to help you any if she's running low. You wouldn't see the effects of the reduced dose until the cycle after the one you reduced it on.

I know that still doesn't sound any clearer does it??
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62 +2/64 +3/62 +4/68

I think it makes sense? :lol:

So even though I shot a reduced dose...she will still be low tomorrow because I shot tonight...
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62 +2/64 +3/62 +4/68

No...even though you shot a reduced dose tonight, she will probably still be low TONIGHT. The effects of the reduced dose (like bouncing) will not be seen until tomorrow in all likelihood.
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62 +2/64 +3/62 +4/68

Oh, yes... I know... that is why I am still awake. Thank you! Trust me...I could have fallen asleep two hours ago...thanks again for the clarification!
 
Re: 10/2 Stella PMPS/64 +13.5/62 +1/62 +2/64 +3/62 +4/68

Sorry I wasn't clear and I was just using tonight as an example.

Where I get more concerned is if someone says "oh...I have to leave early this morning and can't get back to check so I'll shoot a reduced dose". That's fine if kitty is high, but if kitty is not high, kitty may still go low because of the carryover.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top