10/2 Shadow B+9=84 PMPS 109, +3=151, +4.25=107, +6=103

Status
Not open for further replies.

ShadowsMom

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo

AMPS 103, +6=99, +9=84
PMPS 109, +3=151, +4.25=107, +6=103

20cc Core 5% just after AMPS, +1.25, +3.25, +4, +6, 5cc @ +9.
20cc Core 5% just after PMPS, +1.25, +3, +4.25

Yesterday's values
AMPS 102, +6.25=72
PMPS 96, +6=90


Back to begging for breakfast. :) Happy surfing, sugarcats!

Basically no change at AMPS +6. Wasn't home to get a +3. I'll do a spot check at +9.

Got myself a flatcat today.

Shadow has some digestive upset this evening. He even defecated outside of the litterbox - he never does that. Poor little guy. Late last night, I noticed that he might be slightly constipated, so I bumped his Miralax back up just a bit. I wonder if that caused him to cramp and lose control. Regardless, I think that we will have to put the OTJ trial on hold for just a little longer. :cry:

Numbers are dipping at +4.25. We will recheck at +6.
 
Re: 10/2 Shadow B AMPS 103

Hellen

Thanks for clarifying for me the other day. I read the most recent comments on his SS but had not read back to where you had restarted the +9 snacks.

He's looking pretty good. thr protocol states that a reduction should be given if the BG is in normal numbers (we like to see most of them in green) for 7 days. If we start counting from 9/26, then he's almost there; in fact, today would be seven days. He's had a few higher blue numbers but very close to normal.

A higher number mid cycle is indicative of an inverted curve. That can mean he has too much or too little insulin. I don't think it is the latter and granted, he's not showing an inverted curve every cycle. :mrgreen:

We like to see a bit more green but I think he's doing great. Usually a few of us like to concur and agree so we can be sure he's really ready. So think about it and one of us will get back to you today.
 
Re: 10/2 Shadow B AMPS 103

Thanks for the head's up on the inverted curve, Marje. These sugarcats are so complicated! LOL I would love to be able to give an OTJ trial a shot, but if you guys don't think he's ready to go for it, we can continue this route for a bit longer. It's been pretty easy for the last week or so since his numbers have been so stable. I'll go with whatever the group concurs. :smile:
 
Re: 10/2 Shadow B AMPS 103

Nice start for Shadow today. I'm glad he's feeling better. How exciting to think he's getting close to a trial.
 
Re: 10/2 Shadow B AMPS 103, +6=99, +9=84 PMPS 109

Hellen

We all agree it looks like Shadow is ready for a trial. A couple things, though.....

--pls be sure you keep giving his +9 snacks as much as possible for now
--A suggested format for the subject line is:
Date Kitty's name AMBG xx OTJ Trial Day 1

Here are the instructions:
  • Start the trial on his next green preshot.

  • If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

  • Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!

If he gets through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic, but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low-carb food and small meals for the rest of his life. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood sugar weekly for the next few months and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him monthly. His weight should remain stable. If he seems "off" or sick, or is showing symptoms of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss) test his blood sugar right away. Keep the teeth clean; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission.

If you see rising blood sugar numbers, post here before you restart insulin and ask for advice on how to proceed.
 
Re: 10/2 Shadow B AMPS 103, +6=99, +9=84 PMPS 109

Thanks for the info, Marje! We are set to go if he gives us a green light in the morning. *crossing fingers* Will continue posting and keeping you all up to date. Wish us luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top