10/2 Mar Lei AMPS 15.5 dosing advice needed

Start with a test at +2. That will tell you if he is headed lower or he will bounce from the lower numbers he saw last night.
Since you can monitor, it's good you shot the full dose.
 
What do you have in higher carb food? If you have only raw food and no higher carb canned food, do you have honey, karo or syrup to add to raw food to increase the carb%? For when he drops below 68 and needs a carb boost?

Just to reconfirm all the numbers for yesterday and today are on the AT with AT strips?
 
Ok thank you so much.

I was half tempted to wait to shoot to see what happened............but I thought the whole point is to keep it consistent.

After the +2, should I do it every hour?

Immediately after the +2 I was going to pop out of the house for a little bit. Should I not? If I do, when should I def be back by?

If this was a day I needed to go out to work, (for instance tomorrow) what should I have done in that situation? My work can be a bit flexible in emergencies time wise, but I still need to go for a certain number of hours.....
 
Just to reconfirm all the numbers for yesterday and today are on the AT with AT strips?
yes. I'm on the AT strips and the AT monitor.

I do have honey in the house. I have never had to resort to that.

He's been at 38 several times and seems fine.
 
After the +2, should I do it every hour?

Immediately after the +2 I was going to pop out of the house for a little bit. Should I not? If I do, when should I def be back by?
I would feed a little food at +1 since he is starting a little lower. In fact, you might want to make it a practice to break up his PS meal (that you feed with the shot) into 2 meals and feed one an hour after the shot. You want to use food to prevent sharp drops that can also trigger bouncing.
Using Food to Manipulate the Curve

Let us see where he is at +2. If he is much lower, you want to feed a little again at +2 and see whether you need to get another test at +3 or +4. How long do you need to pop out for?

If this was a day I needed to go out to work, (for instance tomorrow) what should I have done in that situation? My work can be a bit flexible in emergencies time wise, but I still need to go for a certain number of hours.....
You want to collect enough data on how he responds to insulin on days that you are at home so that you can be prepared for days when you aren't there. Right now, with all the changes in dose, his numbers are unpredictable. Hopefully with consistency in dosing you will be able better equipped to leave him and step out.
IS TIGHT REGULATION POSSIBLE WITH A FULL TIME JOB? YES!


I do have honey in the house. I have never had to resort to that.

He's been at 38 several times and seems fine.
38 on the AlphaTrak??!! :eek: That's pretty low.
Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers
 
I would feed a little food at +1 since he is starting a little lower. In fact, you might want to make it a practice to break up his PS meal (that you feed with the shot) into 2 meals and feed one an hour after the shot. You want to use food to prevent sharp drops that can also trigger bouncing.
Thank you , I did that!

I will test at +2 for sure. That is soon.

Originally and ideally I wanted to be out a couple of hours but I could rush and it and make it significantly less, or if he is in danger I could not go at all. ..........

Thanks so much for the link to the article about full time jobs. I shall read it later. I have read it at some point this last month. Really need to read that one again!!
 
He was sick 2 days ago and has just been sick today earlier. He isnt often sick. Looks like the snacks. Ill note it in the spreadsheet.

He's normally asleep at this time of day but he got up to be sick. I fed him a little about an hour after, and now he's relaxing in the grass. I can tell he's not feeling that great. I guess it hasn't been a few good days and all those high readings will be taking a toll on his body.

When do you think I need to test again? I can tell he's had enough testing - as in he's getting a bit pissed off now.

I know I need to do what I need to do to keep him well. But any thoughts?
 
What did the vomit look like? Do you think he's sick from eating grass?

He's been pretty flat the last 4-5 hours so you can leave him be till PMPS.
 
No, he was sick before he'd been out. It looked like the snacks I give him. Pure fish or pure chicken.

I have raw dried liver, and raw dried other organs and cooked tiny fish and those feel like real good food. But I also get these others that I dont think are good but I do know that he loves them and they are pure animal and they dont raise his blood sugar. The people from the sliding scale forum recommended them to me. Anyway the sick looked like that. Maybe there was some digested meat from breakfast in there. The vomit the two nights before was fresh food I had given him.

I qualified as a health practitioner (various forms) and with vomitting it is often the liver. The liver is the planner of the body. I think his body must be in confusion - what with his whole eating routine changed and suddenly getting a higher dose of insulin. Maybe its just that?

Ok great. I will wait til the PMPS til the next test!!
 
Some cats also vomit because of excess stomach acid build up from long gaps between meals. Some scarf and barf - eat too quickly and then bring it all out.
 
Ok thank you.

So at plus 10.75 he's now gone back up to 26.9

Ive fed him even though its an hour before shot time as he is so high anyway and he was really begging for food.

I can always see in his face when he's high bg, he looks old and weary.

Are you getting a sense that it's rebound, or not enough insulin?

Is there anything else I should be doing?

Ideally I will be going out to work tomorrow at +2 and not back til +11.

From +8 to +11 I cannot be home. But I could either leave home in the morning a bit later, or try and pop back to do a test.
 
He is bouncing from the lower numbers from last night. It's possible he went lower than 139.

Get a test at +2 tomorrow before you leave for work. If he is much lower, you want to come back for a test. Let's see what he does.

Till then just hold the dose and hang in there. Patience is very hard but necessary on this rollercoaster that is feline diabetes! :-)
 
Will do for sure!

Is there an easy way to download the data off the spreadsheet and or in a list form, that I can print out or anything like that?
 
So though this mornings result is the best he's had for a while at a +11 (15.3) I can see hes really not doing well. He's really really quiet. He's not even asking for food, like he hasn't got the energy to, He's not sleeping on my bed, and he's not loving being stroked, its like hes too sensitive. You know when you are ill, you need people to leave you alone. Now I guesss we can see from his BG he's been having a hard time so he is fragile, and now he might be on the mend, but this is how he it started last time - this is how he looked last time in the lead up to his DKA.

I think I will try a deworming tablet. I dont think it will harm him and it might help him. Early summer he went through a deregulated time as well, and I gave him a worming pill and it seemed to help get him back on track.

Its not totally arbitrary - there is the dragging of the bum, the weird contracting thing in the rectum muscles, the fact that I dont give him the dewormers as routine, I opt for herbal, that seems to work really well, but every now and then I like to give him a Pharma one. (its the only medication I am comfortable with giving him apart from insulin). Do people generally on this forum not deworm their cats with Pharma medication?

I'm guessing you still want me to stay at 2.25u?

Just to say, I dont think its all my chopping and changing scales that put him in this place. I can see it didnt help. But my chopping and changing was the result of panic when I couldnt regulate him in the way I had got accustomed to. So I think there is a root cause, that I still haven't addressed, that began this cycle of deregulation. What you can see in his history is me slowly but surely entering into deep confusion about what on earth to do.

So in a way I feel - what is something I can try - that is least harm and might help. Thats why I think the dewormer is worth it.

If I take him to the vets the first thing they will ask me is when he last had his de wormer and then they will give him one! So I might as well do it now. If he doesnt pick up soon I think I will have to take him to the vet.

Have you seen cats like Mar Lei come in before in this bad way - turn around and then become healthy again?
 
Or maybe he is just quiet as he's been through such a beating these last few days?
 
I am sure the swings in blood sugar must be disorienting for them. Their bodies have gotten used to higher numbers and so when they first start seeing lower numbers they feel low energy and out of sorts - like a caffeine/sugar addict minus the caffeine/sugar. Once they start seeing lower numbers more regularly, they love them and become energetic and playful and it's the higher numbers that make them feel poorly. This is all part of the sugar dance. When my cat was diagnosed with diabetes, the first 6 months were difficult. It takes some cats longer to get regulated. Just give it time and give TR a proper chance :-)

The other thing is that, like energy levels and moods, appetite and thirst can also swing with numbers. They get hungry and thirsty at high numbers as well as very low numbers. In normal and slightly above normal numbers, they will eat and drink less.

Dragging the bum could is on of the symptoms of worms (Though there are other reasons as well). My non-diabetic cat has vomiting and bum dragging when she worms and she was totally fine after a deworming pill. You could try giving him one. No harm.

Stay with 2.25U. Let's see what he does on it today and then take a call whether needs more or less depending on his numbers.

And as always, please start a new thread with the AMPS of today :-)
 
Ok thank you so so much for all your help. I cant tell you how much you are helping Mar Lei and me. I dont know what I would have done without you. Starting new thread now.

Am I right in thinking I only start the new thread once ive done the AMPS?
 
Back
Top