10/2 Kitty Cat AMPS 401, +3 389, +6 309, +9 283

Christina & Kitty Cat

Member Since 2020
These high numbers! When will they end?! I haven't been testing as much since it seems he's not really budging. Is this just NDW? Should I be waiting longer than 6 cycles before increasing?

~
10/1 thread History:
  • 9/11-9/13 vomiting, constipation, ketones small
  • 9/14 vet/hospital, started ondansetron + famotidine, "not DKA yet"
  • 9/15 first low number event, HC & honey
  • 9/16 reduced from 1u to 0.5u for 2 cycles
  • 9/17 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 2 cycles, vomit
  • 9/18 first day of greens & blues, reduced from 0.75u to 0.5u for 6 cycles, last day ondansetron
  • 9/21 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 8 cycles
  • 9/25 increased from 0.75u to 1u for 6 cycles
  • 9/28 increased from 1u to 1.25u for 6 cycles
  • 10/1 increased from 1.25u to 1.5u
 
It looks like you just haven't found a good dose yet. Once you do his numbers will start coming down. I'd keep increasing per the TR protocol. NDW usually only lasts the first couple of cycles. You should try and get a before going to sleep test every night, even if it seems his numbers are just going to be high. That way you'll catch it if he surprises you and starts coming down. It's great to hear he was playing yesterday.
 
I've been getting lazy with getting PM+2 but I'll start doing that again. From this statement...
"However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU."
Should I increase by 0.5u tomorrow or wait another day?
On TR, you hold each dose for 6-10 cycles (or 3-5 days...2 cycles in a day). You've only been on your current dose for 3 cycles (tonight is cycle 4) - so you should hold for at least two more cycles before deciding to increase. As for going up by 0.25 or 0.5 - look at where the majority of your nadirs are for that dose and get help from the experts here (not me lol ;)).

Congrats on that yellow :bighug:
 
Back
Top