Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331
I don't think I've said welcome yet, so welcome!
Be very, very careful with giving Lantus as a bolus. Right now Ginger's numbers are high and you might not think it is doing anything, but with long-acting insulins you can cause a lot of problems doing that. For example, the 0.25 shot you gave at +7 last night would possibly nadir at around +1 or +2 this morning, which is about the time the morning shot starts to kick in. Also, if the high numbers are the result of a bounce, those will clear out on their own. You don't yet have enough data to know how long that will take. So it's possible you could have the bounce clearing, the bolus shot nadiring, and the new shot having onset all at the same time. That can create a drop that you can't control. Granted, when you're starting at nearly 500 you have plenty of room to drop, but it's not a good habit to get into.
With Lantus, it is common to see a lot of high, flat numbers until you get to your cat's good dose. You might not see anything before that, and it's normal to get impatient. Look at my Lucy's spreadsheet - her numbers didn't move at all, increase after increase, until one day we got to a dose she liked and BAM! Green all over the place.