10/2 Ginger - PMPS 447, +6 375 (finally lower in PM)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori in Ohio

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Gingers BG at +7 last night was 499 - I gave her .25 of lantus so her reading wouldnt jump way up to the 500's.

Increased the lantus from 1.00 to 1.25 today.

AMPS 397, +4 331, +6 332, +9 372, PMPS 447, +6 375 (finally lower in the PM, first time!)
 
Re: 10/2/10 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331

Good luck with the dosecrease. Good numbers today Ginger, OK?

Ginger is such a pretty kitty - she reminds me of one of my civvies - very similar.

I hope you guys have a great day today!
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331

Good morning and Happy Saturday.

Hope Ginger likes the new dose. It does seem to take Lantus a period of time to regulate.

Have a good day.
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331

Giving a bolus (i.e., an extra dose) shot of Lantus is really not a wise thing to do. Lantus is a long acting insulin and an additional shot will not work in the way you intended. Remember, Lantus peak action is approximately 6 hours after you shoot AND it can take more than one cycle for a dose to have an effect. You can easily run the risk of over dosing your cat by using Lantus as a bolus insulin. (Only short acting insulin is used in this manner.)

The better strategy is what you did today -- you raise the dose. You'll want to stick with the 1.25u dose for a total of 6 cycles (3 days) before making any more changes. The shed needs to adjust/fill to accommodate the new dose.

You'll probably hear people saying this over and over again -- Lantus requires patience. Changes are not instantaneous. The effects are cumulative.

I'd also encourage you to consider transitioning to canned food. Even though the EVO dry is relatively low carb, it's probably keeping Ginger's numbers up. Please take a look at Lisa Pierson, DVM's website on feline nutrition for more info on why dry food is not recommended, especially for a diabetic cat.
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331

Sienne and Gabby said:
Giving a bolus (i.e., an extra dose) shot of Lantus is really not a wise thing to do. Lantus is a long acting insulin and an additional shot will not work in the way you intended. Remember, Lantus peak action is approximately 6 hours after you shoot AND it can take more than one cycle for a dose to have an effect. You can easily run the risk of over dosing your cat by using Lantus as a bolus insulin. (Only short acting insulin is used in this manner.)

The better strategy is what you did today -- you raise the dose. You'll want to stick with the 1.25u dose for a total of 6 cycles (3 days) before making any more changes. The shed needs to adjust/fill to accommodate the new dose.

You'll probably hear people saying this over and over again -- Lantus requires patience. Changes are not instantaneous. The effects are cumulative.


I understand everything you are saying, but I did not want her BG to be 600 in the morning.
Since it was only a .25 shot and her BG was at almost 500, I felt safe in doing that.
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331

Hi there

I haven't visited you before, so welcome to the group!

just seeing your signature there, Ginger is on a dry food diet right?
Will you be monitoring today? Maybe a curve?

Lantus does require a lot of patience, and since you are fairly new to Lantus, this will be one of the most frustrating things, waiting for the shed to fill, waiting for a dose to settle, it does take time.
Please refer to the Lantus Land stickies up above.

Can you add the food notes to your spreadsheet?
If it's still dry, you'll want to add this to your spreadsheet too, as it can cause higher numbers too.
Will you be considering switching to wet food?
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331

Please listen to Sienne, and don't use Lantus as a bolus insulin.

Nice drop so far. Keep coming down, nice and slow, Ginger.

Good luck with the new dose.

My civvie is a calico named Ginger.
GingerInTheSnow.jpg
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331

Ginger is on EVO dry that is grain free and has 7% carbs.
I am slowly introducting her to Special Kitty canned food. She will eat about 3 or 4 bites, which is better than before.
My other 2 cats (non-diabetic) love the Special Kitty food.

So far her PM shots do not lower her BG at all, instead they slowly get higher to between almost 400 to almost 500 by +6.
Her AM shots, her BG does lower to the 300's.

During the 1st week on Lantus..... is it normal for the PM shots seem to not work at all, when the AM shots do?
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331

It takes time to fill the shed, you need to have patience. There is a protocol in the stickies, it is a proven method to getting a cat regulated. Please listen to the experienced folks here, they will not steer you wrong! None of us like high numbers, but being high is not a life threatening emergency unless there are ketones involved. It's a marathon, not a sprint.

Look at other folks SS, you will see that it takes some time to get into better numbers. You will get there faster by doing it carefully and methodically.

Glad to hear that you are working on transitioning to wet food! We use Special Kitty too, although I am working on adding some higher quality food now that Tinkles' BG is more stable.
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331

I don't think I've said welcome yet, so welcome!

Be very, very careful with giving Lantus as a bolus. Right now Ginger's numbers are high and you might not think it is doing anything, but with long-acting insulins you can cause a lot of problems doing that. For example, the 0.25 shot you gave at +7 last night would possibly nadir at around +1 or +2 this morning, which is about the time the morning shot starts to kick in. Also, if the high numbers are the result of a bounce, those will clear out on their own. You don't yet have enough data to know how long that will take. So it's possible you could have the bounce clearing, the bolus shot nadiring, and the new shot having onset all at the same time. That can create a drop that you can't control. Granted, when you're starting at nearly 500 you have plenty of room to drop, but it's not a good habit to get into.

With Lantus, it is common to see a lot of high, flat numbers until you get to your cat's good dose. You might not see anything before that, and it's normal to get impatient. Look at my Lucy's spreadsheet - her numbers didn't move at all, increase after increase, until one day we got to a dose she liked and BAM! Green all over the place.
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331

Ditto to Libby's post. :thumbup

Nothing seems normal during the first week, like others have said, it's gonna take time to see results.

And I'm glad to see that you are working on the food transition! Awesome!
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331, +6 332

Ok, I wont give a bogus shot again. :smile:

Her numbers seem to be fine today with the increase in her AM dosage today from 1.00 to 1.25.
 
Re: 10/2 Ginger AMPS 397, +4 331, +6 332, +9 372

be patient, numbers today look good for new to lantus and the increase
 
Thank you ...gingerand((calliope))(GA)

It was the most wonderful experience.
I posted more about it on the other link.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top