10/2 Did Lovey go too low? +4.5 158 +6 145 +10.7 532??

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Hi, everyone,

I wanted to test Lovey at +8 since her number was falling. I fell asleep, I woke up and got a 532 at 10.75

Do you think it is possible she went too low after +6? would a number spike that high from a normal bounce from safe lows. Lovey has not had low blues in awhile besides the past few days.

My last bounce was a 413 preshot.

Is it safe for me to give 1.75 this morning?
 
I doubt that Lovey went too low but I understand why you're asking the question given that Lovey has bounced in a big way. Bounces can occur if numbers drop into a low range. However, that doesn't mean the drop needs to be below 40. Rather, if the numbers drop into a range that's lower than where your kitty has become used to, it can cause a bounce. Likewise, numbers may spike if there's a big drop. Lovey dropped from 379 to 145 which is a substantial drop. The size of the drop coupled with the blue nadir (when Lovey seems to have had most nadirs in the 200s) most likely set off the bounce.

Now for the hard part. Be patient. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear.
 
Thanks SIenne for your response and information. I was hoping for a response. I got worried. I am on ALph Trak so my numbers are really 30 points lower.
 
Hi guys .. Sorry for the bounce, I hope that it clears out soon! Like Sienne said, you'll need patience pants for this one! have a great day!
 
I will be patient. I just wanted to make sure that my numbers did not go to low when I fell asleep after +6? I am on ALpha Trak so my numbers are really 30 points lower. Thank you for your help.
 
Good morning Catherine.

Thank you for the reminder that these are AT numbers. :smile:

Two out of the past three nights, Lovey has dipped down into what would be consider "normal BG" numbers, and that is causing her body to react by bouncing a little. It's just something you have to learn to put up with until she gets more used to what normal feels like. When she does bounce, it doesn't seem to take too long for them to go away, which is nice to see.

She may have gone lower than 145 last night, but I don't think she dropped down into numbers that were "too low". Just low enough to cause a bounce.
 
Hi, Carl. I hope you are having a good day. Thank you for your help as usual. I appreciate it!
 
Thanks Catherine,
Having a great day, not having to work, no chores to do, and about to grab the camera and take a hike on the beach. :-D

I'll check back in later.
 
This might be helpful:

Here are some glucose reference ranges used for decision making using glucometers. Human glucometer numbers are given first. Numbers in parentheses are for non-US meters. Numbers in curly braces are estimates for an AlphaTrak.

< 40 mg/dL (2.2 mmol/L) {< 70 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Treat as if HYPO if on insulin
- At nadir (lowest point between shots) in a long term diabetic (more than a year), may earn a reduction.

< 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) {< 80 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- If before nadir, steer with food, ie, give modest amounts of medium carb food to keep from going below 50 (2.8).
- At nadir, often indicates dose reduction is earned.

50 - 130 mg/dL (2.8 - 7.2 mmol/L) {80 - 160 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- On insulin - great control when following a tight regulation protocol.
- Off insulin - normal numbers.
(May even go as low as the upper 30s (1.7 mmol/L){60s for an AlphaTrak}; if not on insulin, this can be safe.

= 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- the lowest level pre-shot for ProZinc, PZI, or other non-depot insulins.

> 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {> 180 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- At nadir, indicates a dose increase may be needed when following a tight regulation protocol.

200 mg/dL (11.1 mmol/L) {230 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- no shot level for beginners; may slowly reduce to 150 mg/dL (8.3 mmol/L) {180 mg/dL} for long-acting insulins (Lantus, Levemir, and ProZinc) as mid-cycle data collection shows it is safe

180 - 280 mg/dL (10 - 15.6 mmol/L) {may be 210 - 310 mg/dL for an AlphaTrak}
- Any time - The renal threshold (depending on data source and cat's renal function) where glucose spills into the urine.
- Test for ketones, glucose is too high.

>= 280 mg/dL (15.6 mmol/L) {may be >=310 mf/dL for an AlphaTrak}, if for most of the cycle between shots
- Uncontrolled diabetes and thus at risk for diabetic ketoacidosis and hepatic lipidosis
- Follow your insulin protocol for dose adjustments
- Test for ketones; if more than a trace level of ketones, go to vet ASAP.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top