10/2 Callie AMPS 301, +8 100; PMPS 159, +2.25 253

Jessica A

Member Since 2021
previous: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/9-28-callie-amps-237-4-5-79-pmps-186-2-5-129.253572/#post-2859167

Bouncing high, at least I'm assuming this is the tail end of a bounce from the blues/greens a few days ago. Hopefully, Callie will come down today.

Question about dose: this is the 9th cycle since we saw green (11th total cycle at 3.75.) Should we hold through tonight and depending on what these two cycles look like, look at increasing tomorrow am? We stopped giving Callie Young Again dry on 9/28 so we can now do TR.

Hope everyone has a good day! Surf safely kitties. :cat:
 
I would increase tomorrow if you don't see green today. How is she dealing with the removal of the YA? :)
Thanks, Bhooma. So far, so good with no YA. I discovered two other treats that she really likes so we're using them at shot time instead: all meat/broth baby food and Vital Essentials freeze-dried pork nibs. :)

I do have one other question - is it generally recommended to check for Acro/ IAA when a cat gets to a specific dose or after a certain amount of time not being regulated? Callie seems to respond really well initially to dose increases and then falls right back to higher numbers. I am not sure whether all of that is just the regular rollercoaster of FD or whether there is something else going on with her. I've read some different ideas about when to test for Acro, including that 4U is an unusually high dose for a cat that doesn't have a high-dose condition. Of course, this made me think about Callie since we are fast approaching 4U.
 
I do have one other question - is it generally recommended to check for Acro/ IAA when a cat gets to a specific dose or after a certain amount of time not being regulated? Callie seems to respond really well initially to dose increases and then falls right back to higher numbers. I am not sure whether all of that is just the regular rollercoaster of FD or whether there is something else going on with her. I've read some different ideas about when to test for Acro, including that 4U is an unusually high dose for a cat that doesn't have a high-dose condition. Of course, this made me think about Callie since we are fast approaching 4U.
We suggest testing for Acro/IAA when you get to 6U.

Does she have any symptoms? How was her latest blood work?
 
We suggest testing for Acro/IAA when you get to 6U.

Does she have any symptoms? How was her latest blood work?
The only real concern that Callie's vet had about her latest bloodwork was her glucose level (this was when she was diagnosed with FD so we were pretty overwhelmed with just that...) Glucose, albumin, calcium, potassium and cholesterol were all elevated and the vet said those results were either related to diabetes or not of concern... Callie's BUN, creatinine and phosphorus were all in normal range and the renal tech prediction was negative.

Re: symptoms -- I really don't know that much about Acro or IAA. From what I read recently, Callie has some possible symptoms but they are all things that could easily be related to her other conditions or simple aging:
- stridor - Callie has had it for years. It was the symptom that eventually led us to get her first chest xray/ asthma diagnosis
- possible arthritis - not sure if it is arthritis or neuropathy or both. She's taking zobaline, Acetyl L-Carnitine and Omega 3s to see if those help. We will monitor and may try Adequan if no improvement.
- possible heart murmur - the vet Callie saw last week said he may have heard a very slight murmur but also may not have. He told us that it was nothing to be concerned about at this point.

I was mostly concerned because of Callie's insulin requirements so it is definitely helpful to have the 6U number in mind.
 
@Bandit's Mom We didn’t catch a green today but we did catch a 100 reading at +8 so it is definitely possible that Callie spent some time below that (and she was in blues for a good stretch.) Should we still increase in the am or should we hold this dose for a bit longer?

Callie is bouncing tonight so I am going to take advantage and get some sleep now:) But I will check here first thing in the am before we shoot. Thanks for your help Bhooma! Hope you have a good day :cat:
 
@Bandit's Mom We didn’t catch a green today but we did catch a 100 reading at +8 so it is definitely possible that Callie spent some time below that (and she was in blues for a good stretch.) Should we still increase in the am or should we hold this dose for a bit longer?
Please increase her dose tomorrow. I'm thinking we might want to be a little aggressive and increase her dose every 3 days unless we see green. Let's see how it goes.
 
Back
Top