10/2 Autumn amps-88, +6-107, pmps-177

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Looks like she may have an active cycle after that flat yellow yesterday although I'm not sure she didn't get a fur shot this morning since I didn't feel it like I normally do but then again I didn't feel any wet fur or smell insulin.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-88

I had the same problem this morning. I could smell it but I couldn't feel it. How is Autumn during her shot?
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-88

Oh she is super easy to shoot since I switch her to Levemir, she doesn't even look up from her dish. Now when she was still on Lantus she was a nightmare. You took your life in your hand to shoot . She would growl, hiss, slap (she's declawed in front) &try to duck or evade the shot. Then right around onset she got very high strung and would charge the other cats, us or anything that crossed her path. It was so bad I almost rehomed her.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-88

Yikes!!!

So Levemir doesn't sting like Lantus....

Alska's hair is short but it is thick so it is hard to part to find skin and then right as I get the needle positioned at the part, he goes wonkers - hissing, spitting, growling and jerking. Some days though, he doesn't even notice - calm as a cucumber. Weird.

I am going to try brushing him before his shot. Maybe this will calm him down.

Your patience with her certainly was a blessing. Just look at her now. You did that!
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-88

Maybe it's because all my sugar cats have been long haired but I don't even try to see skin I just grab a chunk of skin, lift up and shoot. But out of 3 diabetics 2have reacted violently to Lantus but have been cool as cucumbers on Levemir. To the point that if I was to take in another Lantus cat I would immediately switch to Levemir. Just not a fan of Lantus after working with both. I suppose everyone has their preferences. I just like the gentle curves and long hang time of Lev vs.Lantus as well as having calmer cats.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-88

I get fur shots if I don't expose the skin. It might be worth asking the vet about Levemir next time I go for a prescription refill.

Thanks Mel.
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-88

Lucian wasn't too bad, but he would occasionally moan/growl when he got his shot and try to pull away. I had to have a treat or food to keep him occupied during the shot. And it does sting like hell! If a tiny bit can sting my finger like it did, I can imagine how bad a whole dose stings. Poor babies, I hate that!

With the Lev, I shoot him in my lap after his preshot test, no bribery, nothing. He doesn't flinch, try to get away or anything. He pays no attention to the Lev. I feel better about that, than knowing I am causing him discomfort just to try to help him. And it didn't work anyway! The Lev has been a blessing for both of us. And I am actively working on getting more, I only have a few weeks before I run out. Keep fingers crossed for us!
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-88

yep its just a green pen instead of gray. Plus it is more stable 45 days instead of 30 days. It also is normally a smaller dose. If you switch you will want to start him at 75% of his current dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-88

Levemir has been tested to 45 days and Lantus only tested to 30 days for their FDA approval.
Both are actually stable much longer, based on the reports of use here.
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-88

Lantus has an acid base which is why it stings. Levemir has a neutral base- hence no stinging.

Like Lantus, if you have a low dose cat getting the 3ml pens- while more expensive upfront unless you can find a pharmacy that sells them pen by pen- than the 10ml vial. Both the pen and the bottle have the same 45 day period to use.

HOWEVER, like lantus, if you take care to store it properly (cool area, no jostling) the pen will last to the last drop even after the 'end use' date. Two months, almost three if it goes that long.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top