Re: 10/2 Apollo AMPS 172, +1 117, +2 60, +3 73, +3.5 146, +5
Hi John, you are doing great! :thumbup
If you look at the ingredients in the treats they just scream carbs, in the first 6 ingredients you have flour , gluten and more gluten.
Animal liver flavor, wheat flour, corn gluten meal, water, chicken by-product meal, wheat gluten,
The question is how quickly they get into the blood stream and long they will stick around. Generally wet food get digested faster and are used up sooner, since these are semi moist it will probably be some where in between. What you want is to get the BG up fast and then get out of Apollo's system after this cycle. Dry foods can take days to clear out because they are harder to digest.
For other gravy foods to try look at things in pouches, there tends to be more gravy in them. Friskies has several as does Wellness and they are in the MC range. I always try to use the lowest carb food that will do the job. You can just spoon the gravy out and forget the solids. Tess doesn't like them either.
One more question. So I keep him on this dose until he earns a reduction of going under 40 a few times correct? Do I ignore the AMPS or PMPS number and keep shooting the full dose no matter what it is? Or do I alter the AMPS and PMPS dose depending on what number he is? I see some people stick with the full dose regardless and others drop it down if the AMPS or PMPS number is lower then usual. Just trying to learn more.
Usually we keep the dose the same. We do the preshot test to make sure the cat isn't too low to shoot safely (Tess has had preshots in the 40s) and to give us a heads up if the cycle is going to be active. I always test at +11 as well so I know if that preshot number is rising or falling.
There are 2 basic options for a low preshot:
- -- stall (without feeding) until you see a rising # or a definite surf, then shoot the full dose because the stall is already acting as a reduction.
-- Shoot a BCS, a temporary reduced shot, especially if you can't be around and don't want to skip.
-- Skip the shot, if you have stalled for 2 hours we usually skip.
Look at Tess yesterday, she was 72 and dropping at shot time. i skipped the shot because we weren't going to be there to monitor, if we would have been home I would have shot and known I could control it w/ food. Usually now Tess only need 6& or 7% food to surf. ECID and I have found through trial and error (lots of them ohmygod_smile ) that Tess does clears sooner if I skip than if I BCS, but that is Tess.
We say "shoot low to stay low" , it is the best way to get Apollo's numbers into regulation.