10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 121

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

I know...I read your condo and I would have been scared, too. But it's over, he is ok, you are getting him up.

What you want to do tonight is get him up so you can get some rest. We are just trying to drain the depot so you don't need to worry about getting him surfing.

You can feed him gravy with LC food if he prefers the LC food or you can give him HC food. Once we get him up, I'd like you to leave some HC food out so he can eat while you rest. Soundlike a plan? We call this "aborting the cycle".
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

The only HC I have is the friskies I haven't bothered to throw away. :sad: But I've got gravy....Human gravy that he seemed to like. I gave him a little.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Sometimes human gravy has soy in it which you don't want him to have.

Can you give him the Friskies or is there someone that can go out and get him some FF gravy lovers or other HC? Make sure they get chocolate for you :-D

Standing by for +3 :-D
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

deep breath, pauline. you can do this!

human gravy mixed with lc will help keep him up. you want to abort the cycle.

unfortunately, there's no way of measuring the residual action of the previous dose. he has nothing to prove. there's no problem with aborting the cycle by feeding gravy with his lc.

marje has given you good advice. it shouldn't take too long to get his numbers up so you can get some rest.

remember, you are in control. you have the tools to keep him safe.
hang in there!

marje has kindly volunteered to stick with you until jane comes on.
will catch up to you in the morning...

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:



edited to add: check the ingredients to see if there's soy in the gravy. if not, let him have it.
if he'll eat the hc friskies... even better.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Jill may have used the human gravy so just check yours. If it f does not have any soy, you're good to use it with the LC.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

I'm on my way out the door. I thought the honey would be good. I should be gone about 20 mins the store is right down the street. Hubs is here to test him but doesn't know how to work the forum.

Thank you Marje. I didn't know that about human gravy at all. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

I'd check it...some do, some don't. If yours doesn't have it, you don't need to go out.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Pauline

If you post and I'm not right back...don't worry..I have to test and feed Gracie. Ill brb. If he's still low...more HC, K. Then retest in 30. See you in a few.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Friskies it is...just a little though and I feel guilty for giving it to him. But he enjoyed it. He's at 57 now.

Just when I think I've got this I learn how wrong I really am. I feel really inadequate at the moment. I KNOW Mr. T is only alive because of all of you who have helped me with all of his emergencies. I feel like I'm jumping into a fire every day with him lately.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

It will get better. :-D :-D we are all here because someone was here for us in the middle of the night.

Good that he's coming up but I'd like you to give him a nice, good helping of the HC. We want him safely up so you can get some rest. There is no reason to fight numbers all night long when he has his reduction.

See you in 30 ok?
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Good morning, Ladies, just checking in.

Making coffee and catchig up on this thread, ok? Back in 5 :smile: (Though I'm on now for a bit so Marje, if you need to split, go ahead.)

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Good stuff, Pauline!!

I'd be happier to see him a litle higher still, and I'm sure you would too :lol:

You had great instincts, feeding him a bit more, well done!

How about another test in 30 minutes, is that alright with you?

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

And a little peptalk, Pauline:

YOU ARE DOING A FANTASTIC JOB
!!!

I noticed you posted earlier that you think it's because of the LL-Help that Teronto is where he is now. I would love for you to give yourself a LOT more credit too, though, alright? :YMHUG:



If you were not the amazing person you are, staying up with your cat, watching him so closely, thinking and worrying about him, asking for help and reaching out and making sure you get the best input and advice - if YOU were not doing all that, then all the great advice in the world wouldn't do the job. YOU are there, with the stress and the worry, and still you're keeping on.

YOu are a terrific bean to Teronto, and he is an incredibly lucky cat to have you and your love.

See you at (+5) :smile:
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Night ladies. Sorry I pooped out Pauline but Missy G had me up last night. I was thinking I was going to have to brew the coffee so I could stay with you.

So thank you Janie Jane.

Jane is great with low numbers. I'd just keep giving the HC. If you can get a +11 in the morning, Pauline, and if its low, be sure you pot so Jane and Dyana can catch it and help you.

One last thing, please. Rebecca, the webmaster, doesn't like to see low numbers stay on a subject line. So, if at sometime, you can update just to show he's coming up, that would be great.

Thanks ladies...I hope he comes up soon and you sleep, Pauline.

You are really handling this well! D not sell yourself short. Extra hugs! Ni Ni.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Night Marje. Thanks for your help and support. Drool the pillow for me. :-D

Thank you Jan for your words. I'm zapped so I'm a little extra sensative.

+5 71 this is the area I get fuzzy. It's coming up so should I wait 1/2 and see if all that Friskies kicks in?
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Teronto and Pauline said:
Night Marje. Thanks for your help and support. Drool the pillow for me. :-D Thank you Jan for your words. I'm zapped so I'm a little extra sensitive. +5 71 this is the area I get fuzzy. It's coming up so should I wait 1/2 and see if all that Friskies kicks in?

Yes, I think you can try waiting 30 minutes, and then test and post. This is a bit of a judgement call situation, so it makes sense to be a bit fuzzy on the "rules." HC can wear off very quickly, and honey/syrup etc. sometimes even more so, but it's sometimes also a good idea to see whether a cat is managing to surf inspite of carbs-boosts wearing off. Because he's in the 70s now, I feel that it's safe to try waiting until (+5.5). If he drops again, we'll deal with that then, but this way, he has a chance to show off some surfing skills if he wants to. I will stick with you, ok?

See you at (+5.5). Nice 71 there at (+5) :smile:

Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71

+5.5 77

Teronto was a little outta sort that Son stole his blanky. Had to retrieve it for him. LOL
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71

Beautiful BG there :smile:

It's now been an hour since the last feeding (Friskies at +4.5).

I would try giving him another 30 minutes *without food*, retest and post at (+6). :lol: on the blanky!

Plan sound good to you?
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71

Teronto and Pauline said:
+6 93 Here comes the friskies


Couldn't get back on faster than this, my dratted internet is wobbling.

93 is great - why are you giving HC? You wouldn't strictly need that, in the 90s. It would have been fine to feed some MC or even LC and re-test in an hour...

That's still what I'd suggest now. I would retest at (+7). Ok?
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71

I'm not sure he's interest in food. He's passed out snoring, with his blanky by the Son.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71

Ah. Ok then - it looks as though he's risen a bit ("looks as though" I'm saying because meter variance is always a potential factor).

If he won't eat, I'd maybe test a little earlier, how about (+6.75)?
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71

No go on the food. Son and him are both singing me I-) I feel a little jealous. Teronto slept right through my poking him like he usually does.

+6.75 121
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71

GREAT number. Looks like he's coming up. Hopefully he'll surf the blues a bit. I think you should be ok to wait a bit longer until next test. I'd go with an hour or an hour and a half even, if you put food out close to him just in case. I will check back in with you then - have to get the day going in the meantime :lol:

You did GREAT so far!!

Sound good?
Jane
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

131 @ +7
162 @ +7.5

Boy...what a long night. I'm opting to skip his morning shot so I can sleep.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

I think you can safely sleep for 4 solid hours, now. Can you get up and test at +12 or a little before? That's what I would do.
I read through your post and all the discussions. You are doing a great job, and I know you're tired. Hopefully, he'll be high enough to get his 0.1 dose, and you can go btb for a couple more hours. Does that sound doable to you?
If you want to skip, that's up to you.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

((Pauline))

Sorry I'm late - again, the internet is being obstreperous.

Dyana was here, thankfully - Thanks, Dyana!

Great job, Pauline, and very nice blue numbers now!
Hugs
Jane
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

I can set my alarm, but to be honest I'm not sure if I'd hear it. 2.5 hours and I will have been up for 24......

I think it's safest for Teronto if I get some solid sleep. I'm no good to him like this. But in order to do that I need to skip.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

I could be wrong, but I'm just afraid that if you skip the shot this morning, that it will be kind of, but not quite, like skipping two shots in a row, as that was a big reduction he got yesterday. Most of the numbers you saw last night were caused by the depot of that 0.50 dose and some leftover from the previous 0.75 dose. It's entirely up to you, and we understand if you need to sleep.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

Last one before I hit the hay. +8 157

Ya, it's safest for him if I skip. I think I hit a bad spot on his ear it bled a lot, either that or his ears have learned how to bleed now.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

good morning, ladies! nice work by all.

I think it's safest for Teronto if I get some solid sleep. I'm no good to him like this. But in order to do that I need to skip.

i agree. i'm sorry to see you were up most of the night. i think skipping the shot this morning is an excellent idea. skipping would give you a good idea of where teronto is at AND allow you to get some much needed rest. there's no way you can keep this pace up and function. that's why i suggested aborting the cycle by feeding hc until torento's numbers came up and stayed up in my previous post in this thread.

you can test and feed when you wake up and then test again 4 hours later. repeat that every 4 hours until we get closer to normal shot time. we'll be watching the data you collect today. if we have questions or are looking for additional data we'll post.

questions?
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

Dyana said:
I could be wrong, but I'm just afraid that if you skip the shot this morning, that it will be kind of, but not quite, like skipping two shots in a row, as that was a big reduction he got yesterday. Most of the numbers you saw last night were caused by the depot of that 0.50 dose and some leftover from the previous 0.75 dose. It's entirely up to you, and we understand if you need to sleep.
you're right, dyana. normally we would suggest shooting rather than skipping, but teronto's depot runneth over.
skipping will allow the depot to drain...
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

Please keep in mind that with every reduction or increase, you're going to get NDW (New Dose Wonkiness) for a day or 2 (perhaps a bit more depending on the kitty), and then things will straighten out. It's just kitty's body's way of say, "Oh... More (or less) juice for me to play with! Oh, goody!" :lol: Hang in there, you're doing a great job! :-D
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

Pauline, I hope you get to sleep like a baby :-D Good Dreams!
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
Please keep in mind that with every reduction or increase, you're going to get NDW (New Dose Wonkiness) for a day or 2 (perhaps a bit more depending on the kitty), and then things will straighten out. It's just kitty's body's way of say, "Oh... More (or less) juice for me to play with! Oh, goody!" :lol: Hang in there, you're doing a great job! :-D
there is no NDW on reductions.
NDW will sometimes occur when the dose is increased. no worries here. :-D
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

Thanks Ladies. :YMHUG:

Another notch in my belt. And Mr. T is my green giant today. LOL Sorry, I'm tired.

I'm gonna drool on my pillow...I just know it!

One thought came to mind, I'm still not clear how all this works, but do you think all this craziness with him is effects from the 10 units still?
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

Teronto and Pauline said:
Thanks Ladies. :YMHUG:

Another notch in my belt. And Mr. T is my green giant today. LOL Sorry, I'm tired.

I'm gonna drool on my pillow...I just know it!

One thought came to mind, I'm still not clear how all this works, but do you think all this craziness with him is effects from the 10 units still?

it's *possible* the 10u dose may have jump-started his pancreas. we've seen it happen before. it's also possible torento is asking for a reduced dose... "some" insulin, but less than what he's been getting. skipping will allow the depot to drain even more. i'm hoping skipping will provide another piece to this puzzle.

now, go drool on your pillow! :lol:
we'll be checking your ss as the day goes on...
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 1

good morning! Sorry I bailed on you. I don't do very well with staying up with West coast people. You did great, Teronto is looking good, and I hope you have plenty of time for naps today. Since you're skipping, you don't have to test much. What I would love to see, if you can do it, is to test/feed when you get up, and then test again after 3-4 hours.

Happy drooling!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top