10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46;+5 71; +6.75 121

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teronto and Pauline

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's

Morning Everyone.

Teronto decided last night that he'd surf Pink and his AMPS is 456....SO Frustrating! It makes me second guess the reduction. But we'll stick with it for today and see what happens. I'm hoping it's just the extra food I gave him and the vet visit that threw us off our course and that today we get back to business.

On another note....does anyone know how much I SHOULD be feeding him? He seems to cry for food all of the time. I'm know that's because I took the free feed dry food away. But sometimes I feel like he's just not getting enough. I've tried smaller 1/4 can meals through the day and mostly 1/2 can meals twice a day. No matter what I do he wants more and lately he's been trying to eat his Doggie Sister Roxie's food (mixed dry and wet).
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98

Well...He jumped the red and pink ship fast. +4 98 I'm SO NERVIOUS! All I want to do right now is stuff him with food. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456; +2 310; +4 98

98is good, but check again at +5.
carl
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456; +2 310; +4 98

Hi Carl! Hope you're having a great day today.

I chickened out and gave him a small meal. 1/4 can of LC. We are at +5.5 66......GEEZUS!! I know he's in the safe zone but after yesterday's event I'm SO WORRIED!!
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456; +2 310; +4 98; +5.5 66

no worries. As long as you are testing you have control.

Try not to carb him up too much this cycle, unless you need to. It's good that you fed some low carb to slow down this drop. Hopefully that will be just the right thing to slow the drop and keep him from bouncing right back up again.

Can you do me a favor and get a few more tests this cycle, especially late in the cycle? I have some ideas germinating in my head but it's a little hard to try to anticipate Teronto's next move. :lol: More numbers might help.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456; +2 310; +4 98; +5.5 66

I peeked at your spreadsheet and saw a +6~68. Good! The drop has stopped and hopefully Teronto is surfing. I would get a +6.5 and we'll go from there.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456; +2 310; +4 98; +5.5 66

I'd like to know how he does it! I'm on edge and he's sound asleep snoring wrapped up in his blanky. I tested him and he snored through the whole thing.. :roll:
+6.5 77

I'm gonna take a guess and try to use some of the great wisdom everyone has taught me the last few days and say he's bouncing on me from yesterday event. However, I still can't figure him out other than the trend I see is that he doesn't just drop he nose dives head first between +2 and +4. No matter the amount of food he gets or dose it's seems.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456; +2 310; +4 98; +5.5 66

+6.5 77
looking good here!
resist the urge to feed more unless you have to. we'd like to see if that bit of food will help him surf along nicely.
we're working on figuring things out. if you can get those tests libby requested it'll help.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98;+5.5 66;+6 68;+6.5 7

I think the high numbers you saw early were a bounce from yesterday's dive, but it also looks like he got over that really quickly. You're doing great managing this with just the low carb food. So stick with that unless he dips back down to under 50 (which I don't expect you to see).

Carl
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98;+5.5 66;+6 68;+6.5 7

Wait...let me clarify and I'll make sure to put it on his SS. I gave him 1/4 can LC between +4 and +5.5 tests. I haven't given him anything else since. Looking at his SS for just the last few hours I'm thinking that saved us. But what do I really know.

How many more test should I do? Every 1/2 hour or ever hour? Also, not sure if this makes a difference or not but too much info is sometimes a good thing right? We ran about 1/2 hour behind our shot time this morning.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98;+5.5 66;+6 68;+6.5 7

I think hold off on more food unless he drops again?
Carl
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98;+5.5 66;+6 68;+6.5 7

Teronto and Pauline said:
Wait...let me clarify and I'll make sure to put it on his SS. I gave him 1/4 can LC between +4 and +5.5 tests. I haven't given him anything else since. Looking at his SS for just the last few hours I'm thinking that saved us. But what do I really know.

How many more test should I do? Every 1/2 hour or ever hour? Also, not sure if this makes a difference or not but too much info is sometimes a good thing right? We ran about 1/2 hour behind our shot time this morning.


is this right?

(+12.5)amps 456 - 0.5u - i'm assuming you fed here?
+2 310
+4 98
fed 1/4 can
+5.5 66
+6 68
+6.5 77


i'd test @ +11 for sure. an additional test in another hour or hour and a half plus a 9 or 10 would be helpful.
of course, if you see him dropping again, you'll have to adjust the schedule.
make sense?
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98;+5.5 66;+6 68;+6.5 7

ok, thanks for confirming. :mrgreen:

libby's on her way home from work and i'm home for the evening. we'll be checking in on you... especially as it gets closer to shot time.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98;+5.5 66;+6 68;+6.5 7

Hi Pauline-
Not able to give you much advice but just wanted to pop in and let you know you are doing GREAT. Being able to get the tests and start to get an idea of what his body is doing is good. And it seems like he is doing good with the testing if he sleeps through them. We've gotten to the place where Fur Ball just purrs and enjoys his loves afterwards. Crazy. We don't even need to give him treats. I feel soooo blessed.

hang in there. you are there and able to watch him.

Karen
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98;+5.5 66;+6 68;+6.5 7

Hi Pauline, Great job managingTeronto's roller coaster today, especially after the scary day you had yesterday, wow! This stuff really is like ice driving, easy does it, small adjustments, give the food enough time to work and resist natural impulse to oversteer. You are already getting the hang of this! Hope you are feeling better too, sending :YMHUG: hugs and healing vines for you. You asked about how much food, somewhere there is a sticky about recommended # of calories per lb of cat, when I find it I will post it here for you.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98;+5.5 66;+6 68;+6.5 7

I see some nice surfing going on. :mrgreen: I'm looking forward to seeing what Teronto does the rest of this cycle. Maybe +10 and +11? He's not in any danger now, this is just data collection so we can figure out the best strategy for him.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98;+5.5 66;+6 68;+6.5 7

Just made it back in time to take +9. Had to run to the dentist cause a stitch came loose.

Should have seen the expression on my face when the dentist gave me the same look I give Teronto when he doesn't play by the rules. :shock:

He's at +9 75
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+2 310;+4 98;+5.5 66;+6 68;+6.5 7

Perfect number!

:-D

Carl
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+11 91

The 11th hour...... 91! I've seen this a few days ago and he jumped up to the 200 at PMPS.

But knowing Teronto he won't play by the sand box rules. :lol: Good thing it's a weekend.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+11 91

(+12.5)amps 456 - 0.5u - fed
+2 310
+4 98
fed 1/4 can
+5.5 66
+6 68
+6.5 77
+7 82
+8 86
+9 75
+10 92
+11 91

Nice. :smile:

No food since after the 98, correct?

This is awesome. Please post the +12 before you shoot, ok? I'm watching for the number. I'm sure Jill is watching too.

:smile:
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+11 91

Yuppers, No food since the 98. I have to admit my evilness though. I ate Halibut infront of him. :twisted: It made me feel a little better. :lol:
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+11 91

Sadly, I didn't. It was breaded and fried Halibut.

He'll be happy to have dinner soon though. He's already hounding me that its time.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+11 91

Sadly, I didn't. It was breaded and fried Halibut.

He'll be happy to have dinner soon though. He's already hounding me that its time.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto AMPS 456;+11 91

he's such a good boy for cooperating!

pauline, after you get his pmps number you can feed him, but please give us 5 minutes before you shoot anything.
we'll get right back to you...
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I've talked with Jill and here's what we've been thinking. What do you think about trying an even lower dose? We're thinking that it would be smart to lower the dose and see how that works. Would you be comfortable shooting 0.1 units BID? Then we'll evaluate in a couple of days and see how that looks. Teronto isn't really taking the traditional path here, but there are clues on his spreadsheet that he might be one of those cats who prefers a very small dose. Worth a try?
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98

here's a pic of the new dose:

01unit-1.jpg


fwiw, we've been watching teronto closely. this suggestion to drop the dose has been thought out carefully...
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98

What the Heck! Okay...I think I can measure that.

Thank you for keeping an eye out on Teronto. :YMHUG: That means so much to me!
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98

good luck!

I would get a +1 tonight, and probably a +2 to see what time he starts to rise. We know he's a bouncer so unfortunately he will probably go up before he comes back down, but he's got the 0.5u depot to drain so he might still drop tonight. Hopefully he'll just keep surfing right along! Tell him we're sorry about all the extra pokes, but it was very helpful.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98

Will do. I hope he takes to this dose better. I need some sleep.....REAL, honest to goodness, drool on my pillow, sleep.

I also discovered I need more test strips....I swear I just bought some the other day. Oh well. Maybe while I'm at it I'll get a nice catnip mousey.

He was okay with the extra pokes, but only when I wrap him in his blanky. Purred and Purred.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98

Oh and while I'm still here. Could you share the clues with me? I'm interested in know just cause I'd like to know Teronto a little better and of course I'm just too Newbie to understand all of it yet.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98

little things. Jill and I both have a habit of studying a LOT of spreadsheets, probably hundreds over the years. After a while you start to recognize things. The food change made a world of difference to Teronto, obviously. His numbers have changed completely in the past week. Those lower preshots you had on 1u before you came to Lantus Land and started doing mid-cycle tests were a clue to me that we needed to watch him. He has been clearing bounces quickly and differently than most newbies. I can't really explain what I mean by differently. :? The way he clears bounces looks more like a cat that has been here for a while than a newbie, or else like a cat that is getting more insulin than he really needs. I don't explain very well when I'm sleepy, so I'll pop in tomorrow and see if I can explain better. :lol:
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98

+2 62. I would go ahead and give some gravy here. He doesn't need to go low and earn a reduction because we already gave the reduction. You want to get him surfing at least in the 60s, but I would prefer 70s.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98

K. I'm testing him here in 7 mins. That will put us at +2.5

He sure DOESN'T PLAY FAIR!!!

Guess no drool on my pillow tonight. I got too worried when I saw that number.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

I'm up Libby, if you need to go to bed. I can stay with Pauline for a while...
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Thank you! I just CAN'T BELIEVE THIS IS HAPPENING AGAIN! Calm right. I can cry at +6.5 right?

Libby I hope you get to drool on your pillow.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Pauline

Libby is going to head to bed and I will be here. So go ahead and post when you get your next number. If its still low, lather, rinse, repeat so we can get him up, ok? It's early in the cycle and you just reduced him.

Hang in there...you know what to do to get him up....you are on control and you are doing great.

Recap
PMPS: 98
+1: 94
+2: 61 gravy
+2.5: 46 fed LC and honey
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

I might go with the gravy at 62. The honey will wear off a little quicker and he's so early in the cycle.

If he hasn't had a lot to eat, you could give him a little LC with the gravy to try and get him to not wobble quite so much later...the LC will help with that.

Doing ok? See you in 30.
 
Re: 10/19 Teronto PMPS 98;+1 94;+2 61;+2.5 46

Nope, not okay...Shook up, expecially after yesterday.

He's trying to go to sleep...WHATEVER!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top