10/19 Stinky-Dosing questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

WickedSteppMom

Member Since 2011
Stinky's AMPS was 178, which isn't unexpected. However, I've been wondering if perhaps when he's under 200, I should only give him a fat .2 since his reaction to the insulin is such that generally when he receives a shot, he doesn't need another for 48 hrs? (Another reason why I believe yesterday morning was meter error.) Or, would it be better to stick w/fat .4 for anything 150 and up, and do .2 when he's in the 140's & I know he's on the rise? **My only issue today is that I'm now out of test strips. I have some on the way-I had to order from Amazon so I could use some credit I had, and I'd hoped they would come from the Amazon facility in Lexington, KY (45 mins away) but unfortunately, they're coming from WI. So, I'm hoping they'll be here tomorrow, as tracking says they left Indy last night.
 
If you have no strips, Alyssa, I would skip the shot. I know it may put us back a bit in terms of shots and numbers, but we can't be sure the number this morning is "true" as he could be bouncing from yesterday or could be reacting to higher carb food (can't remember whether you stuck with low carb or gave him some of the other.) If you were going to be around and had strips, I would say yes to a tiny dose. But with no strips, I would go with "better too high for a day than too low for a minute...."

Others may feel differently. You can afford to wait a while to see.
 
I will be here all day, so that's not a problem. I'm a stay-home mom w/no driver's license (epilepsy), so I'm not going anywhere! :mrgreen: So, just keep an eye on him today & feed him low-carb foods, as usual?
 
YAY! It looks like I will have my test strips today! FedEx has a habit of bungling things up for me, but miraculously, when I just checked tracking it said that my pkg had arrived in town early this morning & is out for delivery. It's coming FedEx Smartpost & the mail is usually delivered anytime between now & the next 2 hrs, so if it gets here in the next hr, I can test him before lunch.
 
His +5 was 149, so I went ahead & fed him lunch, but haven't given him a shot. At this point, I'm pretty sure he'll be fine until PMPS, but I'm considering checking him again sometime mid-afternoon, just b/c yesterday has me paranoid & I'd like to see what today's #'s are going to do.
 
PMPS was 178 & he has only eaten half his dinner...doesn't seem interested in the rest. He may come back for it later though. I'm still debating between doing a fat .4 when above 200, and a fat .2 when 150-199. Thoughts? I'm going to take his food dish to him & see if I can get him to eat a little more before I shoot, but if I don't hear anything before I *need* to shoot, I'll do .2, just to be on the safe side...can always do more, can't take any out!
 
That sounds like a good plan. His P is working you just need to support it with a little bit of insulin when he needs it.

At this stage, you're right, you can always increase the dose next time but you can't take it back out.

Awesome that Stinky is doing so well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top