10/19 Sooty AMPS 246 +4 230 +7 226 PMPS 248 +3 251

Status
Not open for further replies.

Perry and Sooty

Member Since 2010
Yesterday...

OK folks the consensus was to revert to 3.0u so I will. Wish us luck! (Luck? what's luck got to do with it? LOL)

I do still have a question though! Can anyone help me understand why his AMBGs have clearly been lower, while he has not been getting any insulin?
 
Re: 10/19 Sooty AMBG 246 Resuming at 3.0

Morning Perry....you got me there...does he have a snack during the night? If so, that might bring the numbers down in the morning. It is curious since the AMPS are usually the last high number holdouts. You might have better luck with an answer if you asked Sooty... :lol: I feel as if a crystal ball would benefit us here...(I just washed mine and can't do a thing with it) :-| oh, golly, I can't believe I just said that...
Wishing you the best today and I know you will document his behavior...and his BGs, right?
GO Sooty...use the Force!!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/19 Sooty AMBG 246 Resuming at 3.0

G'morning Pat,

Overnight snack, no he usually doesn't eat anything at all, in fact. We usually find his dish the same in the morning as we left it at bedtime.
The only thing I can guess at is that maybe, (when on insulin I mean), he does have a dip (that we haven't caught?) some time overnight and the following AM high might be a bounce response to that? The SS does clearly show that AMPS tendency for 'pink' NOT happening since he wasn't getting any insulin, doesn't it?
My crystal ball is out at the cleaners. So we're both in trouble there...! LOL
 
Re: 10/19 Sooty AMBG 246 Resuming at 3.0

ohmygod_smile Oh NOOOoooo....we are flying solo now....no crystal ball anywhere in the Kingdom??? :lol:
How did Sooty do with the shot routine back? Hope you all have a good day today...I am crossing my fingers and my two have their paws crossed that things work out for Sooty today.... :thumbup
 
Re: 10/19 Sooty AMBG 246 Resuming at 3.0

No advice on the lower am numbers .. we haven't had to deal with that :lol: Good luck with the new dose!!
 
Re: 10/19 Sooty AMBG 246 Resuming at 3.0

Hi Peter, gm! Thanks, always appreciate your stopping by it's not all just about advice, after all! Hope Mocha is good today.

Pat, he did great, purred through the whole thing. He's really been NICE since we stopped the insulin the other day, as I said; so I kinda felt guilty for injecting him again - weird...! I hope your two also, have a good one today!

He's had his breffis (listen to me will you!) and 3 ps definitely in place (pee, preen & purr) so he's just fine!

At least I think we can give him the day off for ear pokes today can't we? (Don't expect to see any reaction to the first shots the first day, right?)

I'm off th tbp now. BTW I found another way to access the SS from work, using a different URL that isn;t blocked, and so far it's letting me upodate it. So that's some good news, I will be able to keep it updated better through the day, hopefully!
 
Re: 10/19 Sooty AMBG 246 Resuming at 3.0

Ok, I will share my thought....aren't you curious?? I mean, aren't you just SO curious as to what his numbers will be?
Cats have their days off on the weekend silly....and today is Tuesday.... :mrgreen:
It's totally up to you and Cathy...but gee....I am curious as anything myself...
 
Re: 10/19 Sooty AMPS 246 +4 230

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Ok, I will share my thought....aren't you curious?? I mean, aren't you just SO curious as to what his numbers will be?
Cats have their days off on the weekend silly....and today is Tuesday.... :mrgreen:
It's totally up to you and Cathy...but gee....I am curious as anything myself...
OK we have a +4 (at 12 noon) and it was 230. WIll get a few more spot checks later...!
 
Re: 10/19 Sooty AMPS 246 +4 230 +7 226 PMPS 248

a phrase you'll hear around here sometimes is shooting insulin was like shooting water -- meaning, you didn't see a response. in many cases of insulin resistance it feels like shooting water sometimes. once you find that breakthrough dose you'll know, and you'll start seeing better numbers.
in the meantime you have what some new diabetic owners would think of as a high class problem: a cat in the 200s, which is not too shabby. so i'd enjoy that, and expect great things once you find the breakthrough dose.
 
Re: 10/19 Sooty AMPS 246 +4 230 +7 226 PMPS 248

chriscleo said:
a phrase you'll hear around here sometimes is shooting insulin was like shooting water -- meaning, you didn't see a response. in many cases of insulin resistance it feels like shooting water sometimes. once you find that breakthrough dose you'll know, and you'll start seeing better numbers.
in the meantime you have what some new diabetic owners would think of as a high class problem: a cat in the 200s, which is not too shabby. so i'd enjoy that, and expect great things once you find the breakthrough dose.
Haven't seen that said as of yet but I do get what you mean. Anyhow I am a lot more comfortable with what we're doing now, since the hiatus (on no shots) really did give us some concrete results and we now know where we stand. I think that on balance, it really was worth it. (If he had been up in the 300s or 400s before we did that or while he was off the insulin, then it would have been a different matter I think..!)
I just hope we will get 'there' (breakthrough dose) sooner than later - and to that end I am still waiting on our vet to help us get the IGF-1 and IAA blood tests done. That may at least give us a clue as to where we are ultimately headed..!
 
Evening Perry - good idea on the IGF-1 and IAA blood tests. the more data the better. Shadow got up to some horridly high numbers and even after Jill and Libby talked me into cutting her dose in half, she still had to have a couple more dosecreases before she started back down. I know it is hard to stay with this when you don't see any budge in his numbers. But hang in there, you guys'll get there.
 
Kim 'n Shadow said:
Evening Perry - good idea on the IGF-1 and IAA blood tests. the more data the better. Shadow got up to some horridly high numbers and even after Jill and Libby talked me into cutting her dose in half, she still had to have a couple more dosecreases before she started back down. I know it is hard to stay with this when you don't see any budge in his numbers. But hang in there, you guys'll get there.
Yep I have to agree it doesn't look like we've ever gotten way too high on the dosage, none of those sporadic greens followed by high numbers, as you had - so we'll just keep on 0.25 at a time... <sigh!>
 
hang in there, perry. so you took a detour. no big deal. at least your curiosity has been satisfied so it's not all bad.
if it's any consolation, when i started in the lantus group back in 2006 we generally held doses for a week, some held them for 2 weeks.
from where i'm coming from, holding a dose for 6 cycles is nothin'!
you'll get sooty there...
 
Jill & Alex said:
hang in there, perry. so you took a detour. no big deal. at least your curiosity has been satisfied so it's not all bad.
if it's any consolation, when i started in the lantus group back in 2006 we generally held doses for a week, some held them for 2 weeks.
from where i'm coming from, holding a dose for 6 cycles is nothin'!
you'll get sooty there...
I hear you - we started out back in June with the vet wanting us to wait 1, 2 weeks or even longer, at one dose..! That was where we learned to be so impatient!
You guys are golden though and you keep us on the rails. Have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top