10/19 Rusty PMPS 142, +4.5 207

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54494

Good Morning, Everyone,

Rusty is back in yellow (he was already on the way up last night). I would think his shed would have filled to the new level by now. No known fur shots have been given. His mid-blue numbers of the last 2 days were hardly low enough to have caused a bounce. This morning's shot began the 6th cycle on the new 1.75 dose. I guess we'll see what happens today.

We had a good night and awoke to kitty snuggles. Good test, shot, breakfast in 2 sittings and looking for more. Rusty is very anxious to go outdoors, but he will have to wait for it to warm up (39 degrees this morning; still damp and cloudy). Edward is getting ready to bake bread, and I'm getting caught up on computer house-cleaning and gearing up for house house-cleaning.

Everyone have a good day. Our thoughts are with Linda and Libby; and we continue to send healing vines to Garland, Leo, Rocket, Tobey, and all kitties in need of them.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215

Rusty, we need to see some nicer numbers. Maybe after you get your stroll outdoors you'll be more inclined to go lower.

Hope everyone has a wonderful Wednesday.
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215

Morning guys!

Ah Rusty.... what are you doing on the yellow floor? Come on down... Mannie is on his way up to meet you, maybe the two of you can find the way back to the green floor. :-D And I hear you on why the bounce when they were just blue...Mannie has been doing that too... We get good stuff for a day, and then back up he goes... :roll:

and 39? brrrrrrr.... stay in Rusty - no frost alot on those whiskers...

Have a good day today, even if it is all types of cleaning. :-D
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215

Hi guys .. rusty, what's up with these yellow numbers? I hope the stroll outside when it warms up puts you in the mood for some blues and greens .. we know you can do it! Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215

Hi Ella, I bet Rusty will come down once he gets his stroll outdoors and hopefully no siting of Shadow. That is cold....39 degrees! It's 58 degrees here and misty. I love the smell of freshly baked bread. Have a nice day and hope Rusty comes down.
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215

Rusty, Ok you are near blue!! Please come down for your beans! Hope it warms up somewhat up there..
I love flat blue low numbers--Here's hoping you get some!!! Hugs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215

Hi Ella, in Maggie's yesterday's condo there was a discussion about the Nature's Variety Instinct, and you brought up the ingredient "Montmorillonite Clay," and thanks for pointing it out, as I've never seen this ingredient in their food. I contacted them, and this is their response. See what you think. I'm on my way out shortly but will catch up later on condos. I posted in Amy & Trixie's condo, too.

Thank you for e-mailing! Montmorillonite Clay is one of the most effective natural intestinal detoxifying agents available. Montmorillonite Clay contains minerals that, once inside the gastrointestinal tract, are able to absorb toxins and deliver mineral nutrients. The clay is eventually eliminated from the body with the toxins bound to its multiple surfaces. The benefits reported by people using Montmorillonite Clay are improved intestinal regularity; relief from chronic constipation, diarrhea, indigestion, and ulcers; increased physical energy; enhanced alertness; emotional uplift; improved tissue and gum repair; and increased resistance to infections. Our diets contain LESS than 2% of Montmorillonite Clay, so it is a very small amount. Thanks for supporting our products!
Montmorillonite Clay is found in all of our products because it is a benefit for cats and dogs, all life stages and breeds. Montmorillonite Clay actually provides relief from constipation
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215

Hi Ann,
I just Googled Montmorillonite Clay and find a wealth of health-related articles (and articles on how it cleans up industrial pollution). I don't know. It sounds like people have used it for centuries to cleanse the body. But I don't think I would feel comfortable using it, or giving it to Rusty. One of the web pages cautions against using it in conjunction with certain drugs, but doesn't name them. Check this out: http://www.eytonsearth.org/drinking-clay-internal-use.php

I'll copy this to your condo.

Ella
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155

That's much better Mr. Rusty! keep coming down though, your best color is green. I am still catching up, sorry i have missed so many condos.

Hmmm, I was thinking of looking into Nature's Variety Instinct too. I just found this additional info on their site
Montmorillonite Clay
Montmorillonite is a clay that is primarily colloidal silicate, which contains over 50 ultra-trace mineral compounds including Antimony, Barium, Beryllium, Boron, Bromine, Cadmium, Carbon, Cerium, Cesium, Chloride, Chromium, Cobalt, Copper, Dysprosium, Fluoride, Gadolinium, Gallium, Germanium, Iodine, Lanthanum, Lithium, Manganese, Neodymium, Nickel, Phosphorus, Rhenium, Rubidium, Samarium, Scandium, Silicon, Silver, Strontium, Sulfur, Tellurium, Thallium, Thorium, Tin, Titanium, Vanadium, Ytterbium, Yttrium, Zinc, and Zirconium. Feed studies by the Veterinary Medical Diagnostics Laboratory at Texas A&M University have shown that Montmorillonite clays can sequester (bind) aflatoxins contained in grains and oilseeds.
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155

Good afternoon! Looks like Rusty is settling into the blues for you today. Not bad, but green is much better.

Hope you have a great day Ella!!
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155

Hi Ella, thanks for further researching the "Montmorillonite Clay"; I was interested in your thoughts as I know you were researching ingredients of foods for Rusty. That does make me pause with the info in the article. It's too bad they had to add that ingredient. I wonder if any of the other foods have it in their food. Maggie loves it so much, and it's been great with her bg. :YMSIGH: Thanks for the link, too, and I'm going to go back and thoroughly read it.
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155

Lovely blue Rusty keep it up and HMMMM I am going to have to go read about clay makes me think of this special on KET that showed this man he was pretty old he and ate clay and I thought :shock: :o :o this guy is crazy but he was healthy and old so wondering if it was like the same sort of thing confused_cat confused_cat
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155, +9 133

Hi Ella & Rusty!

Thank you for sending Leo lots of healing vines! Too bad i wasn't home to see if they were actually working :sad: Soon though!!

Ann & Tess said:
Montmorillonite Clay
Montmorillonite is a clay that is primarily colloidal silicate, which contains over 50 ultra-trace mineral compounds including Antimony, Barium, Beryllium, Boron, Bromine, Cadmium, Carbon, Cerium, Cesium, Chloride, Chromium, Cobalt, Copper, Dysprosium, Fluoride, Gadolinium, Gallium, Germanium, Iodine, Lanthanum, Lithium, Manganese, Neodymium, Nickel, Phosphorus, Rhenium, Rubidium, Samarium, Scandium, Silicon, Silver, Strontium, Sulfur, Tellurium, Thallium, Thorium, Tin, Titanium, Vanadium, Ytterbium, Yttrium, Zinc, and Zirconium. Feed studies by the Veterinary Medical Diagnostics Laboratory at Texas A&M University have shown that Montmorillonite clays can sequester (bind) aflatoxins contained in grains and oilseeds.
I was just reading about this Montmorillonite Clay, yikes is right! I see an awful lot of radionuclide chemicals in that list that Ann & Tess posted, and that can't be good for anyone, just MHO though. I wonder what they consider "ultra-trace"? This list of minerals looks alot like what I sample for everyday where i work.......and that is a uranium mine.....not a cat food company.

I hope Rusty got some outside time, when it warmed up! Brrrrrr. Rusty, time to come down into some nice green numbers.

I hope you and Rusty had a great day ;-)
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155, +9 133, PMPS 142

Hey Tracy,
Thanks so much for your insight into the M-Clay. Barbara (Tuffy) also says that one should be very careful in using it in conjunction with other drugs or remedies (her daughter is a vet tech and into holistic remedies and says that you really have to know what you are doing if you decide to use herbal or other "natural" remedies; i.e., you have to know if taking something will complicate things if it doesn't mix with something else you are taking). Barbara says that horse people used to give clay to horses for intestinal problems and worms, but that she never trusted it.

I hope that Leo is getting better and better. Thanks for this post. I'm going to pass it along to Ann (Maggie), Ann (Tess), and Amy (Trixie).

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155, +9 133, PMPS 142

Hi Ella, thanks, I saw your post and came over here to read what Ann & Tess and Tracy & Leo. Very interesting thoughts from Tracy, too! Yikes is right! I'm so glad you caught the ingredient and researched it. I wonder if this Montmorillonite Clay is in all their foods! Interesting info from Barbara's daughter, too. From now on, I'll be reading all the ingredients on the foods.
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155, +9 133, PMPS 142

Just when I think I have it all figured out, something else comes along: Montmorillonite Clay..... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155, +9 133, PMPS 142

wonderfull info here today, but I'm left to wonder...

WHERE ARE THOSE LOVELY RUSTY-LIKE NUMBERS???
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155, +9 133, PMPS 142

Hmm. I've been feeding the Nature's Instinct too.... does make you wonder. I'll have to do some more digging this weekend. I've been primarily using it in blends, at least... 4 oz. raw, 5.5 oz Nature's Instinct, 5.5 oz. BG Turkey, so the amount of clay Willie has been getting is even less per serving.

Glad to see Rusty back down into the blues... Hopefully greens aren't far behind!! Hope you guys have a good evening!
 
Re: 10/19 Rusty AMPS 215, +5.5 155, +9 133, PMPS 142

On and on it goes. I found quite a number of references to it on several dog forums. It seems to be in all of the Natures; Variety foods, including the Raw. It sounds as if it is being used as a natural source of minerals rather than the chemically compounded ones, often from China.
http://www.lab-retriever.net/board/diet-nutrition/7263502-natures-variety.html#post1963101005
This exerpt comes directly from their training manual about the food:

MINERALS AND MONTMORILLONITE
Minerals are elements. They cannot be produced within the body; they must be consumed.
Minerals are essential for the body to work properly. Minerals are difficult to absorb by themselves.

To be efficiently utilized by the body, minerals must be in an organically bound form, or chelated, which means attached to an organic substance, such as an amino acid. Montmorillonite contains 71 chelated trace and ultra-trace minerals, including many that are probably unknown to most people, such as ruthenium, tellurium, and thulium. Trace minerals enable the body to absorb nutrients; they are the bonding agents in and between the body and food.

Montmorillonite is derived from an ancient seabed formation in Utah. The clay formed when a layer of volcanic ash fell into what was, long ago, a shallow inland sea. As the ash filtered through the seawater, it collected pure minerals, forming a layer of highly mineralized clay.

When Montmorillonite absorbs water and swells, it is stretched open like a highly porous sponge; the toxins are drawn into these spaces by electrical attraction and bound fast. In fact, according to the Canadian Journal of Microbiology (31 [1985], 50-53), Montmorillonite can absorb pathogenic viruses, aflatoxin (a mold), and pesticides and herbicides including Paraquat and Roundup. The clay is eventually eliminated from the body with the toxins bound to its multiple surfaces.

Montmorillonite is one of the most effective natural intestinal detoxifying agents available and has been recognized as such for centuries by native peoples around the world. Montmorillonite contains minerals that, once inside the gastrointestinal tract, are able to absorb toxins and deliver mineral nutrients to an impressive degree.

Benefits reported by people using Montmorillonite: improved intestinal regularity; relief from chronic constipation, diarrhea, indigestion, and ulcers; a surge in physical energy; clearer complexion; brighter,whiter eyes; enhanced alertness; emotional uplift; improved tissue and gum repair; and increased
resistance to infections.

MANY other companies use chelated minerals. This is a natural way of adding alot of them at once. What's the cost? I don't know if they'll tell you that. NV foods are priced up there...not as much as Timberwolf (organic) and more (I just edited this, I noticed my error) than Canidae. I still think you are thinking too literally, just because it's the 7th ingredient doesn't mean there is 5# of kitty litter in each bag of dog food. If the idea of it scares you, don't feed it. Adding clay to my dogs' diet scares me a whole heck less than GLUTENS and BY-PRODUCTS. It's a personal decision.
 
Well, what's to say about M-Clay?? I didn't mean to start this investigation, I simply spotted "clay" in the ingredients and thought it looked odd. Apparently it is quite a topic. Anyway, I'm crossing Instinct off my list of possible foods for Rusty to try!

Rusty came up again to yellow tonight. I think onset should be beginning, but I'm not going to stay up to see. I may hold this dose for another day before raising it again.

Ni ni everyone,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top