10/19 Ruby AMPS 523, +6 200, +10 182 PMPS 185 token dose +2 267

I'd encourage you to eliminate the dry food Ruby's diet. It's very high in carbs. Is there a reason you're sticking with the dry M/D?

Only give it to her to encourage her to eat. I've been having a lot of problems getting her to eat over the past few days, she has turned up her nose at nearly all food, even her preferred wet Purina DM. The dry MD has 15% carbs as far as I know, so it's MC, and she really likes it. I can't see it hurting her unless I feed her full bowls of it, which I don't. I keep it to about ⅛ of a cup per day max.
 
She’s high this morning due to the skipped shot and the low bg from yesterday. It was too high a dose for her. When nauseous they sometimes prefer dry food. Dr. Elsey’s makes one that is low carb you might want to get.
 
She’s high this morning due to the skipped shot and the low bg from yesterday. It was too high a dose for her. When nauseous they sometimes prefer dry food. Dr. Elsey’s makes one that is low carb you might want to get.
Dr. Elsey's is on my list along with FF. I made the mistake of buying an 8 lb bag of the MD that I am still mostly feeding to Ruby's civvie sister, Olive, along with some canned Wellness.
 
A lot of our kitties start to get rather fussy with the "prescription" foods. The ingredients aren't the greatest. (And of course, some cats are just fussy as a means of torturing us!)
 
A lot of our kitties start to get rather fussy with the "prescription" foods. The ingredients aren't the greatest. (And of course, some cats are just fussy as a means of torturing us!)
Ruby actually likes the DM canned food of all of the foods I've put under her nose. But when she's inappetant, I'm willing to feed her dry MC food to keep her ketones at bay. I just have to take this into account when looking at her numbers.
 
Quite a number of cats go off the DM food. I cannot recall a cat that has stayed on it for long. It would be good to have other low carb foods in your arsenal.
 
Midday BG at 200! Yippee! Hopefully 1.75 units is the sweet spot for a while as long as she keeps eating. :nailbiting:

Went to Petsmart, got some Friskies Indoors HC canned food for Ruby's hypo episodes and some Fancy Feast Classic patés for the ladies to try in a variety of flavors. Hope there's one they like!
 
+ 10 is 182. Fascinating how consistently her BGs drop near or below the nadir at this time of day. Looking forward to see if she goes high at PS. Have taken away her food.
 
From SLGS guidelines:
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat.
 
I know you have been struggling to find the right opening dose and I can’t see that you know how your kitty will respond, so... seems like options are:
Skip
Token dose
Or stall, withhold food and retest in 30 mins
 
I know you have been struggling to find the right opening dose and I can’t see that you know how your kitty will respond, so... seems like options are:
Skip
Token dose
Or stall, withhold food and retest in 30 mins

What do you think?

I'm prone to give her a token dose of .5 right now. She might go high again tomorrow morning but hopefully it won't be as high as it was this morning?
 
From SLGS guidelines:
Until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react, we suggest following the guidelines in the FDMB's FAQ Q4.4:
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options:
    • a.) give nothing
    • b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose)
    • c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.
  • In all cases, if you are reducing or eliminating insulin, it's wise to check for ketones in the urine.
  • Above the normal pre-shot value, give the usual dose, but if the pre-shot value is consistently elevated, it's a good idea to schedule a full glucose curve to see whether a change in dose or insulin is appropriate. In most cases, the target "peak" value should not be below 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L), and for some cats it might be higher.
Keep in mind these are general guidelines, and they should be personalized to your own cat's response to insulin. If your experience is that your cat does not became hypoglycemic with a dose which is close to her usual, then personal experience should be your guide.

With experience, you may find that lowering these thresholds may work well for your cat.
Are the numbers above for human meters or pet?
 
I cannot find the pet meter calculator.

I was hoping Sue or Elise would stop by...I don’t usually dose advise.

if you do decide to feed and shoot a token dose, you will still want to get a +1 and +2 to see where kitty is headed.
 
I cannot find the pet meter calculator.

I was hoping Sue or Elise would stop by...I don’t usually dose advise.

if you do decide to feed and shoot a token dose, you will still want to get a +1 and +2 to see where kitty is headed.
I gave her the .4 dose. I feel pretty good about that right now. Would like to see her more stable somehow before I continued with 1.75.
 
She ate a bit and even stole some MC kibble from her sister’s bowl. Now they are chasing each other around the apartment. It’s heartening to see her have some energy! Getting the +2 is going to be rough. She’s been fighting me all day on the testing.
 
There's no calculator that converts pet meter numbers to human meter numbers. The best we know is that a 50 on a human meter ie equivalent to a 68 on a pet meter. As numbers go down, the numbers on the twi meters are more alike. At numbers go up. the AT numbers are much higher than the human meter. All of the dosing methods we use are based on human meters since that's what was available when the dosing methods were developed.
 
She ate a bit and even stole some MC kibble from her sister’s bowl. Now they are chasing each other around the apartment. It’s heartening to see her have some energy! Getting the +2 is going to be rough. She’s been fighting me all day on the testing.
Glad she ate, even if sneaking some contraband :eek:

The +2 is important, even though you shot a reduced dose to see where she will head. Ruby looks to be breaking a bounce and bounce breaking cycles can be quite active with longer momentum.

That opening dose has been hard huh? 2 units was too high. 1.75 is unknown so far, but a bit out of comfort zone...
Maybe @Sienne and Gabby (GA) could advise or provide light on what might be best dose to try and stick to for a bit tomorrow am. :)
 
Glad she ate, even if sneaking some contraband :eek:

The +2 is important, even though you shot a reduced dose to see where she will head. Ruby looks to be breaking a bounce and bounce breaking cycles can be quite active with longer momentum.

That opening dose has been hard huh? 2 units was too high. 1.75 is unknown so far, but a bit out of comfort zone...
Maybe @Sienne and Gabby (GA) could advise or provide light on what might be best dose to try and stick to for a bit tomorrow am. :)
Her +2 is 267. Not exactly where I was hoping she would be. Advice?
 
Back
Top