? 10/19 Regs AMPS 254 +1 291 +1.5 253 +6 306 +10 369 pmps 278 +1 282

Britta and Regs

Member Since 2026
Last post
Last night, Regs gave me another little scare. We increased his dose from 2.5 to 2.75 units on Saturday morning, so we're both still getting used to the new dose 😅

His PMPS was 242, which I was pretty happy with, but by +2 he had already dropped to 169. I got a little nervous about how quickly he was dropping, so I gave him some MC food. That seemed to slow things down. He went to 158 before starting to come back up.

What surprised me was that he didn't immediately bounce like he usually does when he gets down to around 170 or below.

What do you think? Was this just an active cycle, or could we already be seeing the effects of the dose increase? And where's the bounce I was expecting?

At least he had a little food bump this morning!

And here's the little troublemaker chilling before breakfast, happy and refreshed 🥰
8A104244-234A-4997-AEE3-B78C6D419883.png
 
That’s a good thing the dose is taking him into nicer blue numbers. That’s what you’re aiming for is to bring his overall curve down.
It’s good you were able to test him and see what was going on and he certainly had a nice curve last night.
Sometimes it takes Ivy a few doses after an increase to show me some action (and then again sometimes it happens on the first dose).
Safe surfing handsome Regs!
🐈🌊🏄‍♂️💗
 
That’s a good thing the dose is taking him into nicer blue numbers. That’s what you’re aiming for is to bring his overall curve down.
It’s good you were able to test him and see what was going on and he certainly had a nice curve last night.
Sometimes it takes Ivy a few doses after an increase to show me some action (and then again sometimes it happens on the first dose).
Safe surfing handsome Regs!
🐈🌊🏄‍♂️💗
Thanks Staci, the same to sweet Ivy 🥰
I really love the blue numbers and he is so much more active than he is when his glucose is high but I was very shocked how fast he dropped.

I see here kitties dropping all the time around plus 2 or 3 but Regs normally drops later.

And even this morning at +1.5 he is at AMPS level and I have to go to work, will check him at +6 and my husband is home, belt he refuse to test, so I told him to monitor at least🤣 plus I have food in the feeder just in case.

I think it sounds more like a me issue, that I get my fear under control and not panic feed him as soon as he is in the mid 100s ( not sure how many time I am writing exactly this sentence🤣 )
 
Thanks Staci, the same to sweet Ivy 🥰
I really love the blue numbers and he is so much more active than he is when his glucose is high but I was very shocked how fast he dropped.

I see here kitties dropping all the time around plus 2 or 3 but Regs normally drops later.

And even this morning at +1.5 he is at AMPS level and I have to go to work, will check him at +6 and my husband is home, belt he refuse to test, so I told him to monitor at least🤣 plus I have food in the feeder just in case.

I think it sounds more like a me issue, that I get my fear under control and not panic feed him as soon as he is in the mid 100s ( not sure how many time I am writing exactly this sentence🤣 )
Totally normal to feel as you do Britta!
It takes time and learning and still nail biting 🥰

My husband doesn’t test or do any of the things either, so I feel your pain.

But it’s good you have food in the feeder to help him if he needs to eat! 👍💕
 
I get my fear under control and not panic feed him as soon as he is in the mid 100s
Or feed slightly higher LC. Sort of wean yourself off the idea of feeding MC. :) You do want to slow down a fast drop, but you don't want to stop the insulin action. Ideally you'd feed before the big drop happens by about 20-30 minutes. That way he has fresh carbs on board before the drop. You did see a drop at +1 last night, so you could have fed LC at +1 or +1.5.
 
Or feed slightly higher LC. Sort of wean yourself off the idea of feeding MC. :) You do want to slow down a fast drop, but you don't want to stop the insulin action. Ideally you'd feed before the big drop happens by about 20-30 minutes. That way he has fresh carbs on board before the drop. You did see a drop at +1 last night, so you could have fed LC at +1 or +1.5.
Do you mean more wet food with 5-10% carbs? I got a good selection since the weekend and I have definitely some that are a touch higher.
Next time Regs drops so early I will try that, thanks so much for the idea. Retrospectively I also wonder how low he would have dropped if I would not have fed him. He stopped at 158 so I hope without he would not have gone too low.

Unfortunately today I think he is slightly bouncing, or maybe it’s the new dose, don’t know
 
Yes, something in the higher LC range. You will have to experiment to see what does the job for Regs. He still had a long way to go to be in the danger zone. Hopefully he'll show you again, when you can monitor, how low this dose is taking him.
That’s so true, I know 150 is not low but it sounded threatening to me and I had no idea when he would stop. My brain always just jumps to what if I can not slow down the drop.
I hope after his bounce he will give me another try, maybe even on a day when I don’t have to work. Even I’m very happy with the first 2 days.
 
Last post
Last night, Regs gave me another little scare. We increased his dose from 2.5 to 2.75 units on Saturday morning, so we're both still getting used to the new dose 😅

His PMPS was 242, which I was pretty happy with, but by +2 he had already dropped to 169. I got a little nervous about how quickly he was dropping, so I gave him some MC food. That seemed to slow things down. He went to 158 before starting to come back up.

What surprised me was that he didn't immediately bounce like he usually does when he gets down to around 170 or below.

What do you think? Was this just an active cycle, or could we already be seeing the effects of the dose increase? And where's the bounce I was expecting?

At least he had a little food bump this morning!

And here's the little troublemaker chilling before breakfast, happy and refreshed 🥰
View attachment 80841
Still *very* new here. But yes, I was thinking it sounded like a positive thing: less bounce and flatter curve.

In other news: Regs has such a beautiful coat. I would be constantly touching his feet 😂 They are super cute:)
 
Still *very* new here. But yes, I was thinking it sounded like a positive thing: less bounce and flatter curve.

In other news: Regs has such a beautiful coat. I would be constantly touching his feet 😂 They are super cute:)
So am I 🤣Regs just got diagnosed in April, and was on vetsulin for the first 3 month. Wow your numbers look amazing already!
I know, less bounce and low numbers are better, but they always make me so jumpy🙈 especially at night

Thank you so much! His coat is so soft and shines and I really love to cuddle it. And his feet have so much fluff between the paws that he sometimes slides away.
 
Back
Top