10/19 Michael amps 310 +2 252 pmps 285 +2 315

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/19 Michael amps 310 +2 252

Looks like the pink isn't hanging around too long. Hey, Michael. Slowly down and surf. That's a good boy.

Marilyn and Polly
 
It's me again totally :?
I try to read and understand the SS but it is way to complicated. When I think I understand how the pattern is going, it changes grr_red (back in the pink pmps +2 315)
I'm at a point where i don't know how much to feed him. I f I leave too much food his #'s rise, if I don't leave enough food, he gets very hungry. I just don't know what to do anymore. Adjusting doses doesn't seem to work and this testing all the time is hurting his ears. Michael doesn't want me to test. I put neosporin w/pain relief on them. All I'm trying to do is keep him safe and by doing so his ears are very sore. With his patterns changing constantly, It is almost impossible to become data ready.
I'm in a panic, I don't want to lose him. I love him very much and he is literally all I have. I feel like I have failed in this quest. I suppose all I can do is keep doing what I'm doing and hope fore the best. All I do is poke him and give him shots. I know I need patience but I feel like this Diabetes journey is going nowhere.
I am always asking questions and nothing seems to sink in. I want Michael in Healthy #'s(blues & greens.not yellow & Pinks) I do not want him to wither away to nothing. Right now he is fine.
But what about later on :?:
Really discouraged. Crying as I'm writing this.
Paula :cry:
 
((((paula)))

It's not easy having a diabetic cat. There's nothing easy about it, especially when you're early on in the "dance" like you and Michael are.

I'd encourage you to keep your eyes on how Michael is feeling and acting. He is more than his blood sugar! That's why we ask for a report on the 5 P's every day - how he feels is very, very important. You said he's doing fine tonight. There's no reason to think he can't continue doing fine for a long time. When I look at his spreadsheet, i'm seeing green nadirs most days recently. That's FANTASTIC! The occasional high day is far less important than the overall look.

Right now, you've got him at a dose that is doing pretty well. Yes, the thing to do is to just keep on plugging.

I wonder if you're using enough neosporin. If i recall correctly, the directions say to "slather" it on. That's what I did with punkin every night and by morning his ear was healed. Try putting it on more generously when you have finished your last test for the evening and it can stay on for overnight. Then wipe most of it off before you test him the first time in the next morning.

Your testing protects him and keeps him safe. There isn't another way to do that - you just have to do it and Michael has to accept it. Always give him a treat when you've poked him to soothe his hurt feelings.

As far as food - he should be eating the same amount of food every day. Don't try to control his blood sugar by restricting his food. The goal is to give him enough food to keep his weight stable if he is at a good weight.

Punkin weighed about 13lbs and I gave him 1 can of fancy feast with each shot and 1/2 can of ff at +3 every day. So he got 3 cans of FF every day. I didn't change that, except when I gave him additional food for low numbers. If he was hungry beyond his regular food, I gave him small amounts of boiled chicken breast. That's all protein and no carbs, so it shouldn't affect his blood sugar.

One foot in front of the other gets you where you're going. :YMHUG:
 
(((Paula))) Having a diabetic cat is hard and having a bouncy diabetic cat is even harder. :YMHUG: I know, I've got one too. Michael is doing well by the numbers. As Julie says, he's getting nice nadirs. Michael seems to have done well with the last decrease. He just likes to bounce. Some cats are like that. There isn't anything we can do but wait for their livers to get used to the lower numbers. The good news is that Michael isn't bouncing for too long. When Neko bounces, I just sigh and go do something for myself, go out and get some exercise, or like tonight I'll get to bed early.
 
((((Paula))))

FWIW, spreadsheets are not easy to decipher. To make it even more complicated, our kitties refuse to read the TR Protocol and do what it says they're supposed to do. In other words, you're doing fine. Michael, on the other hand, is being a cat and doing his job of keeping you confused. As long as Gabby's been diagnosed, she can still surprise me.

The pink at +2 last night really wasn't a surprise. Michael usually visits the pinks after a visit to the greens and he was in the green zone the previous day.

Regarding Michael's ears, what gauge lancet are you using? Usually, we encourage people to use a thicker lancet (e.g., a 28 gauge) when they first start out because it can be hard to get a cat's ear to bleed initially. Now that Michael's ears bleed more easily, if you've not already done so, you might want to switch to a thinner lancet -- a 30 or 31 gauge. The thinner lancet may be easier on his ears.
 
Thanks for the replies & encourgement.
All of you are awesome and so dedicated in helping all of us. I know this is not an easy job.
Kudos to all of you :!:
Paula :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top