10/19 Max AMPS 425 PMPS 137

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-18-max-amps-444-pmps-523-2-435-4-460.269773/#post-3009478

I increased Max back to 5.5 units. Too many times, he gets a reduction and can’t hold it. Things go from bad to worse the higher he goes (pancreatitis, constipation, dehydration).

I gave Max a very small temporary reduction of 5 units the night prior and the day I was gone and not able to monitor, then went back to his 5.25 units.

The temporary reduction is not a good idea for him going forward so I am going to have to come up with another plan when I’m away visiting family. It takes him too long to adjust after that, plus he had just earned that reduction to 5.25 units in which the depot was still influencing.

I don’t think 5.25 units was going to stick even though I only held 5 cycles. I don’t believe he has any SRT related action going on. He bounces so much that it’s hard to tell. He does best on 5.5 units from recent history so that’s where I think he needs to stay unless he drops more than once. I’ve thought about it before, but I think that I will give him two chances before I reduce him again. I am good about monitoring and will be home today. He is consistent with the time he eats and what he eats, unless I am away from home. All LC, no dry ever.
I’ve said it many times, but I continue to try so hard with Max, but he is not easy to manage at all with his diabetes. I am so happy to see other cats progress that I follow here and how their caregivers are doing such a great job with them. I truly am. I have been a caregiver in one way or another for most of my life and I feel like a complete failure with Max. I know it’s not all about his numbers, but these high numbers really take a toll on how he feels. He doesn’t deserve that. He’s always been the sweetest cat. I have no choice other than keep trying until there’s nothing else to try. He only has me.
 
Last edited:
Yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-18-max-amps-444-pmps-523-2-435-4-460.269773/#post-3009478

I increased Max back to 5.5 units. Too many times, he gets a reduction and can’t hold it. Things go from bad to worse the higher he goes (pancreatitis, constipation, dehydration).

I gave Max a very small temporary reduction of 5 units the night prior and the day I was gone and not able to monitor, then went back to his 5.25 units.

The temporary reduction is not a good idea for him going forward so I am going to have to come up with another plan when I’m away visiting family. It takes him too long to adjust after that, plus he had just earned that reduction to 5.25 units in which the depot was still influencing.

I don’t think 5.25 units was going to stick even though I only held 5 cycles. I don’t believe he has any SRT related action going on. He bounces so much that it’s hard to tell. He does best on 5.5 units from recent history so that’s where I think he needs to stay unless he drops more than once. I’ve thought about it before, but I think that I will give him two chances before I reduce him again. I am good about monitoring and will be home today. He is consistent with the time he eats and what he eats, unless I am away from home. All LC, no dry ever.
I continue to try so hard with Max, but he is not easy to manage at all with his diabetes. I am so happy to see other cats progress that I follow here and how their caregivers are doing such a great job with them. I truly am. I have been a caregiver in one way or another for most of my life and I feel like a complete failure with Max. I know it’s not all about his numbers, but these high numbers really take a toll on how he feels. He doesn’t deserve that. He’s always been the sweetest cat. I have no choice other than keep trying until there’s nothing else to try. He only has me.
Max is lucky to have you. Feline Diabetes sucks and it is not fair, thank goodness he has a human who is trying so hard to help him. All the ups and downs are are tiring, I know. You are doing a great job!
 
Max is lucky to have you. Feline Diabetes sucks and it is not fair, thank goodness he has a human who is trying so hard to help him. All the ups and downs are are tiring, I know. You are doing a great job!

Thanks Amy. You are always so kind, but these ups and downs with him make me feel so helpless. I love all animals ….sometimes I think more than most humans these days with the cruel way this world is now. I’m just in a funk today. It’s bad. Sorry.:bighug:
 
I’m just in a funk today. It’s bad. Sorry.
Ditto Sister! We've been doing this dance for 10months now and we're still bouncing and diving with no rhyme or reason. Every time Cleo is high, I feel low. I get it.
It's much more difficult and therefore more emotional for you, having to factor in his other conditions. I have no words of wisdom, no advice to offer, but I do give you all my support.
 
Ditto Sister! We've been doing this dance for 10months now and we're still bouncing and diving with no rhyme or reason. Every time Cleo is high, I feel low. I get it.
It's much more difficult and therefore more emotional for you, having to factor in his other conditions. I have no words of wisdom, no advice to offer, but I do give you all my support.

Angela, your support means a lot to me. I follow Cleo’s progress too and you haven’t been at this even a year yet, but you absolutely do a great job with her. You are a great support person for a lot of people here and I can see that you will be a very valuable mentor to others here with what you’ve learned. I can see even more of that coming from you. You and Amy both are great, and I appreciate it.

I have all kinds of emotions with this lately. Sometimes, like now, it’s pure hell, and other times I think well maybe we are getting to some sort of “normal, typical type”management, over and over. I’m so tired of it. I’ve lost friends because of this. I was supposed to be living it up when I took early retirement and instead I am burned out. I’ve been going out, doing things for myself (and others) and all I feel when I get back home is “here I am again, back at it.” Unbelievably the most frustrating thing I ever encountered. It’s not fair. I know it’s not all about me and I don’t like how I sound putting all of these words out here like I do. I just seem to be affected so much about Max’s well-being that I’ve had a lot of unhappy days over the last year and a half. No yoga, manicure, or vacation is gonna fix me because I always come back to it. I don’t know how much longer I can do it. Thanks stopping by every day and for listening…and everything you do.:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last edited:
I know how frustrated and worried you are. He’s complicated like my Max was but I didn’t have ACRO and IAA. Feel free to vent here all you want and don’t feel guilty about it. We understand how you feel. I wish we could fix them all. If love, dedication, and prayers could do it these cats would all be otj and healthy.
 
I know how frustrated and worried you are. He’s complicated like my Max was but I didn’t have ACRO and IAA. Feel free to vent here all you want and don’t feel guilty about it. We understand how you feel. I wish we could fix them all. If love, dedication, and prayers could do it these cats would all be otj and healthy.

Thank you Elise. You’ve been a tremendous help to us. I know everyone here cares. I’m not seeking pity from anyone but I always appreciate the love, dedication and prayers from you guys here. I don’t expect Max to be otj at any point. I only want some type of stability and direction in helping Max and he makes that very difficult. He can’t help it, but he does. I guess that’s why I vent here so much, because everyone has their own story and understands. I don’t know anyone here in my life that can. Thank you so much.:bighug:
 
I hope you can keep an close eye on Max for the next few days. You've increased him back to a dose that took him to the 40's. I read on your spreadsheet that he's been constipated, but no longer. Constipation can also raise the numbers, solving it can lower them. Plus he was getting legitimate greens on the 5.25 unit dose. His whopper of a bounce was due to the fast drop on 10/16 PM cycle. I always found bounces from fast drops worse than low numbers bounces.

I also respected numbers below 50 with an acro who has undergone treatment, SRT in your case, and in my Neko's. In such cases, those cats don't really fail reductions the same way as type 2 diabetic cats whose pancreas can get tired.

When you visit family, is there anyway you can take Max with you?
 
Back
Top