? 10/19 Mačka AMPS 365, +4 342, PMPS 338, +4 228, +5 189 (dose increase at PM)

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-18-macka-amps-430-fasting-higher-bg.220614/

Alright, I guess I need to increase tonight?

Macka has a little wound on his forehead... last time he had one, it ended up in a dramatic abscess, very high numbers, lack of appetite, lethargy etc etc.... This one looks fresh, so I hope I am catching it in time. I brushed it with some Betadine. He's grumpy and limbs are a little shaky. I can't believe it brings him that much pain?
 
Poor Macka! What is causing the wounds?

Yes, an increase is in order. Have you considered switching him to TR so that you can increase more frequent and get him out of these numbers?
 
Poor Macka! What is causing the wounds?

Yes, an increase is in order. Have you considered switching him to TR so that you can increase more frequent and get him out of these numbers?
We have another cat and they do not get along. We try to keep them separated but not always :( it’s a difficult situation.

i was following TR for a while but it was very stressful for me. Right now I guess I’d like to go back to it but I work again and I just can’t leave him alone all day with TR. I am still terrified of an hypo episode. Also, is he ever going to go into good numbers? He had 2 good days 15 days ago, and that was it :/
 
Also, is he ever going to go into good numbers? He had 2 good days 15 days ago, and that was it :/

That's the funny thing about this business...what works at one time, may not work at the next. That's why we're constantly changing the dose.. Up/down, up/down. You may find that he'll get there with an increase he may show you some better numbers...he certainly needs a nudge...no danger of a hypo with those reds and pinks...he'll have to work his way through the yellows and then the blues...to get to the greens...and low greens would be where you may want to give him high carb foods to help him steer away from those lower numbers. Try not to panic...we want him to be in the greens :)
 
We have another cat and they do not get along. We try to keep them separated but not always :( it’s a difficult situation.

i was following TR for a while but it was very stressful for me. Right now I guess I’d like to go back to it but I work again and I just can’t leave him alone all day with TR. I am still terrified of an hypo episode. Also, is he ever going to go into good numbers? He had 2 good days 15 days ago, and that was it :/
I had good luck helping my cats get along by following some of Jackson Galaxy’s tips on his website. I added litter boxes and bought more cat beds. Feliway has helped, too. Whenever there was hissing or chasing, I broke out the treats and gave everybody treats until it changed the mood. That’s supposed to cause them to associate the new cat with something positive. I hope your kitties grow to tolerate each other at least!
 
I had good luck helping my cats get along by following some of Jackson Galaxy’s tips on his website. I added litter boxes and bought more cat beds. Feliway has helped, too. Whenever there was hissing or chasing, I broke out the treats and gave everybody treats until it changed the mood. That’s supposed to cause them to associate the new cat with something positive. I hope your kitties grow to tolerate each other at least!
Great advice! Where there is stress is definitely higher numbers for our sugar cats. I like this advice.
 
I agree with Sue about getting him out of those high numbers. There is a lot of wiggle room before he is in dangerous lower numbers.

I worry because sometimes he goes from reds to blue/greens in a single cycle, so if I increase, I fear it's the whole curve that will shift, not just lower the high numbers...
 
He barfed his food and ate it all up again while I was out for 30 minutes... he’s being a little weird. I hope it’s not the increase. Or an episode of pancreatitis again...
 
Did he puke right after eating? Ming does that. I actually see him about to barf AS he's eating and I take his food away. Then he goes and barfs. And then I wait 15 minutes and give him food again lol!!!

How is Macka being weird btw?
 
Did he puke right after eating? Ming does that. I actually see him about to barf AS he's eating and I take his food away. Then he goes and barfs. And then I wait 15 minutes and give him food again lol!!!

How is Macka being weird btw?
He never barfs, but did tonight. He’s just off, maybe since this morning. I just can tell when he’s not feeling well. Eyes are mid closed and not a lot of energy. I’ll keep a close look on him tonight!

edit: yes, a few minutes after eating because I fed him, left for 30 minutes, and found a puke stain on the rug when I came back. So he ate it all again, yuck.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Oh no :( I hope he's okay. Hopefully he's just feeling bad from puking. I'm an advocate for keeping a stock of supportive meds for cats that have chronic illnesses. It might be a conversation to have with your vet about keeping meds like pain and anti-nausea meds in your cabinet just to keep Macka comfortable.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Oh no :( I hope he's okay. Hopefully he's just feeling bad from puking. I'm an advocate for keeping a stock of supportive meds for cats that have chronic illnesses. It might be a conversation to have with your vet about keeping meds like pain and anti-nausea meds in your cabinet just to keep Macka comfortable.
I have cerenia, bupe, ondansetron, mirtz! I am not sure that he needs anything right now. I gave him a tiki cat stix and he gulped it down. But I am prepared :) thank you!!!
 
Jackson is now 4.25 units and just hit 228 on the AlphaTrak tonight! I was so relieved to see him under the renal threshold. He must have noticed me googling acromegaly. Thanks for telling us about Bubba. I feel like my cat has the highest dose in the board, sometimes!
Jackson and Macka are soul buddies!! Maybe they should meet! (I googled Acromegaly too today lol)
 
Back
Top