10/19 KT AMPS 290 +2.5-210 +6.5-224 Ut oh..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Squeaky and KT (GA)

Member Since 2011
Good morning LantusLand! Yesterday's yellows

AMPS - 290

I'm fairly certain he took a dive last night - was headed that way when I went to bed but left out food and I now know he feeds any lows. He's back up there this morning but his hair says it's another bounce. I can't seem to get him to quit bouncing right now.

If you have an extra minute today, please send up a prayer for our little elderly ShihTzu, Lacey. She's got CHF and I think it's about that awful time. I'm taking her to the vet this morning but don't think we can do anything more, just love her like we do until the end. Hubby doesn't handle this well at all - it increases his stress tremendously which increases his paralysis attacks tremendously too. SO, add him to the prayer that he'll handle this one more calmly. Lacey's been 'Daddy's Girl' ever since we rescued her 8 years ago.

Hugs,
 
Re: 10/19 KT AMPS 290

Lyresa,

Prayers and hugs for you, DH and Lacey. It's always so hard, but they bring us such unconditional love, we're always ready to sign up for it all over again. I'll keep your family in my heart today.
 
Re: 10/19 KT AMPS 290

We're back from the vet with Lacey - the right side of her heart is not working hardly at all anymore, the left is trying to do it all. Her blood pressure was very high, we're starting her on blood pressure meds to try to take some of the pressure off. It's causing heavy phlegm and bad pressure on one of her eyes. The eye itself likely has no sight but we've known that for quite some time. She also scratched the bad eye sometime and now has an ulcer from it. I've been doctoring that for several days. They did check again for heart worm (which we knew was negative) but didn't charge us for anything other than an office visit of $10 and her 30 days of meds for $15.

I haven't checked KT's BG since I got back - I doubt it's a lot lower than the initial 290. I'll check that shortly....
 
sending lots of prayers and healing vines and white light to your lil Lacey ((((((hugs)))) to you all
275bfbe84d9a09be7b99c6f0fcea18f1.gif
 
Lyresa: sending you many prayers and healing vines for Lacey. I hope her days are filled with comfort, light, and love....she has the best beans possible.

I looked at KT's SS for you as requested. Kitties bounce for several reasons:
1. they dive too fast from AMPS; KT doesn't seem to do this too much but anything over 50 mg/dl is starting to get a little fast
2. the BG gets low and the liver isn't used to it so it releases counterregulatory hormones and glucagon to keep the body what it deems as "safe". What is "low"? It's any BG that is lower than what KT has gotten used to. In most cases, it's numbers which are in the healing range (below 200 and more commonly below 100).
3. IMHO....I think the carbs we use to bring them up from low numbers can add to the bounce....but that's just me observing Gracie; ECID

None of us can predict when our kitties will decide to pass liver training school and quit bouncing. There are many who have been on insulin a while and still do it: JD, Putty, Gabby, Mannie, Tess, and Gracie just to name a few. Although I have to say that for Gracie, since I switched her to levemir, she has stopped those dives, become flatter, doesn't get quite as low and need as many carbs to come up, and thus her bounces have not been quite so dramatic as they were on lantus. You can look at her SS and see her lantus data and her lev data and see the difference. Basically, kitties bounce until they don't. A GREAT SS to look at is Mocha's. She was bouncing up until about three weeks before she went OTJ. She was on insulin 22 mos. And then she just (as Libby puts it) "snapped".

I know you have exceptional circumstances and really need your rest, but without knowing what he's doing at night and how low he is getting, it's hard to know if he's getting low which is causing the bounces. Jill and LIbby are great at looking at "invisible" numbers....those are the numbers that might have occurred in between tests. They've looked at thousands of SSs. I do not have that ability.

Just a note or two: KT got low on the pm cycle of 10/7 and you had to reduce him (good!) to 2u but then you took him down to sk2u and I don't see where he earned that reduction....a "57" doesn't qualify for a reduction. I do see your comment that he doesn't feel well below 100. That's because he isn't used to being there for very long. The goal is to have his dose high enough that he sees those lower numbers (above 50) often enough that he gets used to them. Most of us have remarked from time to time that our kitties seem to feel better at the higher numbers. But once they get down to the lower ones and spend more time there, they feel well, too. KT has just gotten used to being higher so it will be an adjustment.

IMHO, I'd take him back up to 2u tonight. He did get into green on the am cycle of 10/16. Today's am cycle was the sixth bounce cycle so I would increase him. But increasing him means you might have to do more night testing and I know that is really hard since you have to take care of DH, too.

I hope that helps. Many hugs, Lyresa.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top