10/19 Kona AMPS +0.75 90, [bunch of low tests in between] +8 109 +10 230, PMPS 299, +2 213

Tested 123 at 7:08am
Tested 115 at 7:38am
No food yet.

So, the end of her cycle and she dropped from 123 to 115?

Question: is that normal? A drop at the very end, I'd expect her to raise.

I think I'll test again at 8am. Then probably proceed with feeding her, then shooting her full dose 1.25, which will probably be around 8:30am after she is done eating.

I'm working from home today, thank goodness. So I'll test her every two hours if she gets low.

Uggg... two days of stalling and shifting an hour later for everything is messing up my work scheduled. I need to get back an hour as I was.

Any answers/tips appreciated. Thanks!!!
 
Last edited:
if you can monitor, you want to feed and shoot the full dose. You've shot a similar level yesterday and saw a lovely blue cycle.
123 and 115 are pretty much the same number given meter variance. Sometimes, numbers can drop without food when stalling - making the shooting decision even more difficult. So If you can monitor, feed and shoot! :-)
 
If dropping after stalling means it likely will happen again. Since you are home you can shoot an and get valuable information IF you have plenty of test strips and can monitor. I won’t be around to help you though.
 
Congrats on shooting your first green! Here's your BOS award!
balls_of_steel.jpg


Since this is the lowest you have shot, you want to get a +1 and +2. Feed a tsp of food after each test.

What do you have in higher carbs besides the RC dry? Anything in wet food? Although you can always add a little honey/karo to food to increase the carb%
 

Attachments

  • balls_of_steel.jpg
    balls_of_steel.jpg
    24.3 KB · Views: 247
Finished eating her meal at 08:43am, shot normal dose at 08:45am.
Oh and you don't need to wait for her to finish eating to shoot. Some people shoot when the cat is eating. With in-and-out insulins like Caninsulin/Vetsulin you wait 30 mins after food because they are fast-acting insulins and you want to make sure that there is food on board before giving insulin. With long-acting insulins like Glargine, you have time till onset to get food into the cat.

Btw, you can move back to your original shot time by 15 mins per cycle. So if you shot at 8:45am this morning, you can shoot at 8:30pm tonight, 8:15am tomo morning, 8:00pm tomo evening and so on till you get to your original shot time.
 
Congrats on the reduction. His new dose starting tonight is 1..0. If he drops under 50 you need to add a little honey or Karo. I would test again in 30-60 minutes.
 
You might want to give some higher carb food (or some food with a little honey in it). It's not yet onset and she is lower after food. Test again at +2?

Congrats on the reduction!
 
@tiffmaxee Understood, moving to 1.0 for PM. Keeping close eye today for drops to 50 or under. Will add honey as needed.

@Bandit's Mom - Yes, I'll give the higher carb Wervua Truluxe food, Mediterranean Harvest (around 15%) for the teaspoon snack after I test.

Testing again 1 hour from last test, which puts me at 11am. Be back in about 30min with update.
 
I am not home. Feed and test every 30 minutes. Add honey until over 50. Then feed regular food and test in 20-30 minutes. You need to keep this up until staying over 50 without the need if ur honey for 2 hours. Once in 60’s you can go an hour.
 
Tested 72 at 1:43pm *wipes more sweat off forehead*

@Angela & Cleo @Bandit's Mom

Note: called Vet after the 40 reading to let them know what's going on. Doctor on-call said to watch her behaviors closely. I told them/asked them if I could drop to 1U tonight, agreed that's fine.

Check-up appointment on Friday of next week.
 
@Angela & Cleo you're the best, thanks so much for being here and spending the time.

Kona appears fine throughout the day. Eating fine, walking around fine. I want to say about an hour or so, I noticed a small stumble when she jumped onto the windowsill, but other than that, fine.

It's just the numbers that are scary to me at this point.

I'm doing fine, trying to remain calm, read guidance, listen to you all, and just take it one step at a time.
 
Well you're NOT alone, in any of it. My Cleo loves to give me a 3-4 hour lime streak. Ive always wondered what the EKG machine would read on me when that happens :rolleyes::nailbiting:.
You are doing GREAT!
Should be about time for another test in a few minutes?
 
Great job handling the numbers today! I had Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup in the cupboard if I needed really high carb (21%). Some of the Cats in the Kitchen pouches were good for smaller quantities of medium or slightly lower high carb food.
 
Great job handling the numbers today! I had Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup in the cupboard if I needed really high carb (21%). Some of the Cats in the Kitchen pouches were good for smaller quantities of medium or slightly lower high carb food.

Thanks so much!

Yes, I need higher carb foods on-hand for events like today. The highest I have is 15%, which mind you, after looking at food charts I'm finding out is the same as her normal food. :facepalm:

I'll check out the Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup, that looks like a good option. Thanks for the tip!
 
I think you're good for now and can give her a break for a bit. How about another test in about an hour?

Yes, I think that's warranted. She deserves it... she got poked sooo many times today. I think we're out of the hypo clear now, but YES, I'll test in an hour.


What an incredible response to removing the dry food!!

No doubt, but wait... the bag says "food formulated to help support healthy post-prandial blood glucose levels" "Helps minimize glucose fluctuations with a combination of prebiotics and both soluble and insoluble"
Source: https://www.royalcanin.com/us/cats/products/vet-products/glycobalance-3906


I'd love to see more data on how those claims are true....
 
Back
Top