10/19 Klinger AMPS 399; PMPS 363

Status
Not open for further replies.
marcy i'm sure you'll just love this idea.. :lol: ...ever think about shooting TID? i see that you sometimes or often work 12 hour days but is it possible to have klinger get a shot every 8 hours? this would keep him out of the reds, maybe even pinks, and shooting a lower dose.
just another idea to drive you... @-) yet it still would be a nice idea.
 
Lori,
It was Hope most recently that had success at TID right?

Marcy,
I would not hesitate to PM Hope [or others with experience with it - which I'm sure we can point you to] and ask her to help you along [or to take a look at your sitch] if you think TID could work [for you].
 
Hi guys,
Unless her schedule has changed, TID would not be an option.

Argh! Not sure if the 3.4 was too little last night or if he ate before I woke up and picked up his plate - had very little food on it
.

Here are the thoughts I had on this :
-numbers near 500 always make me question a bounce, so looking back at other times you shot 3.4 and got mid cycle data, I see that in the past it did NOT create a sharp drop. Looking at the doses before and after that day (10/9 maybe?) dont really support a bounce idea. on the flip side he was coming down nicely yesterday , and maybe his liver got nervous.

-the plate was "cleanish" this morning. OK so we can likely assume food affected this number, but holy cow, 490? If thats what food does, he needs more insulin.... 490 is just not a safe number, even if he just ate birthday cake... BTW what are you feeding? pretty sure its not birthday cake :lol: but my old brain can't remember what he gets? Maybe we need to shoot for an even lower carb option. Oh I remember FF right?, Would you consider trying a different food for a few days. Maybe Friskies Ocean Whitefish Special Diet or the turkey special diet, which I think are in the 4% carb range. Another option I used to do is to mix in homemade chicken breast mush. I bought it on sale in bulk, gently boiled a bunch of breasts, pureed them in the food processor, froze sections in an ice cube tray or mini muffin pan, froze and added to his canned food to increase the lean protein.

- I think you need to increase the scale, but I know you are hoping for a "dental" improvement this week. Is his procedure Fri or Sat? we'll all be sending "positive healing/keep Klinger SAFE" thoughts that day. No need to be nervous, mom, we got you covered!
 
Unfortunately, TID won't work for me. I checked out her ss thou -
Nancy I bumped him up tonight 10/20 PMPS 371 - 3.5 u's.
I always give him a piece of cake for dessert. Doesn't everyone? :lol: Just kidding of course! I do feed him the fancy feast classic - chicken, beef, and oceanfish.
I'll pick up something else on Friday for him to try.
His dental is on Saturday. I left a message for the Vet today (she works Wed - Sat) about having them do the blood work for the other two tests. I haven't heard back from her yet.
I'll keep you posted when I hear from her. To answer a previous post - about freezing the samples - I really should have just asked if it's ok to use the samples that will be taken on Saturday and have them ship on Monday?
 
Make sure to ask the University - not the vet! Even then I've found the University lab's advice to be not optimal [Texas A&M for instance]. IMHO, I try to program significant labs for success and giving the absolute BEST chance at getting accurate results as inaccurate results [positive or negative] can be a really bad thing.
 
Marcy,
Be prepared, she is likely to tell you you are crazy and wasting your money. And she might be right, but for me it was a relief to finally know that I wasn't a failure for not being able to get Cody regulated. I was chasing invisible fluctuating hormones, and it had little to do with normal diabetic considerations, and my goal was not to go OTJ, but to keep him happy, and without pain.

It is worth the piece of mind, and it helps you know how to proceed.

Most of us were told we were wasting our money, you'll be in good company :lol:

I think most vets are hesitant because they have never ordered the test, and don't know the procedure. ( It was considered to be rare, but more recent studies have hinted that as many as 30% of diabetic cats could be acromegalic). I think if you give her the info sheet, and let her do the research without embarrassing her by putting her on the spot, you might have the best cooperation.
 
Here is the contact info if you want to call them yourself for anything. I called for something and they were very nice.

Diagnostic Center for Population and Animal Health • 4125 Beaumont Road, Lansing, MI 48910-8104 • 517-353-1683
 
Thanks for the phone number, Nancy. I called and the person I spoke with said that the IAA sample needs to be refrigerated or frozen. The IGF-1 sample does need to be, but it can be refrigerated.
Thanks all!
Marcy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top