10/19 GARCÍA AMPS 95 +12 58 PMPS 65

Pattheteacher25

Member Since 2025
Hello everyone . Sorry for not having posted but my Godfather had to go on emergency surgery and he is not doing well so I have been dealing emotionally with that and supporting my family .
Great news about Garcia! The endocrinologist Dr Garcia saw him last Wednesday. He found him in a great shape. Ideal weight , great muscles , alert and he said that apart from his diabetes numbers his lab tests are good. He suggested me some changes in his routine and the places I was giving him his shots . He asked for new labs to see if the Cushing syndrome has anything to do . But his numbers have been improving . He told me the diet was perfect and he sent his vet an email explaining everything. This week we are taking him to the vet for some labs and then a kidneys ecograph.
@Wendy&Neko @Christie & Maverick @Marje and Gracie
Thanks for being there .
 
Hi Patricia, I’m sorry about your Godfather, hoping he gets well soon :bighug:. Did the vet happen to have any comments at all about the high phosphorus from your previous labs? Garcia has been having some nice cycles, and it’s always a relief to have good vet visits.
 
Hi Christie . Yes he said he is not keen on giving him medication as it could interfere with his metabolism . He told me to wait until next lab results .
 
Hi Patricia

I’m truly sorry about your Godfather and am assuming that is why you couldn’t get tests for the three days where there is little data. I’m glad you got the preshots at least.
I hope your Godfather is on the mend.

Do you have any tests for Garcia yet today? I am thrilled to see his BG has been doing so well lately. I know life throws us curves and some times testing is not possible but just keep in mind that at 7u bid, he’s on a pretty big dose. If he were to drop into really low numbers, that could go on for several cycles so if you have to be away and won’t be able to test, please be sure to leave some higher carb food down for him as long as he’s running in these lower numbers. I know you don’t want to undo all the hard work but it’s safer at this large dose.

I hope his liver has decided to flip that switch that means he’s getting used to lower BGs and he safely earns some reductions.
 
Your first post on this thread was 26 minutes ago, but it's now two hours after normal shot time? If you shoot now, you would have to do your next shot 12 hours after that. Can your schedule work with a two hour delay in shot time tomorrow morning?

Ok, now that that is out of the way, I have more to say. I wanted to follow up to see if there had been any updates while I was away a couple days, and the latest I could see was your previous post here: Link to Garcia's previous post. I do see another post for today too. We ask that people just start one post per day, otherwise people either miss some of the context and/or you get two conversations going on independently.

Did the endocrinologist say why he though Cushings might be a possibility? Is he going to get the acro and IAA tests done too?
 
Sorry for the 2 posts , I wasn’t receiving an answer so I supposed I had to post again .
The vet said that perhaps we had been reading it wrongly . Perhaps it’s not the diabetes that caused him to have kidneys problems but the other way round , the kidneys may have a failure and is provoking the diabetes .
The vet asked for an ecograph of kidneys and liver . He also asked for creatinine and proteins values in urine .
 
Can you stay up and test again in a couple hours after the shot? If so, try 6 units.
The vet said that perhaps we had been reading it wrongly . Perhaps it’s not the diabetes that caused him to have kidneys problems but the other way round , the kidneys may have a failure and is provoking the diabetes .
Hmm, never seen kidney failure cause diabetes before. Acromegaly can cause kidney problems. I haven't seen the same with Cushings kitties.
 
Good luck.

For the spreadsheet, put that 65 in the PMPS column and enter it as 65@+14. That let's us know you stalled for two hours. In the +11 cell, you can put 58@+12.
 
I can’t figure out his SS. You have BGs on the pm line for 10/20 but it shouldn’t be 10/20 yet so I don’t know when he got into the 40s which makes a difference.

If he got into the 40s the cycle in which you reduced the dose to 6u, I’d shoot 6u this morning if he’s at a safe number. Without knowing what his AMPS is, it’s hard to tell.

Edited to add: I just saw his AMPS so hope you shot 6u. We need to fix the SS.
 
Hi, perhaps this will help you . I am giving 6 units
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 32
  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 34
Back
Top