10/19 Fistuk AMPS 65...PMPS 83

Fistuk & Shelly

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-18-fistuk-amps-70-pmps-95.282650/#post-3115226

Good morning :rb_icon:

Fistuk been rather flat in the 60's. He's eating really well. But I do think he has poopy problem. I give him now 1/8tsp psyllium. I'm not sure it's helping. Anyone can say how long until I can see if it's helpful?

I've always had concerns about psyllium since I used to use is against diarrhoea, so as a balking. I know it can work both ways for humans and cats. Could it be that for Fistuk it works as a bulking agent and makes him constipated?

Wishing you all a peaceful day :bighug:
 
Both Tanya's CKD website and the Feline Constipation one recommend fibre for constipation, but ECID. The other day, my civvie Budge, was constipated and I gave her a pinch of psyllium husk and she had diarrhea! if you think psyllium is making his constipation worse, try discontinuing it and see.

His numbers are looking good! The 1.25U depot should be out of the picture today.
 
Both Tanya's CKD website and the Feline Constipation one recommend fibre for constipation, but ECID. The other day, my civvie Budge, was constipated and I gave her a pinch of psyllium husk and she had diarrhea! if you think psyllium is making his constipation worse, try discontinuing it and see.

His numbers are looking good! The 1.25U depot should be out of the picture today.
Thanks, Bhooma. So you say it should be helpful quite immediately.

I have stopped it and then started again because he was constipated still. I have increased the dose from 1/16 to 1/8tsp. It's been 4 day now (including today). last night had to give him another 1/2 Microlax and it helped release him. There were two pieces, constipated ones but the colour was very good, not black.

Yes I'm looking forward to seeing what his plans are for the 1u :woot::woot::woot:
 
+3.25 81

I normally give him the other half of BF at around +2/+2.25 but I was on a call so I he had quite a lot to eat at +2.5. perhaps a bit of a bump. I know he's still in great numbers but I'm curious about this cycle since he's been on the lower side od the greens last night and this morning
 
Hi Shelly,
Some people use a bit of plain yogurt (no sugar) that can loosen poopy for cats.
I have one cat that loves yogurt (I had to eat it away from him, or he demands his share:rolleyes:) whereas other three couldn't care less.
So he may or may not like it. Just my 2 cents.

BGs are looking great!
Wishing you a nice and easy day! :bighug:
 
Hi Shelly,
Some people use a bit of plain yogurt (no sugar) that can loosen poopy for cats.
I have one cat that loves yogurt (I had to eat it away from him, or he demands his share:rolleyes:) whereas other three couldn't care less.
So he may or may not like it. Just my 2 cents.

BGs are looking great!
Wishing you a nice and easy day! :bighug:
Hi Kit. Thank you for the suggestion. Fistuk does love yogurt. What he really loves is butter :joyful: I'll give him some and see how it works. I avoided since FD but maybe a tiny bit will be ok :bighug:
 
Back
Top