10/19 Emma PMPS 134 +1.5 220 +3 254 +4.25 249

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristen & Emma (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good evening everyone!

Emma had a little vet visit this afternoon - her FAVORITE place to go! Thankfully she didn't completely freak out and inflict bodily harm on anyone this time :) I spoke with her dr last night about doing a dental and what she thinks might be going on with Emma's numbers. Today they drew some blood and I brought in a urine sample for them to culture (hard to believe, but she actually peed as soon as I plopped her in the box on our way out the door, so I was able to get the sample pretty easily!) The dr is going to call me in a day or two with the results and we'll probably be moving forward with the dental if everything seems to be ok.

She asked me to try a little experiment, and I wanted to see if anyone else has any input. She thinks Emma's numbers aren't all that bad, but I pointed out that her dose is getting raised all the time, and the numbers really aren't coming down all that much. She asked me to reduce her dose by 1 unit for a few days to see if we get the same kind of numbers or if they jump way up. I'm not sure what that would be indicative of, but I told her I'd try it. So, we'll start that tomorrow.

She's a pretty happy kitty overall - her PS numbers look pretty awesome, but those are really close to her nadirs now, so I'm less excited about them than I would have been a month ago. Her numbers will probably still be climbing by the time I go to bed at +4.5 tonight.

Sorry I've been so MIA - life is still pretty hectic. But I'm home tonight and will not be doing any housework, so I'm going to visit some condos!
 
Re: 10/19 Emma AMPS 197 PMPS 134 & a question

Nice numbers today for Emma! Glad things went well with the vet visit. It sounds to me as if your vet is trying to have you do a rebound check. This is from the Tilly Page in the link from the Tight Regulations sticky: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

Be aware that experimental studies in human diabetics over the last 15-20 have rejected the existence of the Somogyi effect (sometimes also called rebound). In cats, no studies have ever been done which properly demonstrate that such a phenomenon exists. Therefore, adjust the dose as described above, focusing on the nadir: don't do so-called rebound checks, as they only lead to unnecessary (and unhealthy!) hyperglycemia.

While following the Protocol, Rebound checks are just not done. I do believe that you will see nicer numbers from Emma after he dental is competed. The inflammation can raise the numbers, so I would suggest you stay with this dose and see where she is after that important dental. Great that you had the blood work done....will look for the results and i hope everything will turn out just fine for Emma! :razz:

You can find that link in the sticky: Tight Regulation Protocol viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
 
Re: 10/19 Emma PMPS 134 +1.5 220 & a question

Pat outlined one possibility. Another thought is that the vet thinks Emma is just on too high of a dose, although I suspect it translates into the same thing that Pat noted. I think you've been carefully raising the dose. I just don't think you're at Emma's dose yet but let's see what some of the others have to say.

I also hate to tell you this but collecting a urine sample out of the carrier is not a sterile sample. It's contaminated. Running a culture and sensitivity on a contaminated sample is a waste of money.
 
Re: 10/19 Emma PMPS 134 +1.5 220 & a question

Good luck with the dental. I expect you will see better numbers once the dental is done.

I am certainly no dose expert, but I too agree with what the others have said about the dose change. Good luck whatever you decide.

Hi Emma!! We have missed you! How you been? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 10/19 Emma PMPS 134 +1.5 220 +3 254

Thanks all. I just bumped up her dose this morning to 5.75 - I won't drop her dose; we'll see how this goes, and what we get from the bloodwork.

Sienne, I do know it's not a sterile sample, but it's not from the carrier. I put her in her litter box and did a free catch with a sterile cup. The only time they've ever been able to take a sample directly from her is when she's been sedated, so this is the best we can do. We've been through this far too many times than I can even count. I take her in, the minute they touch her she pees everywhere. They've tried keeping her and giving her fluids - she does the same thing. So, this is the best we can do. I unseal the cup as she starts to pee, and I'm careful not to touch the edges of the cup.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top