10-19 Booger AMPS 146 +6 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

MartinJA527

Member Since 2014
We've had a nice green and blue day today. I wasn't able to get my question answered yesterday so I'm going to ask it again here:

I do have a question though. I know some people have had success with shooting early. Does anyone have any suggestions about this with Booger to see if we could bring these AMPS down or should I just increase the dose first and try that? And if I should attempt the shoot early thing, how early is considered early in order to do this and what happens at the PM shot? Thanks in advance to anyone experienced with this.

And in Yesterday's News
 
sorry your question got missed yesterday, judy.

I think you have a couple of options.

You could sit on this dose every 12 hours for a little bit longer, and see if she'll settle in and continue to make progress. The past 3 days, you've had 3 green pmps tests in a row - that's a great sign.

The typical pattern of becoming tightly regulated is the nadirs come into green numbers first, then the pmps comes down, last the amps comes into greens.

A second option would be to increase the dose just by a little bit - not more than 0.25u. That will push her numbers down a bit, and you don't need her nadirs to come down - with a pmps of 60 three nights ago, that's pretty obvious. But one techique you could try is to increase that little bit at a time when you are going to be around and give her carbs to prevent her from going below 50. Sometimes even just a couple of days of a little more insulin, while preventing her from going too low, is enough to bring down the higher numbers that are here and there in the spreadsheet.

I think i'd try the second option, if you're around to monitor, and see if that can help her make a little more progress. I'd try that before the shooting early option. What that does is to act as a slight dose increase because you are increasing the overlap from one cycle to the next. People who try that usually shot about +10 or +11 - but looking at Booger's late cycle numbers, I don't think she's high enough at the end of a cycle that I'd feel comfortable doing that. You could check her at pm+10 and see if she's high. Shooting at +10 can really mess with the schedule and be hard on the people - how do you get back to the regular shot time, for example?
 
Ok, Thank you Julie. That was the answer I was needing. I have a kinda messed up schedule this week. Enough that I'm scared to tinker with her dosing with her teetering on the lower ends while I'm gone. So, after Tuesday, I have somewhat of a normal schedule and can increase slightly and monitor. And then, if need be- I can try the shooting early bit the following week on Tuesday (I am off for a week after that) and can work my way back to scheduled time. I will work on getting some +10 tests in the meantime in case I need to go that route if you think it may help (and in case this fails). She seems to be doing better and I worry that she's going to dip too low.. but I do want to bring those PS numbers down if I can so I will wait to increase when I can monitor. Thanks so much for your help!
Jennifer
 
oh aaacckkk - sorry for calling you the wrong name!

She's doing well enough that i don't think it hurts for you to wait til your schedule allows you to tinker with the dose. I think your idea of getting some pm +10 or pm +11 tests in the meantime is a great one. That will let you know if you have room to go that route or not.
 
Oh, don't worry about that! It happens. I just appreciate your help. I'm glad I have a plan to go forth with now. It definitely helps to talk things through with someone else. Hopefully she will cooperate and not do any long standing bouncing. Thanks again!
Jennifer
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top