10/19 Blizzard. Trying TR- question about MC food

Hilary B

Member Since 2021
Hey there,

My 15 year old cat Blizzard and I are trying out the TR method. He's on .05 units of Lantus.
I got some MC and HC wet food. He's been surfing some good numbers but am looking on some guidance on when I should pull out the MC food. I know HC is saved for 2.8 (50) and under but what about MC?

He currently gets a can of FF pate in the morning then half a can at +2 and the other half at +4. Same for evening (total of 4 cans a day as he is a very large cat and has lost alot of weight).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!
 
Here’s your post from yesterday. We link them for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-18-blizzard-amps-88-4-9-shooting-low.254389/#post-2866759
Your title needs to read Blizzard AMPS 110 @+3 59. When in the 50)s waiting until +5 to test is too late. He might very well have gone under 50 before you tested. I would suggest you test hourly if in the 50’s, especially if early in the cycle. With the +2 lower than the AMPS that was your signal that it would be an active cycle. At +2 and a drop in the bg a little higher lc would have been good, maybe 7-9% , especially if you were not going to test for 2 hours or more. The same numbers at +5-6 call for lc and another test in an hour.
 
Ok thanks. How do people do TR when they have to work during the day. I'm currently on maternity leave so am home most of the day but won't be able to test during the day when I go back to work in a few weeks. How do people usually slow feed? Any suggestions on LC food with a 7-9% carb load?
 
Get a auto feeder and get Blizzard used to using it. That way you can set it before you leave for work and at night so you can sleep. Let me get you the link to doing TR with a full time job. Be right back.
 
Back
Top