Stacy & Asia
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-18-asia-amps-194-1-149-3-5-177-9-468-pmps-449.185581/
Paws crossed, this is bounce is clearing. No further vomiting or loose stools, still scooting a bit, hope that clears up. Excited to meet the new vet tomorrow.
Question, we have been feeding Stella & Chewys (frozen raw chicken) for years and never had any issue. The most recent 2 lots have contained black pieces that look like ground up plastic bags, it's not, I called the company. Whatever they sourced before for vit K they had to switch to dandelion greens (that according to them look black because they have oxidized, yuck) and neither of my cats will touch this food right now, they might eat one chunk and then I throw the rest away. The timing of this couldn't be better.
I can't have them not eating, so in the mean time, I've been feeding them the S&C freeze dried raw chicken, still leaving the frozen out too, just to see if they will acclimate. Don't want to keep doing that because I just don't think it's same, and I'm sure the freeze dried lots will end up with the new recipe sometime soon anyway. Looking for brands to switch to, it's a lot of research and I'm super picky about them putting veggies and things in cat food. I'm going to guess changing foods can mess with glucose numbers, regardless if they are similar in protein/fat/carb makeup. So is it best to hold current dose for longer than I normally would until I pick a new food and feed it for a few days/see what it does to the numbers? That's what my gut says to do, but it's not really covered in the protocol, so I figured others may have some experience here.
Paws crossed, this is bounce is clearing. No further vomiting or loose stools, still scooting a bit, hope that clears up. Excited to meet the new vet tomorrow.
Question, we have been feeding Stella & Chewys (frozen raw chicken) for years and never had any issue. The most recent 2 lots have contained black pieces that look like ground up plastic bags, it's not, I called the company. Whatever they sourced before for vit K they had to switch to dandelion greens (that according to them look black because they have oxidized, yuck) and neither of my cats will touch this food right now, they might eat one chunk and then I throw the rest away. The timing of this couldn't be better.
I can't have them not eating, so in the mean time, I've been feeding them the S&C freeze dried raw chicken, still leaving the frozen out too, just to see if they will acclimate. Don't want to keep doing that because I just don't think it's same, and I'm sure the freeze dried lots will end up with the new recipe sometime soon anyway. Looking for brands to switch to, it's a lot of research and I'm super picky about them putting veggies and things in cat food. I'm going to guess changing foods can mess with glucose numbers, regardless if they are similar in protein/fat/carb makeup. So is it best to hold current dose for longer than I normally would until I pick a new food and feed it for a few days/see what it does to the numbers? That's what my gut says to do, but it's not really covered in the protocol, so I figured others may have some experience here.
