10/18 Shylo AMPS 368 +2 286 +6 151 PMPS 116 +2 226

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127100

A little bit bummed to see pink again, but I think that it's probably leftover from yesterday's skipped dose? Hopefully, at least.

Shylo "threw up" again this morning, but it was all the sounds and actions and the only thing that popped back out was a hairball. He then ate breakfast as usual... I didn't even think of that possibility, he used to get treats for them but I had stopped after his surgery so we could get him transitioned to different food. The last time he had a bad hairball (probably a year or more ago actually) he also had been sick like that. Hmm... still planning on scheduling a vet appointment soon just to get him checked out.
 
Re: 10/18 Shylo AMPS 368 +2 286

Hi Emily! You may want to get a + 3 or +4. The drop from amps is significant and probably an indication he will continue to drop. It looks like he did the same thing last night, dropped after the pmps, so my guess is he went low and bounced to that pink amps. I may be wrong, but without any testing numbers to look at, it is only my guess, and what I have experienced with my own cat. Just wondering what your shot times are? are you dosing at 12 hour intervals? Also, what are you feeding and how often. If you note on your spreadsheet what and how much you are feeding, it helps when we are trying to determine what is happening with the numbers, and any obvious patterns. Oh, and Shylo is a beauty! :smile:
 
Re: 10/18 Shylo AMPS 368 +2 286

Hi Laura! I'm actually stuck at work all night but I'll text my roommate to see if he's around and can test for me. I'll get back in here whenever he gets back to me!
 
Re: 10/18 Shylo AMPS 368 +2 286

Ok so I got a hold of my roommate, he was able to get the +6, which tested at 151. I asked him to get the +8 as well since he's home.

To answer some of the earlier questions now that I'm on break and can sit down to reply, I shoot at 11 am and 11 pm every day because of my work schedule! Shylo is on Nature's Variety raw and canned food, he gets about 3 oz at each meal, occasionally closer to 3.5 because of his large size. I'll start noting it on his sheet as far as how much he gets. (:

And don't let him hear you compliment him! It'll feed his already huge ego, hahaha.
 
Re: 10/18 Shylo AMPS 368 +2 286

I just realized that the food info is on the profile :oops: Interesting he is only 8 years old, a little young for FD. I suppose it is related to the surgery he had in some way but I dont have any knowledge of that type of surgery..

Edited to add- you are doing great with the pm testing by the way, always good to see those numbers!
 
Re: 10/18 Shylo AMPS 368 +2 286 +6 151 PMPS 116

Hahaha, that's ok! Not a big deal.

The vet was fairly positive that the stress on his digestive system between the surgery and the initial gallstones is what triggered the diabetes, so I'm still hopeful for him to go into diet-controlled remission. Hopefully! We'll see what happens.

PMPS is only at 116, interesting to see him drop that far considering he was so high this morning.
 
Re: 10/18 Shylo AMPS 368 +2 286 +6 151 PMPS 116

He is clearing the bounce right now, which is good. Seems he might have dropped low overnight, and his liver kicked in and released hormones to get his numbers up..like a built in mechanism.. when they drop too low, the liver panics and floods him with the hormones, thus creating higher numbers. Then you give insulin and it slowly brings his numbers down again. You dont want him going too low, as that triggers the bounce, as well as risking hypo. The good part is he cleared it fast, some cats can take up to 6 cycles(3 days) to clear bounces. If you are feeding now, wait til +2 and test again to see if he is coming up or going down. Testing too soon will be food influenced. I spread out my cats meals to keep her numbers from dropping too fast. I feed 1/2 can at amps, then at+2 I give 1/4 can, and then again at +3 another 1/4 can(3 oz cans). Its easier on the pancreas too. But of course, if shes dropping fast and low, I break out the higher carb food to get her up quick. Hopefully Shylo will surf for you and not drop too low tonight. Paws crossed :smile:
 
Re: 10/18 Shylo AMPS 368 +2 286 +6 151 PMPS 116

Yeah I try to do most of his meal right before we shoot and then a "snack" at +3... work makes it tough sometimes. I'll be up most of the night tonight I think, I plan on getting his +2 and seeing what he's doing from there. c:
 
Re: 10/18 Shylo AMPS 368 +2 286 +6 151 PMPS 116

good plan. when a cat's clearing a bounce they can get some momentum going down. but since he's just gone from +6/151 to pmps/116 - that's only 35 points in 6 hours unless he went lower and was coming up at the pmps. i'm thinking he's just slowed down. he might just surf for you tonight.

a +2 is a good idea.

great job handling things from work today, emily. it's great to have someone else to test when you need it. kudos to your roomie!
 
+2 at 226, looks like a decent bump up there (not sure if food spike still or what). If I'm still up in another two hours I'll get a +4 just to see what he's up to.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top