10/18 Ruby AMPS 391, +6 62, +7 73, +8 73 +10 69 and diarrhea, PMBG 88 Hallelujah!

So her test at 6 p.m. is 69 - so she's still sliding down.

Then the PMPS is at 7 p.m. ? or 8 p.m. (you're on eastern standard daylight savings time, right, same as I am)...It's 7 p.m. here in Michigan now.
 
She said 69 about 50-60 minutes ago I’m guessing.

Sorry, I was looking at the SS...since I haven't been on much today - my boss had the nerve to call early this afternoon and had me working!

So anyway, the issue is whether or not the PMPS will be well above that AND if Ruby is eating or not. Based on what's happening then it may not be a night for shooting....there's always tomorrow morning :)
 
@Sue and Luci @tiffmaxee So if she stays below 200 at her PMPS, I will not give her anything. Correct? And test her every hour or two until I collapse from exhaustion?

I would not advise shooting under 200 tonight - based on her diarrhea, not eating and already low numbers today.

However you may get a pokie break tonight because she's going to bounce from that low number she got today - bounces typically appear within hours of hitting a low number - it's a natural response to a perceived dangerous situation - the liver releases all its stored glycogen in response and so the resulting BG numbers are going to soar.

Lantus will eventually help that to level off...but it takes time...so you may not need to wait until you collapse from exhaustion. You've already had a big day ... but tomorrow will be a new day and you guys can start over in the morning.

It's always hard to predict how the BG numbers will look in the next hour or two - that's why it is strongly recommended to get a PRE-SHOT test. Never ever would I shoot without getting a pre-shot test. Cats have been known to drop over 100 points in an hour - Luci does it routinely. She can drop from the 200's to below 100 in an hour...take a look at her SS...she's a championship diver...and really used to give me a run for my money...that's why I have a pantry-load of gravy style foods - with the carb count written on the bottom of every can - some are 13%, all the way up to 21 or 23% - being prepared for a dive is the easiest way to handle them.

So let's just see where she's at in an hour...but I suspect if she's dropping now, she most likely isn't going to hit that big load of sugar in an hour...but it's coming...maybe just in a little while...or not. They love to keep us guessing about those things :)
 
If you skip I suspect her bg will rise and not come down again so you won’t be up all night. With less than an hour to go that’s is what I suspect will happen. So don’t give any. Keep offering her food.
 
If you skip I suspect her bg will rise and not come down again so you won’t be up all night. With less than an hour to go that’s is what I suspect will happen. So don’t give any. Keep offering her food.
She's lying on the bed now with a plate of her favorite MC kibble and a plate of FF broth. I'm hoping she will go for one. Should I still do a PMPS test, if as you say it probably won't tell us much?
 
Yes, best to hold off on the insulin tonight. When you add the diarrhea to the mix, things are even harder on our kitties. Hopefully she will feel hungry in the morning so you will feel more at ease shooting. Fingers crossed, I also hope the diarrhea goes away. If it lasts for more than 2/3 days though, talk to your vet and get some antibiotics. I had to do that with my Blaze...and the antibiotics helped him big time.
 
Have you tried applying some vaseline/other ointment after testing?
I mistakenly bought the cream, so I put Vaseline on her ears before I prick and then the Neosporin cream after. I think I might be getting better at it, but she still hates it and squirms a lot.
 
Hi! Since you didn’t shoot tonight, you would want to change your title to PMBG rather than PMPS when you have a moment. Others scanning the thread titles may worry if they think insulin was given after your exciting day :)

PMPS (pm preshot) indicates a shot given
PMBG (pm blood glucose) no insulin

I hope the diarrhea improves and appetite returns :bighug:
 
Hi! Since you didn’t shoot tonight, you would want to change your title to PMBG rather than PMPS when you have a moment. Others scanning the thread titles may worry if they think insulin was given after your exciting day :)

PMPS (pm preshot) indicates a shot given
PMBG (pm blood glucose)

I hope the diarrhea improves and appetite returns :bighug:
Oh thank you so much for letting me know! I really am such a newbie. o_O

Thanks everyone again for holding my hand through another roller coaster day! :bighug:
 
Blaze used to squirm too at first, I was not good at it either...But he eventually got used to it. I tried to make it kind of like a ritual...I repeated the same actions, sounds and words and after a while he knew and just waited for me to finish. For me the game changer was buying a head light because I wanted to see better the exact spot to prick on. Little did I know, the turning on and clicking sound of the light, was what trained him to understand it was BG testing time and he would just sit and wait.
 
Blaze used to squirm too at first, I was not good at it either...But he eventually got used to it. I tried to make it kind of like a ritual...I repeated the same actions, sounds and words and after a while he knew and just waited for me to finish. For me the game changer was buying a head light because I wanted to see better the exact spot to prick on. Little did I know, the turning on and clicking sound of the light, was what trained him to understand it was BG testing time and he would just sit and wait.
Tomorrow will be a week since I started the BG testing and I know it might take a few more weeks before she is willing to forgive me for torturing her. :)
 
We were all new once too :bighug:

How did the race go by the way?
It went well! Gorgeous day in NYC, 49 degrees and dry at race time. I didn't break any personal records but I did do 5k in under 30 minutes, which is great considering I didn't really train for a short and fast race. I've been training for a half marathon, so that's been about emphasizing endurance over speed. Considering I only started running two years ago and I'm OLD, I think I'm doing pretty well. Thank you for asking about it!
 
I am 100% convinced that our cats know we are helping them, even though we think we are torturing them. I think (and that is my own "newbie" theory) that they already feel a difference in how they feel as soon as you start giving them that insulin. Cats are intelligent. Ruby is probably starting to realize the extra "attention" she is getting helps her feel better.
 
I am 100% convinced that our cats know we are helping them, even though we think we are torturing them. I think (and that is my own "newbie" theory) that they already feel a difference in how they feel as soon as you start giving them that insulin. Cats are intelligent. Ruby is probably starting to realize the extra "attention" she is getting helps her feel better.
I'm hoping she gets it. She is my heart. :bighug:

I run too!

When did you start running? It's become a bit of an obsession for me.
 
I mistakenly bought the cream, so I put Vaseline on her ears before I prick and then the Neosporin cream after. I think I might be getting better at it, but she still hates it and squirms a lot.
I bet she will get used to it. I think what people have said about the lack of nerve endings in the ear edge must be true. My cat doesn't mind it at all anymore, 2 months after starting regular testing. She actually minds the shot more, since she gets a large dose and the Lantus is acidic and apparently stings at high doses.
 
I started about 6 years ago and I am obsessed too...I bought a treadmill in June. Gyms here are now shut down again so i can continue running at home.

Yes my cats are my babies, my heart, my everything too...:bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top