10/18 Pumbaa AMPS/442 +4/429 +8/301 PMPS/343

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Okay, Pumbaa might have dropped below 200 last night, but YIKES! Look at those nasty numbers this morning!

I'm not liking this at all. *sigh*
 
Re: 10/18 Pumbaa AMPS/442 +4/429 YIKES!!!!!!!

Looks like typical NDW. Hold the dose steady. It should be gone by cycles 5 and 6 of this dose.

With Chip it usually lasts 24 hours, he gets back to yellow or blue in 2 cycles. A bounce may last 72 hours, but looks like NDW since it started 12 hours after the increase. Try not to focus on any one cycle but keep getting spot checks to see when it clears. It may clear with some momentum like a bounce.
 
Re: 10/18 Pumbaa AMPS/442 +4/429 YIKES!!!!!!!

I never thought I'd be happy to see a 301, but Pumbaa dropped down to that at +8.

Dale, you are correct...it could be NDW. Poor little guy is just not a happy camper at these numbers. :YMSIGH:
 
Poor little guy. Pumbaa just doesn't like high numbers like this. He's lethargic, a bit cranky, and keeps trying to hide in closets, etc. He's very anti-social when his numbers are high like this. I totally understand.

I spent over 20 minutes kneeling by the litter box, trying to catch Pumbaa mid-stream, as I've done for several days now with no success. It's a covered litter box, so I have to pop the top off in order to put the spoon under him and catch the urine. I used to be able to get him to go for me, with the top already off, but now he's developed a "shy bladder" and refuses to go if the lid isn't on. *LOL* So I have to wait until I hear the pee flowing, then pop the top off really fast and get that "peespoon" under him. Ketones are still negative, thank God!

I'm going to have to read up on ketones again, but I'm confused. I thought ketones occurred when the body wasn't processing/absorbing food and started working on fat/muscle/organs. But, if a cat is on insulin, even if their numbers are high like Pumbaa's are, they are still able to use the insulin to process/absorb food, but the liver has dumped hormones and sugars in the system causing an overabundance for the insulin to deal with. Yes? No?

If Pumbaa was still on Lantus, he'd have taken a huge dive by now, and his numbers would be lower. While I wish Pumbaa's numbers were lower, I'm glad that the biggest drop today was only 100 points in two hours.

Come on down, Pumbaa! I'm trying really hard to get you to wonderful blue BG readings so you can continue to amuse me with your juvenile delinquent antics!

Suze
 
Insulin resistance is the body not utilizing the insulin (or most of the insulin). Type II diabetics are actually producing insulin, but they are resistant to it so hardly any sugar gets into the cells.

Generally, if the cat is eating well and well hydrated and otherwise healthy, high BGs won't produce ketones. That is my understanding at least. The "ketone recipe" is high BG, low food intake, dehydration, and infection - two or more of those. But we test for ketones because there can be infections going on, or some other situation that we don't know about.

Hope Pumbaa has a breakthrough really soon!
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
Hope Pumbaa has a breakthrough really soon!
Well, you brought good luck because Pumbaa started this morning at 211! Yeehaw!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top