10/18 Pat's Shadow AMPS=227

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
10/17
AMPS=301 ~.5u Lev (2nd cycle)
+4=340
+8=358
PMP=377 ~1.0u Lev (increased dose)
+4=376
+8=220
AMPS=227 ~F1.0u Lev (increased dose)
+3=236

Yesterday
Morning. Happy Friday Eve to you. Shadow ate pretty well this morning (and through the night too) Not as much as fast, but he did go back to his bowl and finish the +8 snack. He asked for Omega 3 oil which I gave him right away this morning. I decided to up his dose a big more too since his appetite is better....I know that he feels poopy when he is in he pinks so the nice numbers will help him feel better too. He got his Clavamox dose after eating too.
At about +2 he vomited...but it did have a lot of little hairballs in it so that was a GREAT thing to see!
Maybe those were bothering him all along too....(if it weren't for the blood work I would have suspected that those were the reason for the inappetance. Sigh. Hairballs sometimes have that affect, right?) I don't expect that the Clavamox had anything to do with the vomiting, but we will have to wait and see if the other doses bring on vomiting. In the past it was day five that had the vomiting reaction. so, I think it was the hairballs that did it this morning.

So, all-in-all I am happy with the way he is doing. He is still bright eyed and right in the middle of everything around here. He is being his usual affectionate little self and not hiding or acting weird or sickly. I am still watching him like a hawk but I am trying to act nonchalant...LOL...
Hope you all are having a good day....Hugs to everyone!
 
Great to hear that Shadow seems to be feeling better already! Definitely keep an eye on the pukus, as that can be a symptom of pancreatits as well. Hopefully it was just the hairballs. Happy Friday Eve to you, too!
 
Exactly Anne! that's what i was thinking....but he hadn't been vomiting so much, thankfully. I am hoping that the vomiting this morning is from the hairballs.
I know the blood work indicated pancreatitis without any doubt at all, but if I hadn't had that done, i would have thought it was only the hairballs that made him not eat.
Amm waiting for a call from my vet regarding B12 shot and anything she might suggest for his diet....she is big on herbal remedies ....and I will be asking her about the Denamarin too! Thank you for that!! Hugs!
 
I'm glad that Shadow is feeling and eating better. I've been wondering about B12 too.

How long after the Clav was the pukus? Tess did really well on it for 3 or 4 day and then almost as regularly as clock work puked half an hour to an hour on the subsequent doses. We switched abs and she has been just fine.
 
HI Pat.

I'm so glad Shadow is eating well. It makes the mama's heart feel good :-D What a sweetie he is to want to be in the middle of everything. Mine just wants to hang out in the dumb cube.

Gosh I don't even know what the B12 is for in cats.....or Denamarin. I gots some reading to do.
I'm glad the puking was just hairballs too, because I remember from my drooler, that it goes along with p'tis.
But Shadow feels good, so it's not the same as being puky from nausea.

I'm so glad he is feeling better, Pat :-D

Have a nice Toisday. :-D
 
Hi Pat,
We are very glad that Shadow is feeling better. The vomiting could be from the Clavamox (it caused Stu to vomit), or from the hairballs, or from the pancreatitis (a common symptom). Interesting about the Vitamin B12. When Rusty had pancreatitis last spring Linda (Bear Man) suggested that sub-q shots with cyanocobalamin (a form of B12) might help. We didn't pursue it at the time because he had a mild case. For a really interesting discussion of pancreatitis, B12 supplementation, and lots of other related stuff, see the IDEXX round table discussion:
http://www.idexx.ca/pubwebresources...es/feline-pancreatitis-roundtable-article.pdf

Lots of hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
WOW! THAT was an interesting article Ella! Many thanks!
Shadow vomited just now after I picked him up to test him. I had to syringe some food into him at +8 and I was wondering how his numbers were. My vet never did get back to me tpday (I was hoping for a late afternoon telephone call, but that never came)
I am not going to be able to shoot if he is not eating again. There was no hair in this vomit just now. I am getting worried again and will run across to pick up some baby food now....I still have the Royal canin Recovery but wanted to try something else for him. Thanks everyone for stopping by today...we appreciate your visits! Hugs...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top