10/18 Lola PMPS 92; 126 +2; 109 +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pookie (GA)

Member Since 2020
I believe I'm okay to give Lola her new dose (.75u), but this is the first time I'll be shooting a PS number this low. Can anyone confirm for me it's okay to do so? (I will be around all day to test.)
 
We're just trying to slow her down right now not slam on the brakes.

With Prozinc, if you see a 40%, 50% or greater drop, between the pre-shot and that +2, that's a serious heads up warning.

Again, we're not sure how carbs effect Lola, I'd rather be safe.
 
We're just trying to slow her down right now not slam on the brakes.

With Prozinc, if you see a 40%, 50% or greater drop, between the pre-shot and that +2, that's a serious heads up warning.

Again, we're not sure how carbs effect Lola, I'd rather be safe.
There is so much to learn! I figure we're way better off today than if I was blindly shooting the 1u initially prescribed (and if I was blindly shooting the 1.5 the covering vet prescribed on 10/1 that sent Lo into a tailspin, she'd probably be dead by now).

Thanks for being here.
 
Sadly we hear this a lot . :(

So glad you found us
As unsettling as this is, it PALES in comparison to the horror show that we went through before we found FDMB. We're lucky to have an excellent, FD experienced vet, but twice (2 different cats) I've gotten dangerous (life threatening) recommendations from vets covering for her. It's such a relief to be home-testing and have the guidance of y'all.
 
Don't feed just yet. Let's see how long she can hold/surf in the greens.

Oh, and dose reduction tonight!!
I plan to test every half hour. (Fortunately, she and I have both gotten much better at it.) Her nadir is typically +5 (I know it can/will shift); I won't breathe easily until post nadir.

This is my understanding of the reason to withhold food : since she's in low normal and not dangerous low, to see how her body responds to the insulin without the influence of food? Feeding her HC was to keep her from falling any lower since she had dropped so low so quickly. Is my understanding correct?

Also, I'm assuming I should continue to post new readings in the thread and not just update the title. Is that correct?

Once we're through this episode I'll need some guidance on what to give her tonight. I know now that at 114 she was too low to get the full dose. Perhaps a token dose (.25) was more in order?
 
Oh wow Lola! She's doing awesome!

Also, I'm assuming I should continue to post new readings in the thread and not just update the title. Is that correct?
I'll be checking every 30 minutes to see how you're doing.

This is my understanding of the reason to withhold food : since she's in low normal and not dangerous low, to see how her body responds to the insulin without the influence of food? Feeding her HC was to keep her from falling any lower since she had dropped so low so quickly. Is my understanding correct?
You are correct. We wanted to slow that fast drop and not knowing how she responds to different levels of carbs HC was the safer bet. And I was looking at 10/16 no shot and you didn't get much of a food bump at +2.

If she's used to grazing a little LC food would be okay. But we don't want to fill her up in case the insulin picks up momentum again. If you test every 30 minutes you'll see if she needs a bump again.
 
iu



:cat:


Mogs
.
 
79 @ +5.5 :)

Is it safe to assume that she's passed her nadir since she's now on the rise w/o benefit of food? I propose to do her next test at +8, which is when I typically give her a meal to carry her over through the 2 hour PS fast.

Oh, and dose reduction tonight!!

So today's excursion below 90 earns her a further .25 reduction, even though she's only been at .75 since yesterday, right?
 
75, 76, 79 are all basically the same number. She's surfing along nicely. I think she's safe.

So today's excursion below 90 earns her a further .25 reduction, even though she's only been at .75 since yesterday, right?
Yes, dose reduction "earned". Following SLGS anytime Lola drops below 90, it's another dose reduction "earned".

I'm gonna pop away from my computer now, I'll check in later, see where she's at and again at PMPS.
 
I think the transition to Friskies pate has made a huge difference in Lola's BG. :)

Hubster reminded me that when Lola and her fur brother Sonny joined our herd 2 years ago this month, they arrived with a full case of Friskie's canned salmon pate -- which I promptly donated to the local shelter because "no cat of mine was going to eat Friskies!" Sigh....

Pancreatic activity would be evidence that she's producing her own insulin to meet the food bump, right? Am I correct in assuming that without the PZI she won't be in danger of dropping too low in the night?
 
Sorry for the delay, was poking my own cat!

Pancreatic activity would be evidence that she's producing her own insulin to meet the food bump,
Yes. We test to find out if and when she's producing insulin and other hormones on her own and if it's enough to maintain good BG levels.
Am I correct in assuming that without the PZI she won't be in danger of dropping too low in the night
Prozinc is an in and out insulin. Duration is generally 12 hours in most cats. Some get up to 14 hours. No danger of dropping too low later tonight with no insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top