10/18 Kipper AMPS 421

Status
Not open for further replies.

Katzndogs

Member Since 2010
Hi eveyone,
FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27596

Sorry I didn't post earlier in the day. I got a late start this am and then it was totally wacky at work.

Not much to report today except that I faxed Kipper's ss to the vet today. Got a call back from the vet tech with new dosing instruction. 3 units am and 4 units pm unless he is <200 then no insulin. Also, got my hands slapped again for testing too often. He only wants me to test pre-shot. I told the vet-tech that I didn't think I could comply with no insulin at below 200. It sure would be nice if he would talk directly to me instead of through the vet tech.

Once again, thanks for all the input and hand holding over the weekend.

Sharon and Kipper
 
Hi Sharon

do you plan to stick with the same dose for AMPS and PMPS?
I hope so, as Lantus does work best with consistency.

It does sound like your vet may be thinking preshot dosing only?? which, unfortunately, is fairly common still.
But maybe print out the protocol from here and give them a copy?
Many of us have done this and have had good feedback from our vets.

As for you don't need to test anything except preshot time, again, you do need to get a idea of how Lantus is working thru any given cycle.
So we encourage spot checks along the way when ever you can.
I too was advised to go easy on the testing - my vet was nice and supportive except when it came to the home testing so much, lol...yea ok, thank you very much, but I NEED to know what's happening. I'm glad I stuck to it :razz:

I agree, it would be nice if the vet took a few minutes out of their day to speak with you directly. Time for a one on one huh?
Hope things work out.
 
i don't mean to be judgmental...but just cuz the vet has dvm behind their name...you are still the customer, right? sorry to vent but it just offends me that ANYONE would feel they had a right to admonish you...

celi & binks
 
I'm all for compromises. What about raising Kipper's dose to 3.25u?

I suspect that Ronnie is correct. Your vet is more familiar with the shorter acting types of insulin where dosing is based on the pre-shot numbers. I'm attaching a copy of a veterinary journal article written by the vet who developed the Lantus protocol. Maybe it would be helpful to share this with your vet. (You know, smiling sweetly and suggesting that maybe this would interest him and he could help you to understand it better since, after all, it's got to be from one the the journals he reads all the time. Right?)


FWIW, my vet tells me I test too much, as well. I figure if she really studied Gabby's SS, she'd realize I have a cat who's a Drama Queen. I feel much better being able to catch Gabby's plummets. I just laugh and say "Thanks. I'll think about it."

Most vets will give you a cut off at around 200 as a "no shot" number. They have to for liability reasons. Most vets' don't realize that you know how to manipulate the curve with food.
 

Attachments

Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top