? 10/18 Karamelle +11.5 21 AMPS (+12.5) 146 +2 44 +4 40 +4.5 80 +5 69 +7 47 +9 56 +10 67 PMPS 55/47

JoM

Member Since 2023
? - 10/17 Karamelle AMPS 58 +12 82 +2 63 +4 56 +7 74 +10 65 PMPS 88 +2 162 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
After a beautiful day yesterday we have a drop this morning. Shes still not back to normal eating wise yet, so I gave a little (too much I think) honey and fed her regular raw nugget (which she ate about 2/3's of). After 3 more tests she was still good so I shot the same dose. I didnt lower because Ive been following the 3 under 50, 1 under 40 protocol. So if it drops again I guess I'll lower the dose then. Just not certain if, the next time it drops its between 40-50, if I drop then or wait the 2 more times in that range.
Anyway, Im now preparing for the huge bounce, sigh.
Have a great day.
 
? - 10/17 Karamelle AMPS 58 +12 82 +2 63 +4 56 +7 74 +10 65 PMPS 88 +2 162 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
After a beautiful day yesterday we have a drop this morning. Shes still not back to normal eating wise yet, so I gave a little (too much I think) honey and fed her regular raw nugget (which she ate about 2/3's of). After 3 more tests she was still good so I shot the same dose. I didnt lower because Ive been following the 3 under 50, 1 under 40 protocol. So if it drops again I guess I'll lower the dose then. Just not certain if, the next time it drops its between 40-50, if I drop then or wait the 2 more times in that range.
Anyway, Im now preparing for the huge bounce, sigh.
Have a great day.
Am I reading that right. She had a 21, Jo??
Yikes.
I hope she has a very safe surf!!! Glad she’s eating for you!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Jo -

That 21 at your AM shot time was a signal to reduce the dose. Remember, anything under 40 given the guideline you're using is an immediate dose reduction. The number you were seeing at +1 reflected the influence of the high carb intervention. I was a bit of a testaholic -- I would have been testing every 30 min to be sure that Karamelle's numbers weren't going to plummet.
 
Jo -

That 21 at your AM shot time was a signal to reduce the dose. Remember, anything under 40 given the guideline you're using is an immediate dose reduction. The number you were seeing at +1 reflected the influence of the high carb intervention. I was a bit of a testaholic -- I would have been testing every 30 min to be sure that Karamelle's numbers weren't going to plummet.
Yes, but we are here now. I was following the 3 under 50, one under 40. And this was the first under 40, which means what? I should have decreased or I have one more? Im still so confused about this. Anyway, its done, and now Im dealing with my mistake. Need help from here, not a reminder that I possibly screwed up. Im going to give more honey ai guess, since the food an hour ago didnt bring the BG up. It usually does. I definitley will go back to 1.75 tonight.
 
Am I reading that right. She had a 21, Jo??
Yikes.
I hope she has a very safe surf!!! Glad she’s eating for you!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yes, it was 21. sigh. We had such a nice day yesterday. I should have known something was up. Plus I guess I misunderstood when Im supposed to reduce. I was trying to follow the 3 under 50, 1 under 40. But I thought that meant she could go one under 40, but not 2 or 3. Shes now hit 3 under 40 so I will decrease tonight. But now Im dealing with her staying under 50. She doesnt even know theres anything wrong. Acting completely normal. Rolling around acting cute.
 
Cheeky girl, she’s keeping you busy today :eek:. For clarification, it’s not 3x under 50 and one under 40. It’s “or”. I always used to say you don’t mess with the 30s; tricky business getting into low 20s just around preshot, since the HC May have likely artificially inflated the numbers, which then means once it’s worn off, and next dose kicks in, well it’s a bit of a chase now to get ahead of the numbers. Like Sienne said, if you are seeing 40s, best to test more often than once an hour, and intervene with HC or syrup especially if you are finding she’s lingering in the 40s and not responding to HC like she usually does. No criticism :bighug:, just some things to think about.

Up you go, Karamelle.
 
Cheeky girl, she’s keeping you busy today :eek:. For clarification, it’s not 3x under 50 and one under 40. It’s “or”. I always used to say you don’t mess with the 30s; tricky business getting into low 20s just around preshot, since the HC May have likely artificially inflated the numbers, which then means once it’s worn off, and next dose kicks in, well it’s a bit of a chase now to get ahead of the numbers. Like Sienne said, if you are seeing 40s, best to test more often than once an hour, and intervene with HC or syrup especially if you are finding she’s lingering in the 40s and not responding to HC like she usually does. No criticism :bighug:, just some things to think about.

Up you go, Karamelle.
I gave a little bit of honey (a lot less than than I gave this morning) @ +4 and at +4.5 shes up to 80. I will test again at +5 and see how it goes. I havent fed her since +3 and she ate a full meal then.
 
Good plan, Jo, I’m glad she’s come up above 50. Let’s see if she’s thinking about changing directions.
Shes back down to 69 at +5. I fed her because she was asking but she only ate half her meal (which is half of a freeze dried raw nugget, about 20 calories) Its still about 50 tho so good. Will keep testing. Thanks for your replies.
 
Shes back down to 69 at +5. I fed her because she was asking but she only ate half her meal (which is half of a freeze dried raw nugget, about 20 calories) Its still about 50 tho so good. Will keep testing. Thanks for your replies.
Congratulations on the reduction Karamelle. Stay safe for your mama who is working hard for you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Good luck with the reduction. From the TR section of the Dosing Methods Sticky Note:
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended.
Even more so if below the 30's. :eek: The 20's can be a warning of a very full depot and possible active cycles to follow until the depot is reduced.
 
Good luck with the reduction. From the TR section of the Dosing Methods Sticky Note:
Even more so if below the 30's. :eek: The 20's can be a warning of a very full depot and possible active cycles to follow until the depot is reduced.
Yeah, I figured the 2 unit dose would come back to bite me. Im just glad this is happening during the day rather than overnight.
 
? - 10/17 Karamelle AMPS 58 +12 82 +2 63 +4 56 +7 74 +10 65 PMPS 88 +2 162 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
After a beautiful day yesterday we have a drop this morning. Shes still not back to normal eating wise yet, so I gave a little (too much I think) honey and fed her regular raw nugget (which she ate about 2/3's of). After 3 more tests she was still good so I shot the same dose. I didnt lower because Ive been following the 3 under 50, 1 under 40 protocol. So if it drops again I guess I'll lower the dose then. Just not certain if, the next time it drops its between 40-50, if I drop then or wait the 2 more times in that range.
Anyway, Im now preparing for the huge bounce, sigh.
Have a great day.
Congratulations on the reduction. Safe surfing, Karamella!
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Had a little dip at +7 (47), but back up over 50 for +8 and +9 although it dropped a bit again. Im not entirely sure what dose to give tonight. Do you think 1.75 will be ok? Im obviously testing every hour till then but just wondering. I dont want to be up all night.
 
I removed a few of the BG entries in the title to make room for new ones. To see all see spreadsheet.
 
If you want a break tonight, you could half dose, or even skip. Either would help drain the depot. Skip would leave higher numbers but give you more of a break tonight. Half dose might still see some action in the first part of the cycle.
 
I think Im going to skip the shot tonight. I tested at PMPS and she was 55. Tried to feed her and she wouldnt eat. So I made up some syringe food, waited a few minutes and retested her about 20 minutes later and she was 47. I'll stay up until she trends safely upwards, but i just dont feel right about giving her more insulin. She clearly has enough in the depot at the moment. If someone disagrees with me, please let me know but I dont want to wait too long and throw the timing off anymore than it is already. Im already at more than 30 mins past when she normally gets her shot. But I gave her the am shot at 912am am and its 905pm right now so Im almost right at +12 now. @Wendy&Neko @Christie & Maverick @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
If you want a break tonight, you could half dose, or even skip. Either would help drain the depot. Skip would leave higher numbers but give you more of a break tonight. Half dose might still see some action in the first part of the cycle.
Ha we were posting at the same time. So you think half dose would be ok? Half of 2 or half of 1.75? @Wendy&Neko
 
Skip would be safer. Now you can shoot whenever you want in the morning. Hope she comes up soon.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Skip would be safer. Now you can shoot whenever you want in the morning. Hope she comes up soon.
Thanks. Her +1 was 95, so not bad, but then +2 was 74, so coming down. She was sniffing around my other cats microchip bowl, wanting the dry food inside. She used to love her dry food treats. I didnt give her any of those but I had some raw rabbit bites that I hadnt been using because everyone got tired of them. I gave her a few and she gobbled them up. They shouldnt have any carbs in them, because they are just rabbit. I know with TR Im not supposed to feed anything dry, but these were treats and I just want to go to bed so Im trying to convince myself that it was ok. :p
 
Jo -
The rabbit bites are likely to be OK even with TR. Since TR was published, there have been more options like freeze dried or air dried raw foods. If the food you're using fits into that type of food, I would think it is fine especially so if you're using it to stimulate Karamelle's appetite versus a steady diet.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Back
Top