10/18 Herman amps 149 +6 133 +9 112 pmps 99 +2 180 +8 295

Amy & Herman

Member Since 2022
Yesterday
Looks like I will need to bump him back to 1.5 units, but I wanted to give him one more day to settle in. There is a tiny part of me that thinks he might be a bit constipated, unfortunately he has always preferred to go outside so I can’t tell by litter box alone, will see how day goes. Appetite etc all good though.
 
Poor Herman!
With that 61 in yesterday's AM cycle, I'd hold the dose for a bit. But see what others chime in and think :bighug:
When were you thinking of increasing?
Possibly tonight if I don’t see green today. Will see. Though, might be better to wait, You make an excellent point.
The change of weather (it’s cold dark and rainy!) has a huge impact to his activity. He goes from spending most of they day outside playing with cat friends and visiting the other families to only going out an hour here and there and mostly staying around my porch out of the rain. I’ve bought extra toys to help keep him active but it’s not the same. I’ve also been having him come to the barn with me for chores but he still just doesn’t get as much exercise. I do think that blocks him up a bit. Winter is coming!
 
Ok! Thanks all! If this is just a bounce that would be fantastic! Patience pants are on and I will wait and see. I will note that at +6.5 I witnessed him poop in the horse arena...so if constipation is playing a part in the higher numbers that should be alleviated soon. I will test in a bit. Go herm!!!!!
 
There is a tiny part of me that thinks he might be a bit constipated, unfortunately he has always preferred to go outside so I can’t tell by litter box alone, will see how day goes. Appetite etc all good though.
Have you tried feeling for his colon? My civvie Wicket has chronic constipation issues, and my vet showed me how to feel for the colon to check if there is stool in there (and then you can check regularly to see if it stays there longer than it should).
From my understanding, Herman can be a little spicy, so no guarantee that he'll let you do this, but could be worth a shot?
Here is a video that shows how to do it:
 
Have you tried feeling for his colon? My civvie Wicket has chronic constipation issues, and my vet showed me how to feel for the colon to check if there is stool in there (and then you can check regularly to see if it stays there longer than it should).
From my understanding, Herman can be a little spicy, so no guarantee that he'll let you do this, but could be worth a shot?
Here is a video that shows how to do it:
Thats fantastic - thanks. Years ago he did have some issues in his bowels but it was at a time that I almost lost him to an infection and they were just testing and to be honest I can't recall what the issue there was as the bigger issue was the infection. He recovered but I have always noticed that he can sometimes seem a little constipated. I took him the horse area and played with him in the deep sand and that got things moving! He did perhaps strain a little more than normal but that could be my imagination. The feces seemed quite hard. I will attempt to palpate....he may be ok with it in the right mood, in the wrong mood I suspect I may lose a finger.
 
Back
Top