10-18 Henry AMPS 420 Beginning Day 2 of Bounce

Golf2015

Member Since 2020

Attachments

  • PA181105.JPG
    PA181105.JPG
    52.1 KB · Views: 62
  • PA181104.JPG
    PA181104.JPG
    39.2 KB · Views: 58
Hope you and Henry have a good day! Cosmo used to bounce for days and days at first. Hang in there, it will subside :)
 
I just upload (2) photos of Henry's urine in my leading post above

Now going to perform the strip test analysis next will upload results soon
 
PA181103.JPG
PA181104.JPG
Posting Photos of Test Strip Analysis @ 40 seconds. It appears to have the color scheme between Neg and Trace, not quite matching TRACE but same can be said for NEG

Uploaded (2) Photos of Henry - One at the height of Obesity 25 pounds and Current 21.5 pounds
 

Attachments

  • PA181104.JPG
    PA181104.JPG
    64.9 KB · Views: 140
  • P3050927.JPG
    P3050927.JPG
    89.6 KB · Views: 73
  • PA181103.JPG
    PA181103.JPG
    83.6 KB · Views: 59
  • Urine Test Strip Color Scheme.pdf
    Urine Test Strip Color Scheme.pdf
    336.1 KB · Views: 203
  • PA181103.JPG
    PA181103.JPG
    80.7 KB · Views: 137
Last edited:
I have another question for all of you:

I know insulin terms of required units is relative to how much the pancreas participates. Could body mass also be calculated into the #units of insulin. Meaning two cats who are at their ideal weight but one weighs 10Lbs and the other at 15Lbs, one would think that everything being equal with the exception of weight, ==> The heavier of the two would require more insulin?
 
Hello and welcome from me too.

I am surprised the urine strings say to wait 40 seconds for ketones. Most ketones strips say 15 seconds, and it can get darker after that. Regardless, don't worry about something between negative and trace. You can always test on yourself to make sure you know what negative is - provided that's a valid test. ;)

There are lots of factors in deciding what dose a cat needs. It is more than just pancreas and body weight. My girl stayed more or less (within a pound) of the same weight, but her good dose varied from 8.75 units, down to 0.75, back up to 7.0 units, back down to 0.25 units. That was over the period of about 5 years. She had a couple secondary endocrine conditions that influenced what dose she needed. Weight and pancreas were not a factor. We have a saying the ECID - each cat is different and it's true regarding dose too.

If a person is following Tight Regulation, we do decide on starting dose based on cats weight. But that requires feeding all low carb wet or raw food.
 
My goodness, Henry certainly was a big boy. He is looking better at 21.5 pounds but still has a way to go.

Great the ketone test was negative!
I’m curious about the bottom square on the test strip you used. That is usually the glucose square and it’s looks as if it is showing negative glucose, which is strange if you are getting pink and red numbers. Can you comment on that please Robert?
 
color scheme unused strip.JPG
My goodness, Henry certainly was a big boy. He is looking better at 21.5 pounds but still has a way to go.

Great the ketone test was negative!
I’m curious about the bottom square on the test strip you used. That is usually the glucose square and it’s looks as if it is showing negative glucose, which is strange if you are getting pink and red numbers. Can you comment on that please Robert?
The bottom is Glucose but the color scheme is showing +15 having said that the picture was taken @ 40 seconds where as the glucose is 30 seconds
 

Attachments

  • color scheme unused strip.JPG
    color scheme unused strip.JPG
    57.6 KB · Views: 140
Last edited:
The bottom is Glucose but the color scheme is showing +15 having said that the picture was taken @ 40 seconds where as the glucose is 30 seconds
That is not a lot of glucose in the urine considering that the BG doesn’t appear to have gone down at all during the last day. Ae you able to photo the glucose range on the bottle so I can see it at all please?
Are the strips still in date?
 
color scheme unused strip.JPG
Urine Strip Bottle (2).JPG
That is not a lot of glucose in the urine considering that the BG doesn’t appear to have gone down at all during the last day. Ae you able to photo the glucose range on the bottle so I can see it at all please?
Are the strips still in date?
Test Strips Exp Date.JPG
Urine Strip Bottle (1).JPG
Urine Strip Bottle (2).JPG


Requested pictures attached
 

Attachments

  • Test Strips Exp Date.JPG
    Test Strips Exp Date.JPG
    40.4 KB · Views: 128
  • Urine Strip Bottle (1).JPG
    Urine Strip Bottle (1).JPG
    37.9 KB · Views: 132
  • Urine Strip Bottle (2).JPG
    Urine Strip Bottle (2).JPG
    40.2 KB · Views: 165
  • color scheme unused strip.JPG
    color scheme unused strip.JPG
    57.6 KB · Views: 135
Last edited:
Thanks Robert. That is a bit puzzling because usually with a high BG you see the colour turn brown because of the amount of glucose in the urine.
In saying that, the urine sample is a snapshot of the glucose in the urine since the last pee which could have been 8 hours before so it is not an accurate up to the minute assessment. But Henry has been high all the time according to the BGs on the SS.
He must have a high renal threshold.
It would be interesting if you could grab another urine test while his BG is high to see if it is the same.
 
Thanks Robert. That is a bit puzzling because usually with a high BG you see the colour turn brown because of the amount of glucose in the urine.
In saying that, the urine sample is a snapshot of the glucose in the urine since the last pee which could have been 8 hours before so it is not an accurate up to the minute assessment. But Henry has been high all the time according to the BGs on the SS.
He must have a high renal threshold.
It would be interesting if you could grab another urine test while his BG is high to see if it is the same.

I will try to do so. I'm a bit confused now? I'm not sure what's happening now?

I put the sample in the refrigerator @38 Degrees for 6 hours took it out and let it get room temperature about 20 minutes. Sumerage the strip and pulled it out
 
Last edited:
I will try to do so. I'm a bit confused now? I'm not sure what's happening now?
Just keep doing what you are doing. He might just have a high renal threshold which means he doesn’t spill the excess glucose over into the urine as quickly as a cat that has a lower renal threshold. It’s no big deal.
Depending where you read it the renal threshold for diabetic cats can be from 200-300 (that is with a human meter) and we know the pet meter reads higher.
 
Just keep doing what you are doing. He might just have a high renal threshold which means he doesn’t spill the excess glucose over into the urine as quickly as a cat that has a lower renal threshold. It’s no big deal.
Depending where you read it the renal threshold for diabetic cats can be from 200-300 (that is with a human meter) and we know the pet meter reads higher.
OK
Will get you another Photo of the next Urine Test Strip Results as you requested.
Pictures are so much better for diagnosing
I what you to have the best information possible

Thank You so much
 
OK
Will get you another Photo of the next Urine Test Strip Results as you requested.
Pictures are so much better for diagnosing
I what you to have the best information possible

Thank You so much
Sorry if I worrIed or confused you. You are doing a really good job looking after Henry
 
Bron,

I'm considering buying a Human Meter what would you recommend?
If you are in the US you can get a very reasonable ReliOn meter there and the strips are inexpensive. I think it is the Prime but I’ll tag @Chris & China (GA) as she will know. I don’t live in the US and the ReliOn meters have changed lately and I’m not up to speed with the latest ones yet.

I like the human meters much better and our 2 dosing methods are based human meters so there is no confusion when following the methods
 
W
If you are in the US you can get a very reasonable ReliOn meter there and the strips are inexpensive. I think it is the Prime but I’ll tag @Chris & China (GA) as she will know. I don’t live in the US and the ReliOn meters have changed lately and I’m not up to speed with the latest ones yet.

I like the human meters much better and our 2 dosing methods are based human meters so there is no confusion when following the methods[/QUOTE

They do sell those meters in the US. What ever you folks recommend considered it DONE WILL HAPPEN

Thank You
 
Thank You

But he should never got that large (MY FAULT), No excuse when know better. NEVER AGAIN IS THAT GOING TO HAPPEN
My Sheba got quite large.....I used to let her free feed dry food:eek::banghead: before I knew better.
She trimmed down and at one stage got quite thin but regained the weight back to a normal weight after starting insulin.

Now I feed my cats a raw home made diet and keep them slim!
 
My Sheba got quite large.....I used to let her free feed dry food:eek::banghead: before I knew better.
She trimmed down and at one stage got quite thin but regained the weight back to a normal weight after starting insulin.

Now I feed my cats a raw home made diet and keep them slim!

I have considered the Raw Home Made

Do you have some web-sites to recommend with respect to RAW FOOD

Thank You
 
Ch
Yes, the Relion Prime is about $9 at WalMart. The strips are $17.88/100 so it's the most affordable meter available (it's also easy to get strips when you're running low since WalMart's are everywhere)

Chris,

Relion Meter has several models. Cost of the meter is no concern for me provided the strips do remain cost effective. So if one had to do it over again purchasing this meter and wish they bought an upgraded model. I would have no problem going with that recommendation

Thank You
 
I see Wendy has answered your question about raw food.
I think if you are just starting out with a raw diet, using a premix, such as the one Wendy suggested, EZComplete is a good way to go as all you need to buy is the fresh meat and mix in the premix is to make it a complete meal nutritionally.
I always buy human grade meat from the supermarket or butcher for the cats
 
So if one had to do it over again purchasing this meter and wish they bought an upgraded model. I would have no problem going with that recommendation

The Prime is the older model, but I've actually heard more complaints about the newer one, the Premiere. The strips are the same price for both and they both take the same sample size.
 
Back
Top