10/18 Gracie PMPS 61 +2 48 +3 43

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

10/17 Recap:
AMPS: 124 27th cycle 1.25u lev
+4: 170
+6: 221
+11: 134
PMPS 125 28th cycle 1.25u lev
+2: 182
+4: 171
+6: 165


Our hearts are filled with such sorrow today for Libby and Linda as Jazzy and Teddy have crossed the Bridge. We hold them close in our hearts and our thoughts.

Gracie has had some lovely flat blue cycles since the yellow bounce. I'm not sure if she's still clearing a bounce or this just isn't enough insulin to get her into green. Interestingly, her last three PSs have been 124, 125, 125. Consistent!! I'm in a quandary as to whether to hold the dose and hope that the consistency and healing numbers will eventually bring her down into more green. The last time I raised her dose, she started bouncing again for a while. However, she's not been in green in five days. Any thoughts are greatly appreciated. She continues to be happy, purry, chirpy and eat well and has all 5Ps in place daily. Her eyes have been bothering her again (time of year) and I've had to increase the cyclosporine from three days/week to daily. I feel bad for her...it does sting at first.

I'm sorry I never got back on last night. I got home from the vet with Tobes and the guy installing the faucets ran into problems and so had to stop work until he got another tool to finish today. So Mike and I immediately ran out to do errands and go grocery shopping on base. We got back in time to do squids, put away groceries, do Gracie's routine, get our walk in, and finally had a light dinner about 8:30. By then, we'd heard about Jazzy....I just needed a break from the sadness of the last month: Teddi, Boris, Jazzy, Teddy's diagnosis. Please forgive.

Tobey update: he did awesome at the vet so he's waiting for his cimmamun surprise from his Auntie Ellabean. Dr. W said the proliferative gum was like a mushroom cap. She gave him some bupe and then a local and she was able to snip it right off. The extraction site looked clean of infection and healthy but he continues clindamycin for another week. She believes a reaction to the suture caused all of this. He was a very brave boy and has had a little more bupe but he seems to not really need it. He's so funny on bupe....his normal incredibly lovey self is personified by it. I'm so glad that is done with very little trauma. We've been closely watching his eye...it's a tiny bit squinty occasionally but not enough for me to start the anti-viral drops. Yet.

Holding you all and your babies close in my heart for these sad days in LL.
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie AMPS 125 +4 145 +6 129

Hi guys .. these are lovely numbers for gracie, but I know how much you want to see green (doesn't everyone? :-D ) I hope someone can help you figure out what to do as far as upping her dose .. So glad tobey did well at the vet's .. I hope his gum problems are on the mend for good!
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie AMPS 125 +4 145 +6 129

Hi Marje, thanks so much for your help in my condo on explaining the Protein value for Maggie's labs. I know you have so much experience with your furbaby family and always graciously help so many of us. I feel it too, as it just has been so very sad lately with so many of our furbabies crossing the Bridge.
Gracie is looking nice and flat today, but I know you want to see lower numbers. I hope some here can offer some guidance. I am so glad Tobey's visit and well and the Vet was able to do the procedure with no problem. I like how the bupe does make them extra loving, as if Tobey could be any sweeter. Sounds like you had a lot going on last evening with the faucets repair and errands. Hope you and Mike can find time to relax tonight.
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie AMPS 125 +4 145 +6 129

Hi Marje and thanks for stopping by our vacant condo yesterday and filling me in on Tobey's tooth. I'm glad it's resolving for your finally with a little intervention!

You had also asked a question about low protein in humans with kidney failure. In general, it has more to do with the bi- products of protein metabolism and the job of the kidney's to filter protein back into the system.
Protein in the food we eat is converted by the liver into urea and other toxins which are normally removed from the body in the urine. These substances accumulate if the kidneys are damaged.
In the early stages of kidney damage, a high protein intake may cause the kidneys to overwork - hyperfiltration - leading to further damage of the kidney filters. In the later stages, the build up of toxins can contribute to symptoms of kidney failure such as nausea, tiredness, easy bruising and bleeding. A reduction in dietary protein can help to reduce early kidney damage in some cases and the symptoms associated with more severe kidney failure.
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie AMPS 125 +4 145 +6 129

Nice job today Gracie - maybe some green tonight?

Marje - had a wonderful session with Linda (the AC) today. Thank you so much for giving me her information! It was really informative and I did learn some things about my gang!
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie AMPS 125 +4 145 +6 129 +8 109 +10 64

Afternoon!!! Well....I guess Gracie answered the question about the dose!!! Good girl!!!! Just a little threat and it works. I still wonder if a drop more will bring her down overall but looks like her nadir today will be in the 60s or so. She really has a late nadir on lev.

What a busy day today....as usual. Boy will I be glad when the guys get here for the visit!!! Today was dealing with the plumber to finish the bathroom, clean the frig/freezer in the garage, clean the garage, spot bot the persian rug in the den, and grout around the appliance garage in the kitchen....when the granite was installed, we ran out of the sanded grout that matches the backsplash grout and have been waiting all these months for it to get in. Now it's done!
:-D And then I had to, of course, put the guest bathroom back together.

Devon: we hope Tobey's gums are on the mend, too!!

Ann: you're welcome!! You're right...it's hard to imagine Tobey any sweeter! Mike left this morning for Dallas for three days. I'm not kidding...he's home, Gracie's numbers are up; he leaves, down she goes :lol: :lol: :lol: He said he thinks he must be stressing her out :lol: :lol:

Jessica: Thanks for the explanation.....I understand; BUT I think there is common sense to consider....in other words, a person should not eat a diet HIGH in protein but I still think it is important to not overly reduce protein. Too little protein can also cause fatigue, muscle wasting, etc. It's a balance.

Anne: I'm so glad it went so well!!! I'm anxious to hear!!
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie AMPS 125 +4 145 +6 129 +8 109 +10 64

Nice looking day for Grace--She did really well! Glad that Tobey's toof will now finally be all better!!!
Yes it is a sad day in LL, when we lose 2 of our dearest cats!

Hope tomorrow will be brighter, the house will be coming together better, and you get some peace for a while!! Hugs & love from us! This really was a nice cycle :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie AMPS 125 +4 145 +6 129 +8 109 +10 64

Hi guys - wow on that +10. Gracie??? whatcha up to, huh? be good to your beans...

Good news on Tobey - sounds like he is well n the road to recovery! :-D :-D :cool:

Quite the busy day for you - sounds like it is all coming together though. well done!, and I bet you guys are tired...

I hope the kitties are behaving themselves at Rusty's... Mannie and Rusty were working very hard to make enough cimmamum cupcakes, since they know how much Tobey lubs them... cimmamum cupcakes, hot toddys on the porch - what a life!

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie AMPS 125 +4 145 +6 129 +8 109 +10 64

Hi guys,

Yes, LL has been hard to contribute to today.

I see that Gracie has come down to green at +10, a nice, late nadir (maybe the nadir; let's see if Gracie goes lower!). There is a sticky in the Lev. forum that discusses the various Lev. curves. I don't recall at the moment what a nadir after +10 means, but the sticky is called "Levemir 101". (you probably know it already).

I am so glad that Tobey is doing well. I hope that he was able to drop by our house today. I made some "cimmamum" cupcakes, with extra ones just for him (the other kitties were instructed that those were for Tobey). (I see from Mannie's comment that they made a whole extra batch!!)

Enjoy your evening and your evening walk,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie PMPS 61

Hi Roni: she did do very well today...these flat cycles are awesome! Thank you for your wishes. I know as soon as the kids get here, all will be quieter and more relaxed.

Michelle: she nadirs at +12 usually. She probably would have been a little lower tonight but I gave her just a tiny bit of 4% at +11 to bring her up since I won't shoot below 50 even though I know she "should" start coming up after PS...but it depends on her carryover. Tobey had a great day today! I am exhausted...Mike is in Dallas but he's tired, too. Tobey is very excited about the cimmamum cupcakes!!

Ella: Thank you and yes, I know which sticky you are referring to. A late nadir indicates too much insulin however with lev, it can work in your favor if the two cycles overlap so there is very little "up" before the next shot onsets. Very relieved about Tobey....he's very excited about seeing you!!

Now to get in some condos before dinner!
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie PMPS 61

(((((marje))))) it's been hard for everyone, but especially for someone who's lost a little one recently. sending you hugs . . .

gracie is looking great today. good job managing her! when does your company come?
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie PMPS 61

Wow, that is an awesome color! :mrgreen: We have been feeling the sadness here in LL with so much loss of our dear furry family. It makes us watch ours even closer and worry so much more when anything is out of place. We hope the visit from the boys is fun and cheering for you all! :-D
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie AMPS 125 +4 145 +6 129

Jessica & Boo Radley said:
In the early stages of kidney damage, a high protein intake may cause the kidneys to overwork - hyperfiltration - leading to further damage of the kidney filters. In the later stages, the build up of toxins can contribute to symptoms of kidney failure such as nausea, tiredness, easy bruising and bleeding. A reduction in dietary protein can help to reduce early kidney damage in some cases and the symptoms associated with more severe kidney failure.
Ahhh, but let's remember we're talking about cats. Restricting protein in the early stages of feline renal impairment is now considered "old school".

Here's an interesting post from Dr. Lisa in a kidney failure thread: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=35873&p=377652&hilit=+protein#p377652.

And another one where she states, "This is a false assumption and one that is often made. Protein does not cause kidney disease, contrary to popular belief.": http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=29584&p=304186&hilit=+protein#p304186.

Talking about the importance of lowering phosphorus in early renal disease: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=3023&p=29582&hilit=+protein#p29582

Those are just a few I found quickly. I'm sure there's more to be found.

Here's another article by a world renowned specialist in endocrinology of dogs and cats, Dr. Mark Peterson: http://endocrinevet.blogspot.com/2011/09/best-diet-to-feed-hyperthyroid-cats.html. It's about diet and hyper-T kitties, but he does mention:

"Cats with advanced renal disease (IRIS Stage 3 or 4) may need lower amounts of dietary protein to lessen uremic episodes (24). However, at least in early to mid-stage renal disease, lowering of the serum phosphate concentration is much more important in management than dietary protein restriction, and this can be easily accomplished with phosphate binders without lowering the protein content of the diet (25,26). It may seem impossible, but no studies have conclusively demonstrated that severe restriction protein alone will prevent further deterioration of kidney function in cats (27)."

There's many, many more references to be found on the 'net regarding lowering phos rather than lowering protein in early stages of CKD.
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie PMPS 61 +2 48

Michelle: Since Gracie started lev, it's much easier for me to shoot lower numbers knowing she should come up after. However....she is not cooperating tonight so I guess she is having a very late nadir.

Julie: You are right that it's hard for everyone; we all love Patti, Libby, and Linda. Also right about losing Teddi so recently....three weeks ago today. I'm hoping she'll be home tomorrow. The boys get in early Friday morning and leave late Tuesday.

Jill: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Yes...look. ANd in a big way. I told Mike that I'm going to start hiding the karo when he's home because she only comes down low at night when he's gone. :lol: Thanks for the great info on cats, protein, and CKD. I believe I also put that same concept on Tess's condo a couple days ago....old school to restrict protein in a CKD kitty.

Anne: I know....I hold these three even closer...they are smothering!!

Feeding the Lil Stinka 8% so she will start to come up before she onsets.....
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie PMPS 61 +2 48

Gracie, darlin' - that is some impressive green you have going! :mrgreen: Now come on up, your Mama Bean don't need no more stressin'! :-D
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie PMPS 61 +2 48

Holy moley!!! When she decides to be green, she can give Kermit a run for his money!!!

I'm feeling very sad, too. The first thing I saw when I got on this morning was about Jazzy and it really got to me. So many kitties have crossed in the last couple weeks and, frankly, it's making it kinda hard to be here!!

I hope you're doing well. I did get your text. I'm just about done putting in my old numbers, though some are lost forever.
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie PMPS 61 +2 48

WOW WOW Gracie you are really doing great tooday!!
Holy Cow, I'm sending you ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O) ~O)
and hope you get some sleep sometime tonite!!!!
This is really so good, I know how hard you two work on her...

Yes my friend, it is good to get our GA babies back home, as sad as it is, also comforting to have them back..I have a little statue of Copper look a like kitty & I talk to him every day--It's right near the 9 feathers he has sent me since he passed..Crazy, yes, but it makes me feel like he is still here(which I believe)..
Try to get some sleep, & reach for the karo if need be :lol: -Love ya from me!
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie PMPS 61 +2 48

Anne/Liz: you are right...I don't need no more stressin'. I've still got this durn cold hanging on and by the end of the day, I'm feeling it.

Patty: she never does anything half-way....just like her mama. Glad you got SOME of the numbers. Esp mine.

Roni: I'm going to need it but what I really need is sleep. Hoping she starts up a little bit here soon or I will have to get the karo out. I think it will be hard at first to get Teddi's urn but then it will be, like you said, a comfort.

Fed more 8%. Where oh where is that nadir????
 
Ok...+3 and she made me break out the karo. I don't mind the 40s surf but onset is around the corner so time to come up, Gracie.
 
:o Gracie, could you come up just a little bit? Your bean wanted green but not that green. Hope she listens to me, Marje, and you can get some rest.
Liz
 
Thanks, Liz. Up to 57 now and I gave her more 8% and one drop karo just to bump up a bit more.

Time for test/sleep mode. NI Ni.
 
Re: 10/18 Gracie AMPS 125 +4 145 +6 129

Jill & Alex said:
Jessica & Boo Radley said:
In the early stages of kidney damage, a high protein intake may cause the kidneys to overwork - hyperfiltration - leading to further damage of the kidney filters. In the later stages, the build up of toxins can contribute to symptoms of kidney failure such as nausea, tiredness, easy bruising and bleeding. A reduction in dietary protein can help to reduce early kidney damage in some cases and the symptoms associated with more severe kidney failure.
Ahhh, but let's remember we're talking about cats. Restricting protein in the early stages of feline renal impairment is now considered "old school".


Jill...that's the problem with me answering in consecutive posts. I wasn't speaking of cats. Marje and I had gotten on a discussion about humans and protein restriction is still very much part of what happens with human beings.

Great info on cats - so many here have renal problems!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top