10/18 ELI PMPS 362; +2 292, +10 349 DOSE?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrienne & Eli

Member Since 2012
Previous Condo

Good morning - Eli is not moving much better today. Gets up to eat and pee and that's about it. Poor little guy - started Zombaline last night. Fingers crossed we can get #'s into 200's and with Zombaline he will improve.
 
Re: 10/18 ELI AMPS 382 @ +11

Keep in mind that the Zobaline can take a month or two to have an effect.

FYI - you don't need to put the +11 notation in your subject line. Having it noted on your SS is fine.
 
Re: 10/18 ELI AMPS 382

Hi Adrienne

I hope Eli starts to feel better soon, and decides he wants to slide down the scale a little bit. Have a great day!

Lisa & Leo
 
Re: 10/18 ELI AMPS 382

Hi guys .. so sorry to hear Eli is not feeling great .. hopefully this month goes by fast for you and you can see the meds taking effect! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/18 ELI AMPS 382, +2 335, +6 378

Should I increase Eli to 1.25 for the next dose? Planning on getting a 10+, let me know if you need additional.
 
Re: 10/18 ELI AMPS 382, +2 335, +6 378 Dose?

On top of my dosage increase post, I have a few questions about neuropathy.

1) Is it normal that is comes on so quickly? The vet mentioned Eli had a slight case on 9/28 and he had been fine until this past weekend when it got really bad. Could the insulin be effecting it?
2) I read somewhere that cat's with severe neurpathy can also have bowl issues and get constipated. Eli hasn't pooed since about midnight on Tuesday. When do I become concerned about this and contact the vet?
3) Does neuropathy cause pain? The vet thought the pain was b/c he hurt himself. The more I research, I think it's just the neuropathy. Is it best treated with pain med? And if so what is best. I do have some Buprenex, but I haven't administered it yet b/c the dosage seems too high.
 
Re: 10/18 ELI AMPS 382, +2 335, +6 378 Dose?

To recap:
AMPS 382 @ +11
+2 335
+6 378
+10 367

Do I increase dose to 1.25?
 
Re: 10/18 ELI AMPS 382, +2 335, +6 378 Dose?

I know how you feel.
You'll probably want to stay with the 1 unit dose for now, as Eli could still be bouncing from those blue numbers.
Bounces can take up to 72 hours (3 days) to clear.
Let's see what others have to say.
 
Re: 10/18 ELI PMPS 362

Recap of today:
AMPS 382 @ +11
+2 335
+6 378
+10 367
PMPS 362

I plan on getting a +2 and a +10 - anything else critical to decide if we increase to 1.25 tomorrow?
 
Happy Friday! Eli is feeling better this morning which is great. Downside - it's really hard to test now! But I will not complain.

AMPS 382 @ +11
+2 335
+6 378
+10 367
PMPS 362
+2 292
+10 349

Even though Eli is better, my main concern now is he hasn't pooed since Tuesday night at midnight. Do I have to call the vet or is there something I can give him. I really, really want to avoid another vet trip that will stress him out.
 
i would go ahead and increase to 1.25u.

The problem is that we don't know what's causing Eli's constipation. There are any number of things you can do at home but if you don't know the cause for the constipation, you could make matters worse. Are you adding water to Eli's food? If not, still make a vet appointment but water won't make a difference. Likewise, you could add a little oil or butter to his food. This won't complicated matters either but it doesn't replace a vet visit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top