10/18 Cobb AMPS 72 +4 108 +8 68 PMPS 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Friday

Got Mr. Cobb's depot drained a bit yesterday, freaked out at the mid-200, upped it past night and then brought him back down to 13u this morning. We plan to hold here for a little bit to see how he does.
 
Re: 10/18 Cobb AMPS 72

Nice start - thank goodness it's a Saturday. I see you are getting to be a pro at the game "dialing for doses". :lol:
 
Re: 10/18 Cobb AMPS 72

Amazing. You are just amazing, Suzanne. And Cobb, whew. Just whew. Give your mamabean a gentle ride for a while.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 10/18 Cobb AMPS 72

so true - going down, figuring out a strategy for reducing while keeping good numbers, but not too low - it's a bit of an art and a bit of a science.

good thing you know your cat, suzanne! :mrgreen: he's looking great!
 
Re: 10/18 Cobb AMPS 72 +4 108 +8 68 - thoughts??

Cobb dropped to 68 at +8. Thoughts? Hold for tonight or reduce? Remember we started taking reductons when he started dropping below 70.
 
Re: 10/18 Cobb AMPS 72 +4 108 +8 68 - thoughts??

looks like most of the time his nadirs are around +12, so i'm thinking he might sill go below 50 in this cyclel.

i would think you're going to end up reducing tonight. i'm just pondering "to what dose." i think it's reasonable to think he may still be being influenced by the 16u dose 3 days ago.

here's what's going on in my head to consider. can you monitor tonight, especially in the first few hours post-shot? can you check him at pm+10 or +11, in case he's going low and the amps in the morning is actually on the way up - which would be good to know.

if the answer to those is no, or not much, then i think i'd do another 1/2-2/3 dose, perhaps to 9u (WHAT, SINGLE DIGIT DOSE?) for a BCS, then return to 12 or 13u in the morning. I might do that anyway if he continues to go down until pmps.

if the answer is sure, it's the weekend, then i might just drop to 12u tonight and hold it. You may end up giving him the good stuff throughout the evening, though, so if you're not up for that - which i think you'll know by pmps - then go with option 1.

Also, if in this reduction phase you see high numbers, don't forget the R in your toolbox that you can address those higher numbers with while you are waiting for the Lev depot to reduce.

great to see Cobb's progress. how are you doing with all of this?
 
Re: 10/18 Cobb AMPS 72 +4 108 +8 68 - thoughts??

Hey Julie, I didn't see this until after I shot him. He was at 86, so I'm hoping he already nadired for this cycle. I gave him 13u like I did this morning. Yes, I can monitor him in the beginning of the cycle. And I 2 I'll try to grab a +10. No guarantees. We have a stomach bug in the house this weekend. :roll: I keep telling myself Matty's immune system is building up, but it seriously feels like one illness after another!

A single digit dose??? I don't understand what you are saying. :lol: Aren't all doses over 10units??? :lol:
 
Re: 10/18 Cobb AMPS 72 +4 108 +8 68 - thoughts??

:lol: i know what you mean! it feels like you're shooting nothing when you get down into single digit doses. and most folks here worry about 2 or 3u as being a big dose - it's all perspective, isn't it?! ;-)
 
It's all in your perspective. Matt gave him one of the 15u doses and said, uhh...I don't know how much he got, the shot went in too quickly. :lol: it's almost nothing. :lol:
 
Looking good :cool:
julie & punkin (ga) said:
so true - going down, figuring out a strategy for reducing while keeping good numbers, but not too low - it's a bit of an art and a bit of a science.
...and a bit of a crap shoot ;-)
Suzanne & Cobb said:
A single digit dose??? I don't understand what you are saying. :lol: Aren't all doses over 10units??? :lol:
I remember a good bit of teasing that BK became a 'micro-dose kitty' when he got into single digit doses :lol:
julie & punkin (ga) said:
Also, if in this reduction phase you see high numbers, don't forget the R in your toolbox that you can address those higher numbers with while you are waiting for the Lev depot to reduce.
Absolutely but with caution.

FWIW - I rarely used R after the IAA broke - it was like BK had been replaced by a different cat.
Prior to the break I would shoot 3.5uR at a high blue and go BTB.
After the break although encouraged to use R , I wanted to let things ride and see what unfolded without it.
Keep in mind that we were 9 months in and I knew there was no chance for OTJ - all I wanted was, if possible, to get to a place that was more manageable than using 2 insulins and 3 needles every PS and often an extra at +6s.

BK had his first L decrease, down to 13u, on 11/3/2008. On 11/06/2008, about the 7th day with no R (a miracle at that time), and a few days of pink and red, I shot 2.0uR at a PMPS of 407 Conservative I thought, since the latest R scale (09/21/2008) called for 6.5uR for a low red PS.
By +8.5 he was 58 :o
There it was - insulin sensitivity returning - big time.

With IAA it's important to be mindful that there is a lot in play that we can't measure.
Does the production of antibodies stop on a dime or does it taper off? - unknown
Even if production does shut clean off, the antibodies have a half life of 3-4 weeks in humans. Is that the same/more/less for felines ? Unknown.
Amount of insulin available in circulation at any time - also unknown.

For safety sake factor that unknown into your decisions and then - trust your instincts.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top