? 10/18 Chloe at 404 at +3

Status
Not open for further replies.
10/11/2020 76 0.25 192 262 0.25 UP
10/12/2020 279 0.25 275 368 0.25 224 UP/DOWN
10/13/2020 253 0.25 325 251 0.25 203 UP/DOWN
10/14/2020 95 0.25 138 124 0.25 UP/DOWN
10/15/2020 256 0.25 no ketones 353 0.25 281 UP/DOWN
10/16/2020 253 0.25 268 184 209 0.25 UP/DOWN/UP
10/17/2020 80 0.25 239 286 220 0.25 303 UP/DOWN/UP
10/18/2020 391 0.25 404 296 UP/DOWN

It looks like she goes up at +3 and +4. I thought that would be long enough for the insulin to take effect and bring down the numbers..
 
@Roberta and Chloe I’m so sorry — I didn’t get the tag on this one.

I too suspect that she’s bouncing (“whiplashing”) off of that 80. It looks like she’s doing that regularly. Remember, it can take up to 6 cycles for the bounce to clear (just as you feel the effects of whiplash for a day or two afterward).

I suggest that you tell yourself to “sit on your hands“ and fight the urge to react to the higher number. It’s hard, I know. But the higher numbers are completely normal in bounce cycles. And sometimes we just have to write off a cycle and not dwell on it. This is a marathon, not a sprint, right?

She’ll probably break the bounce soon ... you might even see the numbers dropping by tonight (one can hope).

The additional testing you’re doing is great — it helps reveal patterns over time.

Yes, I still think it would be worth experimenting with slightly less than the0.25u dose. On the SLGS method you’ve chosen, one reduces dose by 0.25u when the cat’s BG goes under 90. That’s happened several times recently but no reduction was taken. You don’t have room to reduce by the full 0.25u since you’re already at a dose of 0.25u (don’t want to go to zero, of course), but you can reduce to 0.1u or 0.2u.

If she drops much after tonight’s PM shot (+3 for example) then I’d try to get at least one mid cycle test (maybe +6?) to see just how low she’s going. It might be that there are some surprising low numbers happening in the non-bounce cycles that you’re not catching.

Just my two cents. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top