10/18 Big Kitty AMPS 382; PMPS 366; clinging to pinks :(

Status
Not open for further replies.

evakot

Member Since 2010
Good Evening All,

So, we've done another dosecrease today, and again, it made no difference. :cry: I am beginning to wonder if IN MY SPECIFIC SITUATION there would be a benefit to increasing the dose by more than .25u at the time. If you look at my SS, Big Kitty's numbers on avarage are really not any different on 2.25 unit than they were on 1.0 unit. He is a large cat- his ideal weight is 15.5lb. I did read about going slow not to pass the correct dose, but in his case .25u doesn't seem to be making ANY difference...I am really concerned about Big K's kidneys taking a beating by these pink numbers whole day long...

Would appreciate opinions/suggestions...

Eva
 
Although I am not the best person to answer all your questions, I offer my opinion and you do with it as you wish.

You require more patience my friend!
Lantus needs time! Time to settle the dose... it's not instantaneous. You will likely not see a change after 1 or 2 cycle of a dose. You need to sit tight for at least 6 cycles. There have been some cats whose dose increases have been by 0.5U, but the 0.25U is preferred....

and one last thing - go ahead and roll your eyes if you wish - you need to collect at least one evening spot check every night! If you don't ever test at night, we are missing half of the picture and people will be reluctant to offer more dosing advise.

I hope you find this helpful. Please be patient.
 
Here's the quandary. When nadirs are below 300, the dose is increased by 0.25u. When nadirs are in the pinks or above, we increase by 0.5u based on the protocol. Big Kitty keeps teasing you with a few numbers below the cut off.

Let's see how this dose is doing and we can evaluate. Sometimes it takes a while to hit the right dose and then the entire SS changes. I know, you're tired of hearing it but, be patient.
 
evakot said:
Good Evening All,

So, we've done another dosecrease today, and again, it made no difference. :cry: I am beginning to wonder if IN MY SPECIFIC SITUATION there would be a benefit to increasing the dose by more than .25u at the time. If you look at my SS, Big Kitty's numbers on avarage are really not any different on 2.25 unit than they were on 1.0 unit. He is a large cat- his ideal weight is 15.5lb. I did read about going slow not to pass the correct dose, but in his case .25u doesn't seem to be making ANY difference...I am really concerned about Big K's kidneys taking a beating by these pink numbers whole day long...

Would appreciate opinions/suggestions...

Eva
the *could be* be a benefit to occasionally increasing the dose by 0.5u in your specific situation, but as was mentioned, you're missing half the picture without more night time data. round out the picture and we'll talk. :mrgreen:
 
Follow the 3 day protocol. Stick to it religiously. Try not to stress about it. After a while of doing this you get a better sense of what you are doing. Have you read the Qld protocol? It's very reassuring.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top