? 10/18/2019 Mowgli AMPS 252 +2 256 +4 200 +6 173 +11 191 PMPS 236 +3 167 increase for Mowgli in AM?

AmandaE

Member Since 2019
10/17/2019

Good Morning!

Mowgli was very eager for me to get up and feed him this morning, I know he's super needy and or hungry when he actually lays on me because he is more of a cat that lays BESIDE you when he wants to cuddle ...not on you (sigh). He's in Yellow land today but I should be able to get a +2 and +3 since I am working from home this morning because it's Nyxie's vet appointment to see if she has arthritis today, when it is done I will drive to site to finish the day.

Any Pet parents out there with arthritic cats have any vet advice for what to ask about for arthritis? any unnecessary testing? any necessary testing? any medications to avoid? Nyx is already on joint supplements and Omega 3s. Hopefully we get some good answers and solutions for dear Nyx.

@Bobbie And Bubba I DO have different voices for Nyx and Mowgli! My voice for Nyx is much higher pitched if that is even possible, but they each get the same sookie voice :P

TGIF!! lets get through this day People!!!
 
I think you've got it covered with x-rays and a good physical exam to determine IF IT IS arthritis. As for prescription meds, I'm not sure, maybe add a ? to your post title to get some more insight and post in the general health forum. Good luck getting more info and good luck to you and Nyx at the vet! :bighug:

Mowgs, it's too cold for lemonade!

Have a great morning working from home! :)
 
I think you've got it covered with x-rays and a good physical exam to determine IF IT IS arthritis. As for prescription meds, I'm not sure, maybe add a ? to your post title to get some more insight and post in the general health forum. Good luck getting more info and good luck to you and Nyx at the vet! :bighug:

Mowgs, it's too cold for lemonade!

Have a great morning working from home! :)
Good call!!! and you're right, we aren't sure it is arthritis but I will be surprised if it isn't... if it actually isn't it might be a VERY expensive vet trip :P Well it will be anyway, Vets in Northern towns can basically charge whatever they want :rolleyes:
 
10/17/2019

Good Morning!

Mowgli was very eager for me to get up and feed him this morning, I know he's super needy and or hungry when he actually lays on me because he is more of a cat that lays BESIDE you when he wants to cuddle ...not on you (sigh). He's in Yellow land today but I should be able to get a +2 and +3 since I am working from home this morning because it's Nyxie's vet appointment to see if she has arthritis today, when it is done I will drive to site to finish the day.

Any Pet parents out there with arthritic cats have any vet advice for what to ask about for arthritis? any unnecessary testing? any necessary testing? any medications to avoid? Nyx is already on joint supplements and Omega 3s. Hopefully we get some good answers and solutions for dear Nyx.

@Bobbie And Bubba I DO have different voices for Nyx and Mowgli! My voice for Nyx is much higher pitched if that is even possible, but they each get the same sookie voice :p

TGIF!! lets get through this day People!!!
Me and DH have different voices for our three kitties too. Glad we aren’t they only ones:joyful::joyful:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: Amethyst is on .5mg Tuna Flavored Gabapentin 2X a day for her Arthritis. The owner of our Pet pharmacy sends Amethyst her Gabapentin and Cabergoline as a Donation every month GOD BLESS her I would not be able to afford otherwise. I give both of these to her by syringe she is such a GOOD girl. The Gabapentin has been working so far for her Arthritis:). Good Luck:)
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug: Amethyst is on .5mg Tuna Flavored Gabapentin 2X a day for her Arthritis. The owner of our Pet pharmacy sends Amethyst her Gabapentin and Cabergoline as a Donation every month GOD BLESS her I would not be able to afford otherwise. I give both of these to her by syringe she is such a GOOD girl. The Gabapentin has been working so far for her Arthritis:). Good Luck:)
Thanks Pamela! It's nice to have those names in mind in case they mention them!!
 
Gabapentin has been great for Tripper. And for Ollie general discomfort from acro growth spurts. Ollie get bupre now instead.

Wedgwood has gourmed gabapentin that are safe for diabetics. It's a flavored chewable or crushed easily to mix in food.
 
We just got back from the vet. It did NOT go well. Nyx flipped when we let her out of the carrier, the vet tech needed to wear gloves and cover her with a towel, it was such a sin, she was so stressed, hissing and spitting. They couldn't do anything like a blood test or X-Ray but they were able to weigh her. The vet said she thinks it's actually a leg injury. From her inspection she said that it isn't broken but that she thinks it's less likely that its arthritis because it isn't common for cats to develop arthritis in the front paws first and that i would have likely seen it in the back legs and lower back first. I told her how she carries her back higher than the front and showed her a video of how she walks on her leg.

The vet gave us the anti-inflammatory 'Metacam' or: Meloxicam. She said to give 5.5mg every 24 hours for 2 weeks and if there are no improvements that we would have to get her in for an x-ray which would be treated as a day surgery since Nyx would definitely have to be sedated. I hope that the meds don't give her Diarrhea or make her puke as those are side effects. I have Nyx up in our bedroom with food and a litterbox so that Mowgli can't mess around with her after her super-stressful afternoon. I will give her her first dose of Metacam tonight. Hopefully the vet is right and it isnt arthritis. I do NOT want to bring Nyx back into the vet if I dont have to ;)

I gave Mowg some catnip to distract him, Im going to have some lunch, grab a test, and head out to site for the rest of my work day.
 
Last edited:
The vet gave us the anti-inflammatory 'Metacam' or: Meloxicam.
Not ideal. My vet refuses to give it to cats. NSAIDs and especially Metacam are counterindicated for kidneys. It's an anti inflammatory (great for dogs though). Buprenorphine or gabapentin for pain. Gaba has a side effect of mellowing a cat, might be good before her next visit to the vet. :p
 
Not ideal. My vet refuses to give it to cats. NSAIDs and especially Metacam are counterindicated for kidneys. It's an anti inflammatory (great for dogs though). Buprenorphine or gabapentin for pain. Gaba has a side effect of mellowing a cat, might be good before her next visit to the vet. :p
Thanks Wendy.

honestly it was kind of stressful, Nyx was flipping, and it just kind of felt like they were pushing Me out. I asked about kidney / liver issues and the vey said it shouldn’t be a problem unless she isn’t drinking. She said she wanted to prescribe metacam because it was a liquid and it would do a good job with the pain. I’ll have to give it a try anyway.

I asked if maybe they could give me something to give if she has to come in but they said they would have to do anesthesia which I can kind of see. I wonder is there any food that I could give Nyx that can lessen the kidney effects of the metacam? I feed FF and Friskies so it’s really high in phosphorous
 
We just got back from the vet. It did NOT go well. Nyx flipped when we let her out of the carrier, the vet tech needed to wear gloves and cover her with a towel, it was such a sin, she was so stressed, hissing and spitting. They couldn't do anything like a blood test or X-Ray but they were able to weigh her. The vet said she thinks it's actually a leg injury. From her inspection she said that it isn't broken but that she thinks it's less likely that its arthritis because it isn't common for cats to develop arthritis in the front paws first and that i would have likely seen it in the back legs and lower back first. I told her how she carries her back higher than the front and showed her a video of how she walks on her leg.

The vet gave us the anti-inflammatory 'Metacam' or: Meloxicam. She said to give 5.5mg every 24 hours for 2 weeks and if there are no improvements that we would have to get her in for an x-ray which would be treated as a day surgery since Nyx would definitely have to be sedated. I hope that the meds don't give her Diarrhea or make her puke as those are side effects. I have Nyx up in our bedroom with food and a litterbox so that Mowgli can't mess around with her after her super-stressful afternoon. I will give her her first dose of Metacam tonight. Hopefully the vet is right and it isnt arthritis. I do NOT want to bring Nyx back into the vet if I dont have to ;)

I gave Mowg some catnip to distract him, Im going to have some lunch, grab a test, and head out to site for the rest of my work day.
OHH Poor baby Hope she can relax:bighug::bighug:
 
Thanks Wendy.

honestly it was kind of stressful, Nyx was flipping, and it just kind of felt like they were pushing Me out. I asked about kidney / liver issues and the vey said it shouldn’t be a problem unless she isn’t drinking. She said she wanted to prescribe metacam because it was a liquid and it would do a good job with the pain. I’ll have to give it a try anyway.

I asked if maybe they could give me something to give if she has to come in but they said they would have to do anesthesia which I can kind of see. I wonder is there any food that I could give Nyx that can lessen the kidney effects of the metacam? I feed FF and Friskies so it’s really high in phosphorous
You can get Gabapentin in a compound liquid form!!! That is the only way I can Amethyst to take hers:):bighug::bighug:
 
Poor little Nyx how does she seem now? I'm glad that they don't think it's arthritis. Many years ago our malamute Sabre was on Metacam after a knee operation and it seemed to really work well for both pain and inflammation. Hopefully it will help Nyx's paw heal and I also hope she has none of the side-effects.
Going to the vet with a cat is the worst stressful thing ever, I hope all of you have a nice chillaxed Friday evening. :bighug:
 
What a day....I hope Nyx feels better soon without any side effects from the new med.

Hope Mowgli stays in the blues tonight and heads for the lagoon:D

Hope your night is better than your day was.....have a good weekend!!
 
Well I for one am glad to hear it's not arthritis! But sorry to hear she still has pain and has to be medicated for it...just can't win can you :( I hope the kitties will be settling down for the night and the nasty ole vet didn't traumatize her too much ... although Luci behaves pretty much the same way at SOME vets...not all...but some...especially the first one who diagnosed her with diabetes - man she really hated that guy!

Have a good evening...relax with the kids...and have a good weekend too :)
 
Hi Amanda
I used metacam for Sheba for about 2 or 2 1/2 years and it was amazing the difference it made.
She was not in a good place when I started it and within 2 days she was a different cat.
She had the beginnings of CRD and there was no change in her numbers at all over the time she had metacam

However the dose/strength of the metacam is really important.
Can you tell me the strength of the medication.?
It should say x amount of mg/ ml
Whatis the weight of the cat?

You should have been given a small 1 ml syringe with markings on it from 0.1 ml all the way up to 1 ml

Sheba was between 5 and 6 kg and her dose was 0.5 ml daily, although as time went by I was able to reduce the dose to less than half and still be as effective.

Also there are a couple of things you have to make sure you are doing while on metacam
  • Only give it with food. I used to make sure Sheba had eaten well then put it with a small amount of food and watched her eat it. Don't give if any vomiting. Giving it with the evening meal is a good idea.
  • Make sure they are drinking plenty of water. I used to add water to Sheba's food and give her chicken stock to add fluids.
  • Only give the prescribed amount.
Here is a link to a discussion on FAQ
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/metacam-is-it-safe.190795/
 
Thanks @Bron and Sheba (GA) !

I am relieved to hear both you and Sonia have used Metacam with positive results. I am especially relieved that it didn't change any numbers for Sheba despite her CRD. The Metacam that has been prescribed for Nyx directly says that it is for cats.

The strength of the Metacam is 0.5mg/ml, Nyx weighs 5.47kg

The syringe doesn't have ml's it just has cat weight on it, the vet had marked the 5.5kg mark with a dose amount red line tape.

I mixed Nyx's dose tonight with her supper, I gave the whole can of FF which wasn't a good idea because obviously she couldn't eat all the food. I will use less next time. I always mix water in Mowg and Nyxies food so thats ok.

Did you find it made Sheba nauseous?

Thanks for the link to that discussion, I will have a look!
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug::bighug: Amethyst is on .5mg Tuna Flavored Gabapentin 2X a day for her Arthritis. The owner of our Pet pharmacy sends Amethyst her Gabapentin and Cabergoline as a Donation every month GOD BLESS her I would not be able to afford otherwise. I give both of these to her by syringe she is such a GOOD girl. The Gabapentin has been working so far for her Arthritis:). Good Luck:)
Interesting! definitely something I need to ask about next time! especially if it will chill nyxie out and I will DEFINITELY ask about the liquid form :)
Poor little Nyx how does she seem now? I'm glad that they don't think it's arthritis. Many years ago our malamute Sabre was on Metacam after a knee operation and it seemed to really work well for both pain and inflammation. Hopefully it will help Nyx's paw heal and I also hope she has none of the side-effects.
Going to the vet with a cat is the worst stressful thing ever, I hope all of you have a nice chillaxed Friday evening. :bighug:
Nyx is almost back to normal! thanks for sharing your story about Sabre, I really hope this helps Nyx out and lets her leg heal.

What a day....I hope Nyx feels better soon without any side effects from the new med.

Hope Mowgli stays in the blues tonight and heads for the lagoon:D

Hope your night is better than your day was.....have a good weekend!!
Thanks Debra, I just felt so bad for her, how degrading to be covered in a towel and held down against your will... i wouldnt like that either! (obviously :P)

I think Mowgli is actually asking for a little gift tomorrow.....
 
Thanks Bron !

I am relieved to hear both you and Sonia have used Metacam with positive results. I am especially relieved that it didn't change any numbers for Sheba despite her CRD. The Metacam that has been prescribed for Nyx directly says that it is for cats.

The strength of the Metacam is 0.5mg/ml, Nyx weighs 5.47kg

The syringe doesn't have ml's it just has cat weight on it, the vet had marked the 5.5kg mark with a dose amount red line tape.

I mixed Nyx's dose tonight with her supper, I gave the whole can of FF which wasn't a good idea because obviously she couldn't eat all the food. I will use less next time. I always mix water in Mowg and Nyxies food so thats ok.

Did you find it made Sheba nauseous?

Thanks for the link to that discussion, I will have a look!

0.5mg/ml is the same strength as here in Australia and is the correct strength for cats.

I only ever mixed the dose in with a small amount of food. What you could do is put a tablespoon of food down, get Mowgli to eat it, then put down the teaspoon food mixedwith metacam, then the reat of the meal. It appears tasteless as Sheba never seemed to notice it in the food.

No it didn't make Sheba nauseous. But after a long period of time it did appear to irritate her stomach every so often and she would vomit once or twice and occasionally it was pale pink. Anti inflammatory drugs are known for this....that is why you need a full tummy. I stopped the metacam in the end because of the occasional vomits but that was 2 years after starting it.
 
0.5mg/ml is the same strength as here in Australia and is the correct strength for cats.

I only ever mixed the dose in with a small amount of food. What you could do is put a tablespoon of food down, get Mowgli to eat it, then put down the teaspoon food mixedwith metacam, then the reat of the meal. It appears tasteless as Sheba never seemed to notice it in the food.

No it didn't make Sheba nauseous. But after a long period of time it did appear to irritate her stomach every so often and she would vomit once or twice and occasionally it was pale pink. Anti inflammatory drugs are known for this....that is why you need a full tummy. I stopped the metacam in the end because of the occasional vomits but that was 2 years after starting it.
Good idea for the partial food and medication. Thanks so much for sending this info. It really makes me feel better to know you used it for such a duration. Also thanks for all of the tips! I hope I see an improvement in Nyx soon!
 
Should I increase Mowgli tomorrow? He seems to be going back and forth here on this dose with somewhat an overall upward trend. We did see green a couple nights ago but if I understand TR correctly it’s time for a bump... but I wouldn’t mind some experience chiming i. :p;)
 
10/17/2019

Good Morning!

Mowgli was very eager for me to get up and feed him this morning, I know he's super needy and or hungry when he actually lays on me because he is more of a cat that lays BESIDE you when he wants to cuddle ...not on you (sigh). He's in Yellow land today but I should be able to get a +2 and +3 since I am working from home this morning because it's Nyxie's vet appointment to see if she has arthritis today, when it is done I will drive to site to finish the day.

Any Pet parents out there with arthritic cats have any vet advice for what to ask about for arthritis? any unnecessary testing? any necessary testing? any medications to avoid? Nyx is already on joint supplements and Omega 3s. Hopefully we get some good answers and solutions for dear Nyx.

@Bobbie And Bubba I DO have different voices for Nyx and Mowgli! My voice for Nyx is much higher pitched if that is even possible, but they each get the same sookie voice :p

TGIF!! lets get through this day People!!!
Hiii,

What joint supplements do you use? I was thinking of getting some
 
Back
Top