10/17 Teronto PMPS 185; +2.5 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teronto and Pauline

Member Since 2012
Morning All...Here's yesterdays http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=81238&sid=c28c418456469457ea5537d9f5a7f75b

I've officially fired my family. Particularlly Hub's and Oldest daughter. Daughter was suppose to take care of Teronto and make sure to get BGs on him last night. But when I got up at 3:00 am to look at his SS I saw that the last BG was at +3 and nothing after that. :evil: Hub's was wide awake and didn't bother taking any either. SO I poked him at 3:00 am and promised him a small snack if he'd behave. I swear he's turned into a toddler. He wiggles so much and reminds me of all the times my kids were little and I had to pin them down for medicine or what not.

I was hoping someone would get up this morning to give him a shot but no one around here gets up before 6 am....so we are an hour late getting poked.

I'm home today and Teronto will be firmly in my care...the person who does it rightish.....

.75 units is still looking good. But I have no idea if he dipped into green yesterday. Yesterday was a school day for me so no +6 bg's on those days and since Daughter didn't follow thru I don't have any mid cycle data.

As for me. Face and jaw are sore and I'm still a little tired. I'm concidering taking some advil here in a minute and I think an ice pack. I think there's a little swelling.
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195 (Good Kitty, BAD HUMANS)

Aww - that sounds frustrating. MY DH doesn't test or shoot Buster, either. It all rests squarely on my shoulders. I don't really mind too much, but I would love to get some more sleep. A consistent, reliable team effort would be soooo much easier. At least he has a good number to start the day - good job, Teronto!

Healing vines for you - hope you feel better soon!
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195 (Good Kitty, BAD HUMANS)

the person who does it rightish.
:lol: :lol: You're too funny. I understand how frustrating it is having to rely on someone else to give the care - the SAME care that we would give! When Muffin was newly diagnosed, I had to go out of town for several days, and leave DS in charge of testing and shooting. Even though I talked on the phone with him every day, and he sounded as if he was doing everything right, when I got home I discovered that he was basically giving the am shot whenever he woke up - so at like 11am sometimes. Very inconsistent, but at least he did it, and Muffin survived. :lol: Hope you are feeling better soon.
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195 (Good Kitty, BAD HUMANS)

Hi guys .. I hope your face feels better today .. sounds like a rough surgery .. And I'm sorry that your family didn't hold up their end of the bargain .. thankfully I always had peter here to help with mocha but even now, with just needing him to feed her when I'm gone for the day I have to call and remind him .. multiple times .. and leave notes .. multiple notes .. :lol: have a great day!
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195 (Good Kitty, BAD HUMANS)

Teronto is making nice progress! Sorry your family neglected cat duty, hope they are already taking steps to get back into your good graces.
Hope the Advil and ice helps keep ahead of the swelling and you feel better soon.
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195 (Good Kitty, BAD HUMANS)

Thanks everyone! :-D

I guess my taking care of him was a bad idea today. He will be alive by shear higher power intervention.

I fell asleep right after +2 and work up here at +7. He's at 61. I'm sure he'll be on the rise here soon.

He's only interest in my neglect is that he thinks I should feed him now. LOL! Big Boy seems to always been hungry no matter what I do. He follows me around the house to let me know he wants food.
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195 (Good Kitty, BAD HUMANS)

WOW, Teronto! From 10 units to .75

So beautiful to see that. Keep up the good work, mom, and hope your mouth feels better real soon. My mom used to say this, and it's true: A woman's work is never done. :smile:

Jill
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195; +2 250; +7 61

I hope you can share this with your family and maybe they will get on board and test for you.
I have lucked out I would say since I have family that didn't test for me, and I thought I was doing good with sitting here next to the
cat , that I would see an indicator that I needed to check on her.
One day when I had to be gone all day, I had my son watching her, but he wouldn't test back then so I thought if he watched for the
signs, he could call me and I'd tell him what to do.
I'm so glad she didn't drop low.
Those random tests are important especially when you don't know your cat's pattern and even after you do.




signs of hypoglycemia may not be seen until the blood glucose level is dangerously low. we cannot rely on "how a cat is acting" to know if their BG numbers have dropped too low. this is why we encourage spot checks rather than visually assessing the situation when practicing tight regulation.

the American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) makes note of this in their 2010 Special Report: Diabetes Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats:

• The pressing concern for cats at this stage is identifying impending hypoglycemia, since cats often do not show overt signs until the BG is dangerously low.




i found this to be true with alex. one night she was sleeping peacefully and i "happened" to get a spot check before her usual nadir. she was 24! i retested. 23. an hour before that she was 71. i shudder to think what could have happened if i had relied solely on "watching her".
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195; +2 250; +7 61

Thanks Jill :-D

The vet started us out on 10 units once a day. Had I not found FD I would never have known how BAD that was for him. He's doing good on the .75 but I have no idea if he's falling below that 61 since I didn't get a BG on him since +2.
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195; +2 250; +7 61

That's just SCARY....and so true. I remind myself that he's like a baby. He can't TELL me if somethings wrong. It's up to me to FIND out.
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195; +2 250; +7 61

Oh, Pauline, I SOOOOOO relate to you guys. Feels like a lot of responsibility and weight on your shoulders when you care so much about them, doesn't it? It's a definite balancing act. You're doing great. Keep up the good work. Your heart is totally in the right place, and you are taking good care of little Teronto.
 
Re: 10/17 Teronto AMPS 195; +2 250; +7 61

Hey Pauline
You are doing great w/ Teronto. Sorry to hear about the family difficulties.

Hopefully the nap worked well for healing your face. It seems that Teronto survived. :-D

Good to see you over on LL.

Karen
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top