? 10/17 Rico AMPS 560, +6 73, PMPS103

I can't stay with you today (going out soon for an appointment), but looks like you are stalling. That's a good approach. Do NOT feed, test again in 15-20 minutes. If he's going up quickly, you might be able to shoot. Can you monitor tonight, do you have plenty of test strips? With SLGS, and when you are new to testing, we would not have you shoot as low as he is now.

When following SLGS, anything below 90 earns a dose reduction, so his new dose would be 3.75 units.
 
I can't stay with you today (going out soon for an appointment), but looks like you are stalling. That's a good approach. Do NOT feed, test again in 15-20 minutes. If he's going up quickly, you might be able to shoot. Can you monitor tonight, do you have plenty of test strips? With SLGS, and when you are new to testing, we would not have you shoot as low as he is now.

When following SLGS, anything below 90 earns a dose reduction, so his new dose would be 3.75 units.
He's being given 4U now. Reduce to 3.75? What if he doesn't go up quickly? Feed and then have a PS in 2 hours again?
 
Yes please test again then post.
Can you monitor if you shoot? Do you have high carb food, Karo or syrup if necessary?
121 after stalling for 45min (was 103). Not sure if I can monitor tonight - I was up most of last night due to his high levels and another kitty with an asthmatic crisis! I've got some medium carb food and maple syrup.
 
You need to test again right away after eating so the test is not influenced. That would happen after about 20-30 minutes. If the bg is going high you would be able to shoot but let’s see how high.
 
Stick with this dose until he earns a reduction by the BG falling under 90. Right now you are seeing higher pmps due to the skip last night which was the right thing to due. He might also be bouncing due to being in normal BG today. We will just follow the method as his body adjusts.
 
I must have clicked on the wrong day or post from my phone. Thanks Chris. Blue is still good. :rolleyes:

Whew! Glad it was you and not me....LOL

I've been thinking it was Saturday all day. I didn't want to think I was missing some green numbers from today! (It has been explained to me that it's NOT Saturday....LOL)

Start a new thread rather than continuing here. New day new thread. Link this one to your new one.

For Carol, she's still on the same day's tests since she's in Greece. While this thread is a little long, it's not over 50 comments so she should be able to just finish out her PM cycle soon and then start a new thread on her tomorrow morning.
 
Stick with this dose until he earns a reduction by the BG falling under 90. Right now you are seeing higher pmps due to the skip last night which was the right thing to due. He might also be bouncing due to being in normal BG today. We will just follow the method as his body adjusts.
How is it possible that his numbers were lower at preshots (both AM, PM) and higher after the shots? I noticed that this is almost always happening. Just asking so as to understand how insulin works... (Newbie here! :D )
 
How is it possible that his numbers were lower at preshots (both AM, PM) and higher after the shots? I noticed that this is almost always happening. Just asking so as to understand how insulin works...

Because he's a cat. (sometimes that's the only answer we have)

What he's doing is what we originally discussed. He's bouncing from the blues earlier today. There's no "rule" that says he must stop bouncing at shot time...so for tonight, he's still going up. Hopefully he won't go too much higher before he starts to come down again. (and it looks like you have a permission slip to go to bed early!)
 
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Chris & China (GA)
@Angela & Cleo
@Bandit's Mom


I apologise for stepping in but Carol texted me worried about Rico's black and red numbers.
It's her father's funeral today and I don't think she'll have enough time to post a new thread or keep up with the replies.

Could u please take a look at Rico's ss?

The recent changes Carol has made are the antibiotic (changed to Stomorgyl) and the syringes (changed to 0,3 ml instead of 0,5 ml) as of the PM cycle on 10/19.
Also, Rico has earned a reduction to 3.5u.

Do you think Rico is bouncing from the greens and blues he had 4 cycles ago or is the 3.5u a failed reduction?

Should Carol stick with the same dose or increase?

I'll let her know what you replied; hopefully, she'll be back to the forum soon.
 
Last edited:
I am so sorry for your loss Carol. :bighug::bighug:


Do you think Rico is bouncing from the greens and blues he had 4 cycles ago or is the 3.5u a failed reduction?
I agree with you Yanna that it's bouncing. Let's give him some time.

With SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days. It hasn't been that long since earning the reduction :cat:
 
Back
Top