10/17 Regs AMPS 246 +1 281 +2 239 +3.5 231 +6 196 +8 211 +9 198

Britta and Regs

Member Since 2026
Yesterday
Regs was running pretty high again last night. Today we increased his Lantus dose from 2.5 to 2.75 units, and I'm hoping it brings his numbers down a little without me freaking out and feeding him every time he drops. 😂

I can't be with him all day, but I'll test as much as I can.

His appetite has gotten a little better since we discovered that he LOVES duck liver (thanks to everyone who recommended it!). And his mom is also a big fan of the Mirtazapine the vet told us to give him for a few days. 😂

At the moment, we have a frog infestation in our community, and unfortunately, they're mildly toxic to pets. So Regs isn't allowed out on the patio for the last two weeks.

Instead, I wanted to share one of my favorite pictures of him. This was back when we lived in Berlin, and he used to stand like that every afternoon, waiting for his dad to come home. ❤️ BTW, we could not remove that terrible doormat, and of course the cats absolutely loved peeing on it. 😹)

B688F479-E713-4072-ADB2-5CFECFF96706.png
 
We went to the pet shop today and I got a good selections of foods, Now I need to figure out which ones are LC enough for Regs.
I know the top left is not but that looks if the 2 older cats would enjoy them. I just did not want to get 12/24 packs and all 4 cats hate them😂
D4805378-F704-4959-86EC-BCF309870F21.png
 
We went to the pet shop today and I got a good selections of foods, Now I need to figure out which ones are LC enough for Regs.
I know the top left is not but that looks if the 2 older cats would enjoy them. I just did not want to get 12/24 packs and all 4 cats hate them😂View attachment 80806
Smart idea to get a few options and bring them home! Whenever we tried a diet change, I'm always sitting in the pet store for far too long looking and then researching and repeat. They must thing I'm crazy 🤪

Hope one of these works out!
 
His appetite has gotten a little better since we discovered that he LOVES duck liver (thanks to everyone who recommended it!). And his mom is also a big fan of the Mirtazapine the vet told us to give him for a few days. 😂
Have you tried beta-glucans, to stimulate him in a more "natural" way? 😊

At the moment, we have a frog infestation in our community, and unfortunately, they're mildly toxic to pets. So Regs isn't allowed out on the patio for the last two weeks.
Oh... 🙏🏼 poor Regs... hopefully soon. 🧡

We went to the pet shop today and I got a good selections of foods, Now I need to figure out which ones are LC enough for Regs.
I know the top left is not but that looks if the 2 older cats would enjoy them. I just did not want to get 12/24 packs and all 4 cats hate them😂View attachment 80806

This Tiki Cat is a total success here - although not so cheap in Brazil, unfortunately! Mami likes the one with meat a lot. Let's see how Regs will respond to it 😉 it seems delish!
As this one is higher in phos, though, I am also not supposed to give it to her often. 😌

I hope he will enjoy the feast!!
 
Last edited:
Smart idea to get a few options and bring them home! Whenever we tried a diet change, I'm always sitting in the pet store for far too long looking and then researching and repeat. They must thing I'm crazy 🤪

Hope one of these works out!
Oh I could have spend so much longer in the pet shop, but my husband was with me and he did not want to be there that long 😂 So I just grabbed something that I wanted to try and some additional cans that looked good and at home I wrote the carbs on it. So I know if they are good for Regs or for the other cats.

I always loved seeing him at the window, it showed how much he loved his dad and he was almost like a dog that was waiting by the door.
 
Awww that is just the sweetest! I can’t imagine coming home to anything more heartwarming than Regs waiting for you standing on his back legs 😻

Good luck with the new food trial today! And the new dose!
Thanks so much, I still see the new dose as something very scary, he just had very mellow food bumps and you know, as soon as I see a blue I get nervous. He got an additional spoon after his +1 was the same as the pre and we will see, but he gladly ate it 🥰

I wrote the carbs now on each can/pouch that I know exactly what I'm feeding him.
 
Have you tried beta-glucans, to stimulate him in a more "natural" way? 😊


Oh... 🙏🏼 poor Regs... hopefully soon. 🧡



This Tiki Cat is a total success here - although not so cheap in Brazil, unfortunately! Mami likes the one with meat a lot. Let's see how Regs will respond to it 😉 it seems delish!
As this one is higher in phos, though, I am also not supposed to give it to her often. 😌

I hope he will enjoy the feast!!
beta glucans? I never heard of that, is that. for his appetite? Please excuse, that I have no idea about that. If it could help and is more natural than mirtazapine I will look into that. Thanks so much for bringing that up though.

I think tomorrow morning I will go on the patio with him, some kind of supervised outside time, I'm sure he will enjoy it. Unfortunately he is so good in catching frogs and lizards I really have to watch him🥰

I'm looking forward to try all of them and I bet Regs will enjoy, he is on fancy feast since march and he is getting bored from it. I have the feeling the Tikicat and weruva will be his favorite, some of the other stuff has around 10-12% carbs, I rather give that to our non diabetic kitties.
 
I think tomorrow morning I will go on the patio with him, some kind of supervised outside time, I'm sure he will enjoy it. Unfortunately he is so good in catching frogs and lizards I really have to watch him🥰
Hi Britta, a great hunter, as I can see! He could hang out with Mami, then!!
I guess he will love the ride outside...

I'm looking forward to try all of them and I bet Regs will enjoy, he is on fancy feast since march and he is getting bored from it. I have the feeling the Tikicat and weruva will be his favorite, some of the other stuff has around 10-12% carbs, I rather give that to our non diabetic kitties.
Let us know which ones he preffers! And Tiki Cat is healthier too. I suppose Weruva too. Fancy Feast has more additives. I hope he can also eat better with those new options around!

beta glucans? I never heard of that, is that. for his appetite? Please excuse, that I have no idea about that. If it could help and is more natural than mirtazapine I will look into that. Thanks so much for bringing that up though.

Beta-glucans have some benefits for gut health and immune function. Some cats and dogs show improvements in appetite and energy levels, as a consequence ;) although this can vary from one animal to another. It might be worth asking your vet what she thinks. I wouldn't consider beta-glucans a substitute for mirtazapine if she feels Regs needs it, but maybe they could offer some additional support for his overall well-being.

Beta-glucans are generally available in flavored pastes or tablets. They were quite helpful in our case here, but every cat is different, so you’d have to try them and see how he responds.

✨ ✨ ✨
 
Back
Top