10/17 Moonie AMPS 211, +2 292, PMPS 99, +2 97

Connie & Parker & Moonie

Member Since 2026
10/16 Moonie AMPS 196, +2 299, +5 264, PMPS 169, +3 126, +4 167

This is day 2 on our new and improved dose.

We’ve decided to try feeding about 1/2 tsp of HC between preshot and +1 to see if we can slow some of those fast early drops. We’d prefer to use MC, but she’s been refusing her FF grilled in gravy lately, so we’re going to PetSmart this weekend to pick out some more options for her.

The tough part is that when she’s breaking a bounce, timing the drop becomes so hard to predict. Is this the cycle? Does it start at +2? Or does she wait until +9 and then suddenly decide it’s time to come down?

Maybe the answer is that there just isn’t that much we can do beyond accepting that she’s a bouncy cat, learning her patterns as well as we can, and adjusting her feeding schedule when we’re able to anticipate what she’s doing.

But man, it is frustrating sometimes because it feels like such a vicious cycle. The bouncing gives us those high numbers, which then creates so much room for a big drop when an active cycle finally comes along…which can trigger another bounce all over again.

In my ideal world, we’d somehow be able to smooth out those drops in real time.

We also have a vet appointment today for Rakko, who has CKD. I’ve been feeling a little guilty lately because between Moonie and everything life has thrown at us, I haven’t been as proactive about his healthcare as I want to be.

Some of it may also be that Rakko started out as Parker’s cat, and I’m sometimes afraid of overstepping - especially because the two of us can have different philosophies about the trade-offs between health and quality of life. For example: if the food Rakko absolutely loves and reliably eats is high in phosphorus, how hard do you push to change it?

But I’m determined to do better by him.

Rakko is the sweetest and funniest kitty. He loves yowling to be put up on the sink so that he can “waterboard” himself with running water. He makes sin biscuits on his girlfriend, the Pusheen pillow. He does the funniest walk when he wants treats, wobbling around to follow you because he’s SO intently focused on the treats in your hand.

I hope today will be the start of doing better for Rakko because I love him so much and want him to be with us for as long as possible.

The handsome boy in question, who sometimes gets smacked by Moonie when he follows her into the testing room because he knows that’s where the treats are. I’m pretty sure Rakko is trying to convince us that he’s hypoglycemic at all times. 😹

IMG_9742.jpeg

IMG_8311.jpeg
 
Rakko is such a pretty and handsome boy ❤️ And he sounds like such a sweet and funny little character. I love that he knows exactly where Moonie gets her treats, even if she doesn't appreciate him tagging along, but he will learn that she is the boss 😂 I hope his vet appointment goes well today!

Fingers crossed Moonie's bounce breaks soon and the new dose helps smooth things out a little. She really likes to keep you guessing🤞
 
Rakko is such a pretty and handsome boy ❤️ And he sounds like such a sweet and funny little character. I love that he knows exactly where Moonie gets her treats, even if she doesn't appreciate him tagging along, but he will learn that she is the boss 😂 I hope his vet appointment goes well today!

Fingers crossed Moonie's bounce breaks soon and the new dose helps smooth things out a little. She really likes to keep you guessing🤞
Thanks Britta! Moonie’s blood glucose curves are still a mystery to me after almost a year 😅. But we’re keeping our fingers crossed for a smooth-ish bounce break soon!

And Rakko is just the sweetest and funniest. He’s extremely easy to bribe so we’re never that worried about how he’ll behave on vet visits. It’s more my paranoia around making sure I’m informed and advocating him correctly.
 
For example: if the food Rakko absolutely loves and reliably eats is high in phosphorus, how hard do you push to change it?
Connie, I am going through something similar; I totally know the feeling and some decisions are delicate. I hope you can find a good balance for this handsome guy. 💙 His coat is similar to Mami's. 🥰

How high is his phos? There are different types of binders; this one that I've been using (Pronefra) seems to taste "really good" and I had no problems with constipation (however, I give Mami a much lower dose than prescribed). I think it is possible to find it in Canada. Some cats can have dry, hard stools when using binders.

https://pets.beampharmacy.ca/product-page/pronefra-palatable-oral-suspension

Mami licks it right off her plate, which was a plus.

Good luck with the vet visit today! I hope you come home with positive guidance for him 💙

But man, it is frustrating sometimes because it feels like such a vicious cycle. The bouncing gives us those high numbers, which then creates so much room for a big drop when an active cycle finally comes along…which can trigger another bounce all over again.

It is frustrating...
You are so caring and dedicated to her.

I’m going to share a little rambling thought inspired by this.

I always tried to observe Mami’s curves and learn from them, but at some point, I accepted that many things cannot be fully explained. So many variables per day can influence their curve. I started going with the flow and giving her body time to adjust to all those bounces she used to have.

Slowly, things got better and better, especially during her PM cycle, which was always full of little and sometimes significant mysteries. There were different phases, almost like blocks of time. And then, little by little, I could see the bounces getting “lower and lower.”

One thing that helped was putting no pressure on her to improve. I mean, I was still paying attention to everything, but I was also praying and learning to be grateful. Practicing “I surrender, I trust, I accept, and I’m grateful.” (This FD situation affected me a lot.)

I think that when they feel pressure to improve (our unconscious behaviour, anxiety etc) it can somehow affect their body and stress, too.

As I said, I have no proof, and I know this isn’t a rational explanation. I’m just sharing this because I believe our mindset, the energy we bring into the environment, and even the words we use can influence how they feel (and, as a consequence, how their body react).

Maybe you can create a declaration of success and love to Moonie, one that makes sense to you and sounds genuine. It might help her a lot ✨️ then you can say it to her everyday, no matter the numbers. She knows how much you care for her, and she might love to hear it from you regularly - and even feel more confident to improve with balance.

As you can see, my input was not based on hard science 😄
 
Last edited:
What a pretty boy!! 💜 Hope you AND Parker are able to get some more answers, thoughts, and opinions on how to move forward with Rakko soon! And same goes for Moons.

I have to admit, I love the imagery of Moonie smacking and saying something like “I’ve worked hard for these treats! You see all those syringes and pokes I get to my ears??? The treats MINE!” Then turning away like “the audacity of some cats🙄” 😂
At least you know Moons hasn’t lost her spunk!
 
Is Rakko seeing 🍍 vet? Tanya's CRF site has more info on phosphorus binders and other things.

Stop bouncing, Moonie! No more rockets or trampolines.
Thank you! I’m furiously reading the site now :)

And I’ve passed on your message to Miss astronaughty Moonie!

It’s not Dr 🍍🤣- it’s our normal general medicine vet who is super nice and open to learning about new things but I also don’t know how knowledgeable he is about CKD.
 
Connie, I am going through something similar; I totally know the feeling and some decisions are delicate. I hope you can find a good balance for this handsome guy. 💙 His coat is similar to Mami's. 🥰

How high is his phos? There are different types of binders; this one that I've been using (Pronefra) seems to taste "really good" and I had no problems with constipation (however, I give Mami a much lower dose than prescribed). I think it is possible to find it in Canada. Some cats can have dry, hard stools when using binders.

https://pets.beampharmacy.ca/product-page/pronefra-palatable-oral-suspension

Mami licks it right of her plate, which was a plus.

Good luck with the vet visit today! I hope you come home with positive guidance for him 💙



It is frustrating...
You are so caring and dedicated to her.

I’m going to share a little rambling thought inspired by this.

I always tried to observe Mami’s curves and learn from them, but at some point, I accepted that many things cannot be fully explained. So many variables per day can influence their curve. I started going with the flow and giving her body time to adjust to all those bounces she used to have.

Slowly, things got better and better, especially during her PM cycle, which was always full of little and sometimes significant mysteries. There were different phases, almost like blocks of time. And then, little by little, I could see the bounces getting “lower and lower.”

One thing that helped was putting no pressure on her to improve. I mean, I was still paying attention to everything, but I was also praying and learning to be grateful. Practicing “I surrender, I trust, I accept, and I’m grateful.” (This FD situation affected me a lot.)

I think that when they feel pressure to improve (our unconscious behaviour, anxiety etc) it can somehow affect their body and stress, too.

As I said, I have no proof, and I know this isn’t a rational explanation. I’m just sharing this because I believe our mindset, the energy we bring into the environment, and even the words we use can influence how they feel (and, as a consequence, how their body react).

Maybe you can create a declaration of success and love to Moonie, one that makes sense to you and sounds genuine. It might help her a lot ✨️ then you can say it to her everyday, no matter the numbers. She knows how much you care for her, and she might love to hear it from you regularly - and even feel more confident to improve with balance.

As you can see, my input was not based on hard science 😄
Awww thank you Clarice! It’s funny over time - our approach towards Moonie’s BG has morphed towards at least half faith vs all science. It’s so just mysterious at times that all I can do is pray and hope.

I’ll keep you posted and try your suggestion. I think that’s a really positive mindset - even if it doesn’t “work” it’s still a much healthier way to be and that’s good for everyone in the long run :)
 
What a pretty boy!! 💜 Hope you AND Parker are able to get some more answers, thoughts, and opinions on how to move forward with Rakko soon! And same goes for Moons.

I have to admit, I love the imagery of Moonie smacking and saying something like “I’ve worked hard for these treats! You see all those syringes and pokes I get to my ears??? The treats MINE!” Then turning away like “the audacity of some cats🙄” 😂
At least you know Moons hasn’t lost her spunk!
Aww thank you!!

And it is SO funny. She doesn’t look scared when he comes wobbling in for treats real up close and personal. She looks OUTRAGED exactly like you said - “I pay for these with my ears you freeloader!” And then I imagine Rakko’s response would be “POKE AWAY I can prove my BG is a negative number!”
 
Awwww...I LOVE Rakko, and I love your description of him. We might need a video of the "sin biscuits," waterboarding, and treat-walk. Cats can be so funny. For some reason him trying to make you think he's hypo to get a snack reminds me of someone else on the forum a while back who used to have a hard time testing her cat, but then she discovered that if she pretended to test and give a snack to her civvie, the sugar cat stepped up for his test and snack, too.

I hope the food experiment works as well as the new dose. And I hope you get some good advice from the vet for Rakko.
 
I’ll keep you posted and try your suggestion. I think that’s a really positive mindset - even if it doesn’t “work” it’s still a much healthier way to be and that’s good for everyone in the long run :)
Yes, Connie 😊

How high is his phos? There are different types of binders; this one that I've been using (Pronefra) seems to taste "really good" and I had no problems with constipation (however, I give Mami a much lower dose than prescribed). I think it is possible to find it in Canada. Some cats can have dry, hard stools when using binders.
I forgot to mention: depending on which meds Rakko takes, the binder should be given separately, at a different time, to avoid interactions with certain other medications.
 
What was his phosphorous on the last test? I was going to suggest the binders too. But it really does depend on the number.
When you figure out how to keep the bounces and falls from happening, please let me know. Karamelle is queen of the bouncing. 🏀🏀🏀
Karamelle is basically the Michael Jordan equivalent of bouncing! The undisputed queen 👸

So it’s funny. His last values in April were 3.8, so normal. But in January it was 6.6. I don’t know why it’s so different. I guess we’ll find out when we get the labs back Tuesday.
 
  • Care
Reactions: JoM
Awwww...I LOVE Rakko, and I love your description of him. We might need a video of the "sin biscuits," waterboarding, and treat-walk. Cats can be so funny. For some reason him trying to make you think he's hypo to get a snack reminds me of someone else on the forum a while back who used to have a hard time testing her cat, but then she discovered that if she pretended to test and give a snack to her civvie, the sugar cat stepped up for his test and snack, too.

I hope the food experiment works as well as the new dose. And I hope you get some good advice from the vet for Rakko.
Awww that’s such a cute image!

Rakko is the funniest. Hopefully it’s not too R rated for the forum but he also makes the funniest triumphant meow after he’s done with his sin biscuits and he’s extremely loyal to his girlfriend Pusheen. She’s the only one he’ll sin biscuit on!

This is a photo of him waterboarding himself. The only problem is that water gets in his ear and then he gets yeast infections (which we found out today happened again). But it’s worth it because it makes him such a happy hydrated boy!

1000023531.jpeg

1000023780.jpeg
 
Back
Top