10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; PMPS 148; +3 100 ; +4 99 AT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Maggie11 (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54359

Morning! We have Vetty appt. today at 8 am for Senior Exam and bw panel, urinalysis, etc. Maggie did her zooming performance this morning without an lb, so she's feeling frisky, also play time. Maggie has had some really good cycles the last few days and last night at the pm +3 cycle she got down to a 76 (ATrak). I know I need three 70's to get a dose reduction for a returning from the Falls kitty, or one below 70 for a reduced drops dose. Here's my question. Last night after the 76, Mags was hungry and ate her regular lc food after the 76 drop. I didn't give any mc to bring her up. So the question is when she gets a similar 70's number again, would it be better to withhold food for 30 minutes to see if she will get below 70 to earn a reduction? I could give her some freeze dried chicken until poke time to hold her? Or is this hurting her in any way to withhold food for 30 minutes when she gets in the 70's? After the 76 bg, she was eating like it was her last meal! I'm thinking for a human diabetic child who drops, the right thing to do is give food to being her back up, so wouldn't it be the same scenario for a kitty? Thanks for any help.
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134 ATrak

no clue about the food issue but I'm sure someone will be here to give advice.
Hope you and Maggie have a good, stress free vetty visit and all goes well.
Have a lovely day
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 ATrak

+2 109

I think I'll give a little mc FF Turkey & Giblets to save on my nerves, as her Nadir is usually at the +3 and +4, and she's doing so well on the new food, so not sure what she'll do today. Usually Vet visits stress her. Maggie pretends to be dead and hopes the Vet will go away! :lol:

Thanks Iorwen for stopping by - have to stop by your condo and see how your Mom is this week and you and Tray.
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 ATrak

Ann, not sure what the exact protocol is for kitties, but definitely for humans, we would give them something to eat. Simon went into the 60's last night and I fed him a little food because I was also nervous about what it would do if I didn't feed him. I'll be interested in seeing what some of the experts say. Good luck at the vet visit today!
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 ATrak

No advice from this newbie.

Good luck with the vettie visit. Maggie, playing dead won't help. Vetty's are highly trained, they can tell.
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 AT Question

Hi, we're back from Vetty, and Maggie was an angel with behaving and letting the Vet examine her. She does have some tartar in the back teeth on the one side and the other side a little inflammation, but not serious enough this time to warrant a dental, but most likely in six months she will need a dental. I had a feeling. We talked about her Stage 2 renal disease, and right now her Phosphorus is okay. He will call me tomorrow with the bw results, and depending on her renal values, he may want to see her in three months. If no change, then a six month visit. He's happy with how I'm monitoring her and says she is looking good.

I still have a question above on the bg 76 and whether to withhold food and check in 30 minutes to see if she's dropped more or feed if she desires? thanks
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 Vet Visit & Question

happy good vetty visit, Miz manxie!!!

and I am anxiously awaiting input on your question as well...because it's the situation we're in daily...
and I'm not sure which is the best course of action either.

I've chosen to stick with feeding lc at shot time, +1, +2, +3, and +9...and just purebites treats at the other test times...
but Lil Bugger seems to surf along at levels that keep me on tenterhooks...as I am still attuned to his pre-OTJ performances
and expecting him to drop suddenly from 60 to 40 :?

so, we took the lazy man's way out...
got paid (took a reduction) without earning it :lol:
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 Vet Visit & Question

Hi Ann:

Great news on the vet visit and the dental postponement!! YAY!!! Glad Miss Maggie was a zoom zoom kitty today.

Gosh...I'm not sure if there is a right or wrong answer to your question. Here is my thought FWIW....if Gracie gets a 46, I feed her LC. I try to make her earn her reductions so she has a less chance of failing them. If she comes up easily with food, then I know she's not ready for the reduction yet. If she doesn't and I have to work by giving her HC food or karo repeatedly before she comes up, then I know a reduction is not far off. ECID. I'm sure the answer might be...try it and see what she does and if you reduce her and it doesn't work...you can always take her back up. But Miss Gracie has a history of failing reductions so we make her work to earn them. Maggie might be quite different.

Good luck!!! Have a great day.
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 Vet Visit & Question

Here is my thought FWIW....if Gracie gets a 46, I feed her LC. I try to make her earn her reductions so she has a less chance of failing them. If she comes up easily with food, then I know she's not ready for the reduction yet. If she doesn't and I have to work by giving her HC food or karo repeatedly before she comes up, then I know a reduction is not far off. ECID. I'm sure the answer might be...try it and see what she does and if you reduce her and it doesn't work...you can always take her back up.

Thanks Marje for your response. Maggie has to earn three 70's to get a reduction, but with a 76, she may have dropped under 70 if I didn't feed. I did the same as you, fed her lc, and she came up within 30 minutes, so I guess this means she wasn't ready yet for a reduce dose. Thanks on the dental; we have a pass this time but down the road another dental. I'll get her bw results tomorrow.


Hi ya Binkster, thanks for stopping by today.
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 Vet Visit & Question

Is it 3 under 70 or 3 under 80? 70 AT = 40 Human and 80 AT = 40 H. I thought it was 1 time at or under 40 for a decrease, or three times under 50 within a week for a decrease?

I agree with Marje... I think it depends. If I'm hitting mid 40s by +3 or so in the cycle, I'm more inclined to give MC, whereas that number at +5, I'm more inclined to ride it out... I don't want the carbs to be really kicking in about the time he starts heading back upward in the cycle. Plus, like Marje, I like to make Willie really earn his decreases... but if I'm feeding MC and he keeps dropping, I will go ahead and give HC to get him up. Once he hits 40 or lower, then I definitely will feed whatever it takes to get the numbers back up.

Glad to hear the vet visit went well! Fingers and paws crossed that the Miss Maggie's BW is all good!
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 Vet Visit & Question

no answers on the topic from me - but i wanted to just see how maggie and you were doing. glad the vet visit went well!
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 Vet Visit & Question

Is it 3 under 70 or 3 under 80? 70 AT = 40 Human and 80 AT = 40 H. I thought it was 1 time at or under 40 for a decrease, or three times under 50 within a week for a decrease

Hi Christie, to earn a reduction for Maggie returning from the Falls, it's three numbers in the 70's (I'm not sure how close together) or one number under 70 qualifies for an immediate dose reduction. Maggie is only on four drops, so I guess I would drop to three drops. Thanks for your feedback.

I am having problems with my Internet 9 Explorer, so if I don't get back on, you'll know why. Not sure what the problem is, but I think I'll call my Carrier.
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 Vet Visit & Question

In part, it may be a matter of when in the cycle a drop occurs and how hard you have to work to bring the numbers up. A fast descent at +2 is different than a gradual meander at +7 to the 70s. Like Marje, Gabby has to work for her decreases. You'll also notice there are some 40s where I've decreased her dose. Because I vigilant with testing, I catch the fast drops. I then decide whether it's reductions worthy. (And that probably confused you even more!)
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 Vet Visit & Question

Hi Ann & Maggie,

Good for you, Maggie, to do so well at your visit to the vetty bean. We hope that your b/w will come back A-OK!

I've always been confused about the 3-under-50 rule. I know they don't have to be consecutive, but I think they have to be in proximity to one another. The only reduction rule I have hands-on experience with is the automatic reduction when the number is under 40 (70 on Alpha Trak). I have always taken these (that is, I always took them with Stu; with Rusty we've been increasing, not reducing), because if you don't take them when you are entitled to take them, it's my understanding that you lose them!

How great that Maggie doesn't have to have a dental now!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109 Vet Visit & Question

When Binks and I were reviewing the protocol for a cat returned from the Falls...
he had a bit of confusion over the 3 under 50 rule as well.

But suddenly he cocked his little head, looked at me with eyes full of comprehension and merriment...
and said "Oh, wait...I get it! It's just like driving...you get tickets...then have to work harder to get insurance!!"

:lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109; )6 129 Question

I'm back on line for now. Thanks everyone for stopping by and for the feedback.

Julie and Pumpkin, thanks for checking on us with the dental. None needed but in six months, unfortunately another one.

Hi Sienne, thanks for the feedback, and I know both you and Marje are so vigilant with testing that you catch the drops fast. I think I understand what you're saying depending on where in the cycle. Mags was early in the cycle last night with the 76 and wanted food, so I fed lc and she came up just enough that I didn't need to worry. So I think I get it, maybe! :smile:

Hi Ella, yes, I'm so glad no dental for now! :-D Thats also the way I understand it with the number under 70 (ATrak) or 40 for human meter. It's an instant reduction.

Oh, wait...I get it! It's just like driving...you get tickets...then have to work harder to get insurance!!"
Hi Celi, thanks for making me laugh so hard with you and Binks reviewing the protocol. I like the logic of you both. It would be hard to get insurance with three tickets.
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109; +6 129; +10 115; PMPS 148

Hi Maggie so happy you did so well with the vetty Bean and hope all your BW comes back good :-D :-D very nice numbers today too.... :cool:
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109; +6 129; +10 115; PMPS 148

FWIW, I am with Marje and Sienne and Ella. I would feed, for the reasons they stated. Mannie has to earn his so he won't fail them.

I am glad that Maggie did well with her vetty visit - good news!!! Good too that she doesn't need a dental tight away. I can relate to the whole thing - I have to have Mannie in often enough for them.

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; +2 109; +6 129; +10 115; PMPS 148

Good news about the dental and Miss Maggie being an angel at the vetty!

I am thoroughly confused after reading your condo.. :? ....I hope Trix keeps it simple for me!!!
 
Re: 10/17 Maggie AMPS 134; PMPS 148; +3 100 AT

+3 100
I just gave a treat for this one, as Maggie was sleeping and had some mini meals earlier.

Hi Michelle and thanks for your feedback on feeding a low number. It seems everyone is in agreement, especially with an early cycle. Yes, great news on the dental for now. I am going to kep brushing, but there is already tartar on a back tooth and some inflammation other side.

I am thoroughly confused after reading your condo.. ....I hope Trix keeps it simple for me!!!
Hi Amy, it sure can be a bit confusing. :lol: One thing is certain is no dental for now! Yes, I know I am partial, but the Vet's Staff really love Maggie as she is so easy to handle. She even got a nice pedicure, and one of the Vet techs said for me to bring her in any time and he would trim her nails for free. I'm not sure he checked first with the Vet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top